13 Reviews

guys--i am pretty sure Starbucks does not use real pumpkin in their pumpkin spice latte- which probably accounts fpr the grainyness you are having. try leaving the pumkin out and just use the spices and vanilla--you are probably not going to be able to produce a flavor like pumpkin artificially--or you could strain it in cheesecloth.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarara December 13, 2010

Really all you need is a bottle of Monin pumpkin spice coffee syrup and some whipped cream to replicate the starbucks recipe without it getting grainy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allenkaity June 10, 2011

The taste of the latte was strange. It was almost like it had no taste if that makes sense.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fantastical Sharing June 03, 2011

Yum! I just had one of these at Starbucks today and couldn't wait to try to copy it. This is pretty close even though I had to make a few tweaks. I used double strength brewed coffee and vanilla extract splenda since I didn't have vanilla syrup. I bet it would be great with vanilla coffee creamer in place of the syrup. Just wish I had some whipped cream now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee October 28, 2010

This is YUMMY! I used pumpkin I cooked up and pureed, rather than canned, specifically, a Cinderella Squash. But any of Pie Pumpkin, Acorn, Butternut or Hubbard would work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne Fitz November 23, 2009

I wanted to love this but after trying it twice I found it just ok. The 1st time I followed the exact recipe and it had a weird taste. I had added a little Sweet & Low (not sweet enough for me) so I thought maybe that was it. The 2nd time I steamed my milk and then added the other ingredients and an extra Tbsp of the vanilla syrup. The flavor was still off. I'm thinking it might be the pumpkin. I also didn't care for the grit as another reviewer commented. *sigh* I REALLY wanted to love this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Happy Housewife October 07, 2009

We liked this but I think it needs a bit more tweaking. I steamed my milk and poured it in with the vanilla syrup, coffee, heated pumpkin, and spice. Yummy, but not quite there yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurietheLibrarian January 18, 2009

Pretty good rendition! I love this at Starbucks! I had problems getting the froth right though. I thought I read somewhere that steamed milk should never be frothed with anything in it... 180 degrees and plain, then add the flavors, but maybe it was something else I did. But I do think I will try again and steam at least part of the milk plain or just with syrup. I wonder if it's the pumpkin weighting it down. Anyway, thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runswithfork December 04, 2008

Pumpkin spice latte's are my favorite and I treated myself to one last week. When I was itching for another this morning I thought to myself that there must be a way for me to make something similar at home. This fit the bill perfectly. I am now enjoying myself a beautiful cup at a fraction of the cost. I'm not having trouble with the grit factor that a previous reviewer mentioned. Perhaps it is that I thoroughly heated through on the stove with the milk or perhaps it is the kind or brand of pumpkin used? Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus October 14, 2008

Mmm, so very delicious! Since I do have an espresso maker that will steam my milk, I just steamed it, poured some in with the pumpkin, stirred in the vanilla syrup and espresso and then topped with the rest of the steamed milk and the foam (though whipped cream would be delish, too!). I'm so glad to be able to make this at home. It's a little grittier somehow, but considering the savings, it doesn't bother me a bit. Thank you so much for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking October 04, 2008
Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte (Copycat)