Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Squashed Squash ( Hubbard or Butternut ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Squashed Squash ( Hubbard or Butternut )

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2004

      This microwave method is the worst way to try to cook butternut squash. I pierced, zapped for 8 min & then cut open. It was cooked in some spots but very raw in the rest.(most) I scooped out the seeds,& the cooked part (to save)& re-zapped for another 10 min. Again, the same problem. Cooked in some spots but not in others. Re-zapped another 5 min (after scooping out the "cooked". Still had some raw spots. I finally gave up & threw out the raw. This was taking far more time than the 8 min. I expected. I cannot blame my microwave. It's a GE Atvantium. I tried again with another squash. This time I set the initial time for 20 min. Again same problem , gave up & threw out the raw portions. I am so dissapointed! I was so mad that I did not go to step 2. I took what I had & added brown sugar & butter to taste & whipped with an electric mixer. Turned out great but I will NEVER microwave squash again. Too time consuming & too much waste

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      Definitely easy and delicious! I cooked 3 acorn squashes in the oven, as directed. They were easier to cut in half, easier to deseed & it was easier to scoop out the flesh. I increased the butter & seasoning, mashed, stored in a casserole dish & refrigerated until dinner time - then reheated in a 350F oven for 30 minutes. Thanx Lennie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      I thought I'd try this cooking method rather than struggle with cutting my butternut squash in half and then baking it. First I think that Sandydann and the other reviewer had the same problem I'm experiencing; we bought average size squash, which will weigh approx. 3-5 lbs. each. A 1/2 lb. squash is very, very small. I currently have 3- 6" butternut squash in the oven as I write this. I'm guessing their weight to be 3 and 1/2- 4 lbs each. I just checked them, and they are tender and done, after 2 full hours of baking at 350 degrees. I can't imagine microwaving a squash of this size, although I've never tried it. This cooking method made it much easier to cut and seed the squash, but I'm undecided whether to cook them whole again, because of the lengthy cooking time. No matter how ya slice it, butternut squash is a pain to make, but oh sooooo good. BTW, I believe the 2 round green squash pictured are Acorn and not Hubbard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      This also gave me the same problem that sandydann had. No matter how long I cooked the squash it was still hard. So I had to cut it into wedges and it still wouldn't cook. No luck. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      This is a great way to make squash! It is quick, easy, and with the nutmeg it tastes great. I think the previous reviewer must have either used too large of a squash or her microwave is different from all the other reviewers. In any case she may want to try the oven method next time or take Maeven6's hint about turning and resting it. Thanks Lennie for posting. I know I will be using this a lot this summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      Easy and fast from rock hard to soft edible usable winter squash! Warning, if you are using a large squash use the 8 min, rest for 2, turn, and hit it again. This will help avoid the other persons hotspots, some done some not spots. I used the squash with the 'Winter Squash, Apple and Walnut Soup'. Superb companion recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2004

      This recipe was a big help when I'm standing there looking at a butternut squash and wondering what to do with it. Thanks for the help Lennie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2004

      Straightforward, simple, and foolproof. An easy and tasty way to have squash ready and on the table in less than 15 minutes. The nutmeg is a very nice touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2004

      I love my acorn squash and this is my favorite way to fix it. I omit the nutmeg but other than that this is exactly how I do it. It is the absolute best way to eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      Simple easy and just what I wanted! So often simple is best allows the flavor of the suash to come out - the touch of nutmeg gives just the right flavor boost - I prepared the squash, reheated for 20 min at 350 just before dinnere thanks Lennie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Squashed Squash ( Hubbard or Butternut )

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.7
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    74%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 6.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites