13 Reviews

Mmmmmm, so creamy and yummy!!!! A great idea for dressing up plain mashed potatoes! Very easy to make and very tasty! I made the Italian version, which went so great with some sauteed mushrooms and herby baked zucchini. Mmmm, yum! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, Annacia! It will be made again. Made and reviewed for Zaar Stars May 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 27, 2010

Loved these! A cross between mashed and twice baked potato without the skin, which I don't like so much anyway. Made the Italin version in ramakins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel October 23, 2008

Potatoes, garlic, cheese, sour cream - what's not to love! I made the Italian version (with cheddar) and put foil liners in my muffin pan - they came out with no problem. These were wonderful hot and room temp. Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 06, 2008

I made these tonight with instant mashed potatoes and only half the amount of sour cream. I opted for the Mexican version. I left out the jalapeño and olives,so the kids would eat it, but I think it would be excellent included. I used a mixture of mozzarella and cheddar cheeses. Just before these came out of the oven, I topped with a little more cheese. I made these in ramekins that were well oiled. These were impressive and tasted great. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada April 04, 2008

I made both versions, using instant mashed potatoes with less liquid than called for since other reviewers had issues with them falling apart when removing from the pan. They turned out great, and were much easier to remove once they had cooled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana J. May 04, 2016

The taste is great but mine were too soft -they just sort of fell out of tin looking like mashed potatoes. I used the Italian version with full fat sour cream and aged white cheddar. I wonder if each portion should be rolled in Panko and then refrigerated for a few hours before going into the oven? Or adding an egg? Thank you Annacia for sharing. Made for Zaar stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal August 19, 2009

Pretty good, but I'm not sure it's worth the extra effort to individualize these. I flirted with fate and used a greased individual bundt pan for a novel effect. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng August 14, 2009

They didn't hold up to look like muffins, but the taste was pretty good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha July 18, 2008

I'm rating these more on flavor than on presentation. I baked them for 30 minutes and they still weren't golden on top and I couldn't get them out of the tin w/out turning them back into mashed potatoes! :) I did the Italian version and added some oregano. Used cheddar cheese, and probably more than the recipe calls for. Used lite sour cream, so that may have added too much water. Anyways, they tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead February 25, 2008

Very easy and delicious. I cooked and mashed the potatoes on Thursday, added the italian version ingredients on Friday and spooned into muffin tins. Refrigerated until Saturday supper then baked as directed. Turned out great. Next time I make these, I'm going to try freezing some.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Newell October 22, 2007
Spud Muffins, Two Ways