59 Reviews

Excellent recipe! The last time I made spritz cookies they came out dry and bland. These have a great flavor and the timing is perfect. Definitely a go-to recipe from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAL522 December 18, 2011

The consistency of the dough was good when made as the recipe was written. (I tried refrigerating between batches and then it was too hard to load- I had to wait for it to warm up a little for the next batch.) I didn't find them very flavorful, so when I make it again I will probably try some with vanilla extract and some cocoa. Thanks for the basic idea- now I know how to do it! We had fun with it, kinda like play-doh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech December 14, 2011

Everyone loved these! I used half vanilla extract and half almond and split the dough up before adding the food color. Thanks Caryn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup October 29, 2011

Excellent Spritz recipe! It didn't need to refrigerate, like most Spritz cookie recipes, which I like! Very quick and easy! Quite tasty!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
geckoluvr2000 May 21, 2011

Can't believe I never rated this recipe. Oh my heaven!!!!

Tried these for the first time at Christmas and ate the whole batch at home.
I had to make another batch to share.

These are the best sugar cookies ever.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlowens May 13, 2011

Good cookie, will bake it again. Thanks Caryn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
domachica January 08, 2011

Oh we love these. We made these for our 2010 holiday trays for family and friends. We doubles the recipe and divided it into four batches to color with red, green, blue and yellow. We made pointsettas, snowflakes, trees and stars. They looked so festive and beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing, we will use often for different holidays.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 04, 2011

These are very, very good! I added a dash of butter flavoring. Before I make these again I will buy a better cookie press. Mine is cheap and it was very hard to force the dough through. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Caryn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaColorado Johnson July 03, 2010

Yay! Finally a spritz recipe that my cookie presser likes! It tastes as good as I expected. I half the dough, added 2ts cocoa liqueur and 2 ts cocoa powder for the chocolate one, and the other I added 2ts lemon and 2 extra ts of flour. Did not add the almond extract, will surely be making these again in many different colours and flavours! Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cabnolen February 04, 2010

Beautiful! These cookies were fantastic! My sis was over last night for our first try at the cookie press as well. Her recipe called for unsalted butter, so we used that variation, but followed the rest of your recipe exactly. I agree with the other users, you don't want to cook these until they're golden brown. As soon as you're able to lift one off the pan successfully, they're done (and usually at the 6 minute minimum from our experience). I'm going to try it with the regular, softened butter next time and I also want to try the 1 tsp almond, 1 tsp vanilla combination that Beckery commented on. That sounds terrific too! Thanks very much for the great holiday treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieMonster2323 December 26, 2009
Spritz Cookies