55 Reviews

Stacy, You are now one of the brightest stars in the sky --- and your recipes continue to gather lots of stars here on Zaar. When I make veggie soup, I always print off your recipe -- it's amazing. I improvise but its always your basic recipe I start with. Today I added some bok choy, zucchini, squash, sweet potato, and a package of Fordhook lima beans -- in addition to the veggies you list. I doubled all the "liquid" and spice parts of the recipe -- and probably added a bit more water. Now my freezer is plum full of yummy soup. RIP -- and thoughts and prayers to your family. So many of us here are glad that our paths crossed.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie January 15, 2009

This soup was just terrific. I added all fresh veggies that I had in the frig.: onions, shredded carrots, 3 ears of corn, green beans, yellow squash, zucchini, and potatoes. The addition of the wine to the meat along with spices was the secret. Could not believe it. This will be my veggie soup from now on.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathleen.korfhage September 04, 2010

Completely satisfied with this soup! Loved the add-ins from fellow reviewers, especially the barley additive. This recipe sure did make alot, I was able to freeze about half of it for another rainy day.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonita250 August 27, 2010

Wonderful Recipe! It is especially good when prepared in a cast iron dutch oven at 325 degrees-after browning the meat on the stovetop with the onions, garlic and celery. I love how this is so jam packed with veggies-both in the V8 juice and in the frozen and fresh ones. If you have the meat cut into a smaller dice, it finishes cooking in 1 1/2 hours and thickens to a stew like consistency in the cast iron.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindiansummer February 05, 2010

Excellent soup!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gretchen #347052 January 11, 2015

This is the best veggie soup I have ever had. Too bad I am the only person in my house that likes veggie soup. Oh well more for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmotley79 February 15, 2012

I've been making this soup for almost 2 years. I was hesitant at first about using canned veggies (as I've only used frozen or fresh before), but to my wonderful surprise it came out great. After making this numerous times, it seemed to lack a little punch (just seemed it need a little more umph). I've adjusted the seasonings a little. I add an extra teaspoon of salt. I also added 1/2 teaspoon more of the oregano & basil. Added about 1 1/2 teaspoons of thyme. As this is a great soup that can pretty be customized, I've also added another potato & celery. Chopped up about 5 oz. fresh spinach. And as Denise in da Kitchen stated, I used 1/2 cup barley and increased the water and V8 to another cup each. Thanks for sharing such a superb recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobby T. June 02, 2010

Let me start by saying that I don't like broth based soups. But I'm trying to eat healthier so I thought I would do this . It was the best soup I have ever made . I measured nothing ,used what I had ( no mixed veggies) included zucchini ,chick peas,carrots ,corn and tomatoes . It was delish !!! I also didn't have beef bullion but I don't think it was missed . I did use some gravy master and red chili flakes . Topped with some parmesan cheese . The wine is the sweet secret :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca R. February 03, 2016

Amazing!!! This recipe was absolutely delicious! I used an inexpensive cabernet, red cabbage, can lima beans, and left out the frozen veggies b/c I didn't have any on hand. My husband who is a very picky eater gave this soup two thumbs up. Thank you so much for this awesome recipe it's definitely my new fave!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
segui.jenny August 22, 2015

Looks great and I will try it tomorrow, I always add a few beef marrow bones to beef veggie soup. gives it great flavor and after I have the marrow on rye our dogs are thrilled

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeffcan43 April 13, 2015
Stacy's Favorite Vegetable Beef Soup