Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Stacy's Favorite Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Stacy's Favorite Vegetable Beef Soup

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2009

      Stacy, You are now one of the brightest stars in the sky --- and your recipes continue to gather lots of stars here on Zaar. When I make veggie soup, I always print off your recipe -- it's amazing. I improvise but its always your basic recipe I start with. Today I added some bok choy, zucchini, squash, sweet potato, and a package of Fordhook lima beans -- in addition to the veggies you list. I doubled all the "liquid" and spice parts of the recipe -- and probably added a bit more water. Now my freezer is plum full of yummy soup. RIP -- and thoughts and prayers to your family. So many of us here are glad that our paths crossed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      Completely satisfied with this soup! Loved the add-ins from fellow reviewers, especially the barley additive. This recipe sure did make alot, I was able to freeze about half of it for another rainy day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      This soup was just terrific. I added all fresh veggies that I had in the frig.: onions, shredded carrots, 3 ears of corn, green beans, yellow squash, zucchini, and potatoes. The addition of the wine to the meat along with spices was the secret. Could not believe it. This will be my veggie soup from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Wonderful Recipe! It is especially good when prepared in a cast iron dutch oven at 325 degrees-after browning the meat on the stovetop with the onions, garlic and celery. I love how this is so jam packed with veggies-both in the V8 juice and in the frozen and fresh ones. If you have the meat cut into a smaller dice, it finishes cooking in 1 1/2 hours and thickens to a stew like consistency in the cast iron.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      This is the best veggie soup I have ever had. Too bad I am the only person in my house that likes veggie soup. Oh well more for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      I've been making this soup for almost 2 years. I was hesitant at first about using canned veggies (as I've only used frozen or fresh before), but to my wonderful surprise it came out great. After making this numerous times, it seemed to lack a little punch (just seemed it need a little more umph). I've adjusted the seasonings a little. I add an extra teaspoon of salt. I also added 1/2 teaspoon more of the oregano & basil. Added about 1 1/2 teaspoons of thyme. As this is a great soup that can pretty be customized, I've also added another potato & celery. Chopped up about 5 oz. fresh spinach. And as Denise in da Kitchen stated, I used 1/2 cup barley and increased the water and V8 to another cup each. Thanks for sharing such a superb recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

    • on January 27, 2014

    • on January 30, 2013

      Very good soup. Made half a recipe and we still have 2 serving left for lunch. Will try barley instead of the potato next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      I also, loved this soup and made some adjustments of my own by browning the bones and onions before adding them to the other ingredients. I think it's this step and the addition of the red wine that gives it that wonderful flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      great soup! sorry to here about the cook. I love looking up different recipes this was great (added my own stuff just like everyone else). Shame on JulieBev. These recipes are to be tried and tested. This is a good one. My husband loved it (so did I). Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      Loved it and very adaptable to different vegetables. EX: I had no cabbage or green beans, so I used fresh zucchini and frozen peas, and threw in 1/2 barley as suggested by others. Will be making often! I don't know about 8-10 servings~~you guys don't have big enough bowls or appetites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Outstanding recipe. Only thing I added was a can of peas and an extra 1/4 pound of stew meat. This is a large batch so I wouldn't recommend anything smaller than a 6qt pot. Between 2 of us this was gone in 24 hours it was that good. This will be in my top 10 for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      Very flavorful. Would have been better with roasted beef shank with bones. I omitted the can of corn, the cabbage and the salt (bouillon already has lots of salt in it). 1 pound of stew meat was plentiful for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Great vegetable soup. I didn't have wine, so I deglazed the pan with beef broth. I didn't have basil or bay leaves either, but it was still very, very good. The portions of broth to V-8 were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      I've been looking for a great beef vegetable soup, and this is it! I used leftover cooked pot roast for the beef, tomato juice instead of V8, and one potato and one turnip instead of 2 potatoes. I also left out the bag of frozen veggies. I also added more liquid and salt. It was delicious and everyone loved it! Going into the Favorites file, this will be my go-to recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2011

      There was absolutely NO reason to put all of those spices into this soup. Oregano??? Please, this recipe didn't state it was an Italian dish. All it needed was salt & pepper & a bay leaf. Next time I make this will definitely exclude all the other unneeded spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I really enjoyed this! I'm not a huge fan of broth-based soups (I prefer creamy soups and chowders), but this was very tasty. I'd give it five stars if it had won my hubby over, but I'm still searching for the elusive recipe that will make my husband enjoy soup. The veggies were nice and soft so that my baby could eat it, and my preschooler enjoyed it. I did add about a cup of pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Excellent soup to soothe the savage beast or help comfort the ravages of the common cold! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      I am sorry to hear of this dear lady's passing. I made this soup last night and it was absolutely delicious. The meat tastes wonderful. Do not skip the browning the meat/wine reducing step, it is what gives this soup such great flavor! I used 2 pounds stew meat, 2 cans beef broth (14 ounces each), 2 (12 ounces each) cans of V-8 , and 4-5 cups of water. I omitted the canned vegetables and added 1/2 cup of pearl barley. I added in some Worcestershire sauce and a pinch of thyme. This will be my new veggie soup recipe! It was great with grilled cheese sandwiches and we will have the leftovers tonight with sourdough rolls . I can't wait! This makes alot of soup and that's a good thing! Try this soup! R.I.P. Stacy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Stacy's Favorite Vegetable Beef Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (552 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.5
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    19%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 54.5 mg
    18%
    Sodium 1529.0 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 26.8 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites