Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / St. Louis Style Gooey Butter Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    St. Louis Style Gooey Butter Cake

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2011

      This is the same recipe that I used in St. Louis about 35 years ago, at age 10. :-) I am from Affton/Kirkwood/Glendale area & now reside in SE Florida. I lost my recipe & am thankful that you posted. Today I made small tartlets with this recipe & put almond filling & cherry pie filling in the bottom, spooned the cheese mix over the top & added sliced almonds. Baking time is about 20 minutes or so, depending on your oven. I also used Mexican vanilla. It is a great vanilla for baking use. The aluminum cupcake cups with the wax paper liners work great for sharing, once the tartlet is removed from the tartlet pans. I topped off with powdered sugar. The ladies @ the Cookie Exchange party I made them for were all a buzz with curiousity & they went like lightning. This is an excellent recipe and is really easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I am from St. Louis and have grown up on Gooey Butter Cakes! This has got to be one of the best recipes for this. I think the vanilla is the magic to it. This is a very sweet cake. I only put 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. Next time I will only use three. I did use a 9x13 and placed it on a cookie sheet. It took much longer to cook as I expected but wanted to try it. I took it out when it was golden brown. I would agree with letting it completely cool. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      I have been making this for more than 10 years! Mine is called "Neiman Marcus butter cake, since it is so rich! I use a 13 x 9 x 2 inch glass pan and have never had it spill over! You can easily chance the flavor by changing the type of cake mix and extract! I remember someone changing hers to Lemon and it went over very well! I love it at room temp or slightly warm! And cut it in tiny pieces! People can take more than one! I usually leave it in the pan and let people cut it themselves! This is one of my top favorite recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      THIS recipe was the reason I joined this site! I too am from St. Louis and this recipe (as is) takes me back home. Will try other variations...15 STARS...GREAT recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      Delicious! But kinda on the sweet side. Instead of 4 cups confectioners sugar, I just put 2. Still tastes great. Just less sweeter. My kids love it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      I grew up in Southern MO, but we often drove up to STL and would get fed Gooey Butter Cakes by our hosts. I have tried far more complicated and time consuming recipes for them, and this easiest of versions has to take the cake...pun intended. Wonderfully sweet and gooey with that most amazing phenomenon one calls a sugar crust. Thanks for bringing back fond childhood memories!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      WOW!!! This is so very very very good! Very easy to make. I actually forgot to put in the vanilla or almond flavoring. It didn't matter! It was scrumptious. I made it to take to our church Bible Study, as we eat afterwards. Well, we made the mistake of trying it first, to see what an "ooey gooey butter cake" would taste like! We then considered keeping it for ourselves, and buying something on the way, instead of taking it! LOL. But I am going to take it. And I know right now, there won't be any left! It just couldn't be better. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      My husband and I lived in (and loved) St. Louis for several years before moving to central Texas. The food is one of the things we miss most about STL. My husband decided he wanted to make gooey butter cake for our Christmas dessert, and since he couldn't find the recipe he's used in the past, he chose this one to try. He followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfectly! It's very sweet, melt-in-your-mouth gooey, and certainly addictive. The directions were very clear and detailed. Bake time for our oven was 40 minutes; we served it at room temperature. We look forward to making it again soon. Thank you SO much for posting this St. Louis treat!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Have had several gooey butter cakes while visiting our kids in St. Louis. When I found this recipe, I was really excited--made it this past weekend when the St. Louis family was home--what a fabulous treat. This will be made for many occasions in the future. Thank you,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      Super wonderful recipe! Yum Yum Yum :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      Gooey Butter Cake is my husbands favorite and since we moved away from St. Louis, he has been craving it. So being the good wife I am, I searched for a recipe, found this one and made it for him. He LOVED it! Super easy to make and since he loved it, saving the recipe to make again and again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      To everyone reading this. There is no such thing as St Louis Gooey Buttercake. Buttercake or Philadelphia Buttercake as we know, was brought here by the Germans bakers, that came over here. ButterKuchen came from Germany. Many of the German people that settled in and around Philadelphia were great bakers, butchers and candy makers amongst other thing. If you want Buttercake, it exists only around Philadelphia in its true and original form. It started where many of the German immigrants came to live "PHILADELPHIA."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      WOW OMGosh ! nmlawrence Thank you We love this cake. I have made this cake for years but in our resent move I misplaced it. So I came to Recipe Zar. For help to just make sure I didn’t mess up. These instructions are so well written and I think that the one thing that I never did is the secret trick to Perfect Ooie Gooie Butter Cake and that is melting the butter. Thank you for posting and making my Gooie Gooie’er and my Butter Cake better. Lori

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I made this a few days ago, it is one of the quickest dessert recipes I' ve found. My son who is my food critic loves this and has asked me to make another one. I made no changes but next time I won't bake it quite as long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for St. Louis Style Gooey Butter Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 588.7
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    37%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 106.2 mg
    35%
    Sodium 512.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.8 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 69.9 g
    279%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes