53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Stacy, You are now one of the brightest stars in the sky --- and your recipes continue to gather lots of stars here on Zaar. When I make veggie soup, I always print off your recipe -- it's amazing. I improvise but its always your basic recipe I start with. Today I added some bok choy, zucchini, squash, sweet potato, and a package of Fordhook lima beans -- in addition to the veggies you list. I doubled all the "liquid" and spice parts of the recipe -- and probably added a bit more water. Now my freezer is plum full of yummy soup. RIP -- and thoughts and prayers to your family. So many of us here are glad that our paths crossed.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie January 15, 2009

Completely satisfied with this soup! Loved the add-ins from fellow reviewers, especially the barley additive. This recipe sure did make alot, I was able to freeze about half of it for another rainy day.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonita250 August 27, 2010

This soup was just terrific. I added all fresh veggies that I had in the frig.: onions, shredded carrots, 3 ears of corn, green beans, yellow squash, zucchini, and potatoes. The addition of the wine to the meat along with spices was the secret. Could not believe it. This will be my veggie soup from now on.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathleen.korfhage September 04, 2010

Wonderful Recipe! It is especially good when prepared in a cast iron dutch oven at 325 degrees-after browning the meat on the stovetop with the onions, garlic and celery. I love how this is so jam packed with veggies-both in the V8 juice and in the frozen and fresh ones. If you have the meat cut into a smaller dice, it finishes cooking in 1 1/2 hours and thickens to a stew like consistency in the cast iron.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindiansummer February 05, 2010

This is the best veggie soup I have ever had. Too bad I am the only person in my house that likes veggie soup. Oh well more for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmotley79 February 15, 2012

I've been making this soup for almost 2 years. I was hesitant at first about using canned veggies (as I've only used frozen or fresh before), but to my wonderful surprise it came out great. After making this numerous times, it seemed to lack a little punch (just seemed it need a little more umph). I've adjusted the seasonings a little. I add an extra teaspoon of salt. I also added 1/2 teaspoon more of the oregano & basil. Added about 1 1/2 teaspoons of thyme. As this is a great soup that can pretty be customized, I've also added another potato & celery. Chopped up about 5 oz. fresh spinach. And as Denise in da Kitchen stated, I used 1/2 cup barley and increased the water and V8 to another cup each. Thanks for sharing such a superb recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobby T. June 02, 2010

Looks great and I will try it tomorrow, I always add a few beef marrow bones to beef veggie soup. gives it great flavor and after I have the marrow on rye our dogs are thrilled

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeffcan43 April 13, 2015

This is not only Stacy's favorite vegetable beef soup, it officially became my favorite vegetable beef soup after the first try! SO FREAKING DELICIOUS! I actually forgot to add beef bouillon cubes, so I ended up using more salt. It was still fantastic! Great recipe Stacy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen January 28, 2015

Excellent soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gretchen #347052 January 11, 2015

This is the must delicious soup I have ever had!!! The red wine makes all the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcia Adams November 01, 2014
Stacy's Favorite Vegetable Beef Soup