Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Squash Casserole (Charlotte's Barclay Cafeteria) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Squash Casserole (Charlotte's Barclay Cafeteria)

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2010

      HOLY. COW. This was sooo good. Even my two year old ate it! I was amazed to watch him eating a veggie!! Thank you so much. My family owns a restaurant in Texas (country cookin) and this is better than theirs!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      My dinner guest declared this "the best squash casserole I've ever had. I could eat it everyday!" I liked it as well. Due to availability and diet constraints, I used Egg-beaters and no-fat half'n half. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      Excellent. Only added some buttered saltines on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      I was born in Charlotte NC -- before Barclay I think -- and this is exactly (ok, replace that processed cheese with cheddar) what my mom made for squash casserole when I was very young. I loved it even then! When I was a teenager, we were more health-conscious (but still love our cheese!), so we left out the margarine, sugar, and sometimes flour. Just so you know, those modifications work! When I use 50% or 75% reduced-fat cheese, the flour is NOT needed. Childhood classic summer comfort food!

      We don't always pre-cook and mash the squash, and while that's a completely different dish, it's also delicious as long as you don't mind your squash being visibly obvious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I've been making this for years. I've had to adlib a few times, but it has always turned out fantastic! Even vegetable haters love this. You can NOT go wrong!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I made this just as written with the exception of using cheddar cheese rather than process. Everyone who tried it loved it. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This recipe sounds wonderful. I am from Charlotte and am going to try this one. Can this casserole be assembled the day before baking?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Everyone loved this and I even had requests for the recipe. I followed the recipe as written and used the full 2 tablespoons sugar. Some reviewers said that was too much sugar, but we didn't think so. I didn't have a potato masher because my DD took it off to college, so I had to use my electric mixer. I'd highly recommend investing in a potato masher because the electric mixer made a mess and I had to leave it somewhat chunky. Nevertheless, it didn't alter the taste and we all enjoyed this dish. Thank you l0vetw0c00k for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I made this recipe today for a family function BOY was it a hit!! I doubled the recipe so there was plenty. I put a small amount on my plate and it was great . I went back for more only to find my 34yo nephew scraping the casserole dish for more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Outstanding! I halved the recipe and used shredded cheddar and mozzarella. Heated up great the next day. Next time I might bake or steam the squash instead boiling to preserve all the nutrients. Also - we didn't think this was too sweet with the full amount of sugar. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      We really love this. DD claimed she didn't like squash but went back for seconds. Great way to round out a meal and it surprises the squash-haters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      I thought this was absolutely delicious, i added one tbsp sugar, subbed half and half for the milk and sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top before baking. I also baked at 350 * for 1 hr. This will definately be on our thanksgiving table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Enjoyed this! More custard-like than other squash casseroles I've tried. Having made this once, next time I'd use the 2 T of sugar called for in the recipe (I used 2 t as suggested by other reviewers) and Kraft sharp slices (all I had were the regular processed cheese slices). Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Yum, yum! Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a success. I used about 3 tsp of sugar. Everyone agreed that it needed something, but no one could figure out what. I will definately try this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Super good! I had to modify based on what I had on hand: I had to use 1 zucchini in addition to the squash to make up the 2 lbs, half of an onion, 3 T of butter, 2 tsp sugar, and velveeta cheese. I almost skipped the rest of the meal, just so I could eat more of this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Fantastic squash recipe. My only complaint is that I should have doubled it. The whole thing went, without seconds for me because my 2 and 4 year olds ate seconds, and my husband had thirds, I think. I, too, reduced the sugar, and made it all with low-fat substitutes for cheese, milk, and butter and it still was wonderful!This is my new favorite way to make squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      This is absolutely the most mouth watering squash casserole ever!! It is so easy to make too. I doubled this recipe measuring the sugar in teaspoons rather than tablespoons as recommended by a previous reviewer. This was for a group of 12 and all but a few spoonfuls were left over. Good for me...I ate every last bit a little later when no one was looking! :) Everyone just raved over this scrumptious side dish and practically begged for the recipe. It is definitely worth sharing! I myself am throwing out my old squash recipe and using this one from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      This casserole was simple enough that the delicate flavor of the yellow squash wasn't drowned out. I used the 2 tsp. of sugar as suggested by another reviewer and that seemed just right. Very good recipe. We all enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      So good I had leftovers of it for breakfast the next day! One word of caution: it seemed a bit too sweet for my taste, so next time I make it I will use 2 TEASPOONS of sugar rather than 2 tablespoons. Other than that minor adjustment, it was BY FAR the best squash casserole I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      This really was delicious! I am a squash fan, but I'm sure even squash-o-phobes would like this one. And it was really easy, which is always a plus. I'll definitely make it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Squash Casserole (Charlotte's Barclay Cafeteria)

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.4
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    59%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 84.3 mg
    28%
    Sodium 688.4 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes