17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a really great recipe! Instead of the jar of pimento, I substituted red and orange bell pepper, and it worked great! I also looked around in my garden to see what else was fresh, and made a separate batch using 1 cup of fresh Thai basil leaves (measured then finely chopped) along with 1/4 cup of grated fresh ginger. This is an amazingly flexible and tasty recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tides Fan July 12, 2011

This recipe made exactly as directed is a GREAT way to use all your squash. I use yellow & zucchini (nice color blend with the pimento ) It is better than any relish I've ever bought. One use,a big spoon full in macaroni or potato salad...hamburgers & hotdogs are a given ! I used smaller, hand cut squash, but ran the onion through a processor , and i did hot water bath for 20 minutes to be on the safe side. I give this recipe ALL of 5 stars...Everybody loves it !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hairball54 July 11, 2010

This recipe is a great way to use all of that extra squash. I made three batches of it because my relatives liked it so well that they all wanted a jar of it. They like to eat it with pinto beans. I added some bell pepper to the recipe because I had some bell pepper from my garden. This recipe also look pretty in the jar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debcoxu August 11, 2009

This is a great way to use up the extra squash from my garden. I made half zucchini and half squash. I added a little extra mustard and tumeric and also added some more cornflour as it seemed a bit runny. I also added some chilli. It tastes great and the kids love it too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrisNick January 25, 2009

This is an excellent relish that passes for a sweet pickle relish. My sweetie is a pickle gourmet and he LOVES this. He puts it on every sandwich he makes for his lunch. I love it on grilled hot dogs. I did water bath process also. Too much work to either get sick or have it spoil. This recipe will be a staple in my household.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
racrgal July 15, 2008

i've made this relish several times (not sure why i planted a dozen squash plants in teh garden last year lol) and it's always fantastic. goes best w/ pork or ham, but good w/ chicken too and fantastic on sandwiches. i've also dumped a jar in the crockpot along w/ a pork butt and it was very yummy. i've chopped the squash by hand, and also used the processor, and i have to say that the texture is way better when done by hand. have also added japalenos and changed up the spices a little, but the original is hard to beat. thanks for posting! update- had to lower my stars on this one, just noticed the directions say it doesn't need to be hot water canned. i did can mine, and if you plan to keep this on the shelf you need to do the same or you're risking making yourself and other sick. it's easy, after tightening the bands just submerge in boiling water, boil for 10-15 minutes, remove and listen for the seals popping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MuddyMommaPottery June 08, 2008

I used yellow squash from the garden, and have already made three batches of it as we love it so much, i added some red pepper flakes to make it a little zestier. This is a great relish recipe and so easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs June 24, 2006

We made this 2 years ago. We used the food processor to grate the squash with the largest size blade. Had something that would chop the onion and peppers. Made it alot easier. Can't imagine doing it all by hand. Used both zucchini and yellow squash. We substituted red bell peppers for pimento peppers. Really pretty and very, very tasty. Everyone who tastes it wants a jar and the recipe, if they have a garden with squash. We used alot of the overgrown squash, just took out the seeds. Will most definitely make again!!!!!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!!!!!!!! We did hot water can. I believe you should always hot water can just to be on the safe side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluescity August 17, 2011

Made this up with some scalloped squash that got away from me in the garden. Who knew one plant could produce so darned much. I seeded the squash and chopped it into larger chuncks, the results of which made this into more of a chutney to be served as a side to meat dishes. This is really easy and delicious with no substitutions or changes other than stated above. I really recommend trying this recipe to use up some of that excess squash in your garden.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 August 28, 2009

This is wounderful. Making my second batch. I just notice that it says prep time 10 min? This cheif must chop alot faster than me!! But this is a woulderful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csue.allison July 06, 2009
squash relish