Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stan's Place Shrimp Po Boy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stan's Place Shrimp Po Boy

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2013

      LOVED THAT SAUCE! Someone should bottle that lol. I also did a mix of half shrimp and half oysters.. Cajun heaven!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      Well worth the work! We have made this twice now and this time there was a small change- We were short on all purpose flour, so the first dunk was done in Cake Flour and the last flour dredging was pumped up by adding panko breadcrumbs which we ran thru the food processor. This small change made the lightest, crispiest shrimp ever! Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      We had a package of seasoned, steamed shrimp and nothing to do with it, so we decided to find a last minute poboy recipe because we love them so much. We always get them at restaurants, but we've never made our own. I found this recipe and the good reviews, and despite having no lettuce or tomato, we made them anyway. They were fantastic! We tried to make them as healthy as possible (don't take notice to the nutritional value on the recipe, the serving size is NOT 1). We used low fat mayo for the sauce, fried them in olive oil, and used whole wheat hoagie buns.
      Let me assure you the heart of the recipe is the remoulade sauce. I HATE horseradish, but it just adds to the overall flavor of the sauce. It doesn't make it a horseradish sauce. The sauce was delicious, and put this poboy above all the restaurant poboys we've had that use regular tartar sauce. I needs some lettuce and tomato to balance it out, but I would highly recommend this recipe to any poboy lover!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      I cant really say what the sauce taste like because the shrimp was so good we ended up just eating that. It was a really tasty and quick Friday night dinner meal. Thanks for the post. We will definitely make it again. Next time I will do my best to eat the entire sandwich and not just the shrimp. Oh, I made exactly as written the only change was that I also seasoned the shrimp to my liking prior to dredging through the dry/wet mixtures.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      Haven't tried this using shrimp, but is fantastic with fish (we've used up some of our Northern Pike this way). I had to double the amount of flour mixture. I agree with other reviewers, the remoulade sauce makes the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      I haven't fried shrimp in a while so this created quite a hoopla with the family. Want some? I can send you all the hoopla you think you might need.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      love da sauce :) thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      I loved this Po Boy!! I made it for friends and family and did the shrimp 2 ways 1/2 mild I cut back on the red pepper and 1/2 spicy. Everyone loved it. I am making it tonight for my hubby he was not here when I made it before. The remoulade makes this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      This was amazing!!!! The sauce was a little salty so I won't be adding any salt next time! Made onion rings with extra shrimp breading! YUMMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Mmmmmm, cooked as directed. Definitely not to be cooked once a week unless you want a slow death by Southern Food. Thanks for introducing us to Po' Boys. Made after searching for a recipe when reading a novel based in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina. Off to act slovenly on the sofa to snooze this meal off the hips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Very delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      I cheated with frozen shrimp but we really enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This was really, really good. The spicy remoulade sauce was a big hit with my DH, I served this on warm flour tortillas. Wow!! So good. Thank you for posting Mimi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Very good! Used Cajun spice instead of the paprika and cayenne & added a little panko breading to the flour mixture, but otherwise followed recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      I first had a shrimp po boy in Daytona Beach, Florida this winter. They were so good that I went searching for a recipe to make them at home. The one at the restaurant cannot compare with this recipe. Absolutely delicious! I made enough for two sandwiches and wished I had made more. Used only half of the spices and the heat was perfect for us. Did not make the sauce, but instead served them on toasted garlic Kaiser rolls. I thank you so much Mimi for posting this awesome recipe! This is going into my "WOW" cookbook and will be made again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Made this last night, and they were awesome! My roommate is from Louisiana so he always talks about these. I added cornmeal to the third bowl of flour. I skipped the horseradish and used tobasco instead. Also, he loves Tony Chachere's seasoning, so I used that in the remoulade and the flour. I also used french rolls which I toasted up in the oven. yum yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I left out the horseradish and made tarter sauce with the mayonnaise and relish instead. We loved them on French rolls!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Wow! This was so delicious I had to brew a pot of Cafe Du Monde to make cafe au lait. I made a couple of minor changes. I had to skip the horseradish too because my daughter won't eat it. I used smoked paprika, which added an amazing flavor, and I added about 1/4 cup of corn meal to the final batch of flour. I could rave for hours about this amazing sandwich but I'm too full to continue typing. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      WOW this recipe is so delicious! Extremely flavorful. Make the remoulade ahead of time and it tastes even better! All I can say is YUMMMM. Give it a try and you will not regret it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stan's Place Shrimp Po Boy

    Serving Size: 1 (435 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 929.2
     
    Calories from Fat 446
    48%
    Total Fat 49.6 g
    76%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 232.5 mg
    77%
    Sodium 2284.2 mg
    95%
    Total Carbohydrate 105.9 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 15.5 g
    62%
    Protein 21.4 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    shrimp

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites