16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i loved this recipe. everyone wants me to make one for them since they can't figure out how to keep theirs from separating. I did make one with half squash and half zucchini and it came out just as good. but i tried the onion flakes first... its not strong enough for the casserole so i would stick with the real onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arolfsen December 14, 2010

I made this at thanksgiving. I used yellow squash that i cut up and pureed after sauteing. was OK. wasn't what i expected it to be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carie's colorful creations (R) December 13, 2009

I doubled the recipe and then added an extra pound of squash. I also used other suggestions for the cracker topping. It all fit in a square casserole. I suggest that the recipe be modified to accomodate a larger dish because when I cooked it it barely fed 10. Otherwise it was PERFECT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicate Spoilz January 20, 2009

I was looking for something different and I came across this casserole. It was a great hit but I should have doubled it because everayone was wanting more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anitap1948 November 30, 2008

We loved this squash casserole recipe. It was the first time I had made one and it turned out great. I doubled the recipe with no problems. I used frozen yellow squash that I thawed and then I sauteed my squash and onions in 1/8 c. of the butter that the recipe stated. I added a dash of a seasoning spice blend for a little added flavor to the squash and onions while they were cooking. Next time, I will probably dice my squash before I saute them with the onions. Then I mashed the squash and onions when they were tender. The only other thing I did different was to add a cracker crum topping to the casserole at the last 5 - 10 minutes of the baking time. I crushed approx. 20 Ritz crackers and mixed them with 2 T. of melted butter. Several people went back for second helpings!! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri in Georgia December 26, 2007

Absolutely wondeful. I was looking for a recipe like this because I remembered a relative always had it at Thanksgiving when I was a kid. This was so yummy, my fiance, whom has an auversion to squash actually got caught getting a second helping. The only thing I changed is that I used EXTRA sharp cheddar which I thought really added more of the cheedar flavor. Delicious. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vega Girl December 02, 2007

Awesome dish! Everyone really loved it, it was the first side dish to dissapear at Thanksgiving! Will definitely make again, thanks Leslie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle November 24, 2007

We liked this very much. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn July 14, 2007

Used this recipe for my first time making squash casserole, and it was the first time my family(including my mother and her husband) had it also. Instant family tradition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diva-N-Training December 21, 2006

I made this with yellow squash. It was a little time comsuming to fiddle with the egg whites but the result was a light casserole that was different than most. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff June 17, 2005
Squash Casserole