Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Springfield Cashew Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Springfield Cashew Chicken

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2009

      Excellent recipe. My wife is from Springfield and has always raved about Cashew Chicken. It can't be sesame chicken, or kung pao (wich has peanuts) but must be Cashew Chicken from Springfield, MO. It's a weird recipe for Chinese food. I'm used to using garlic, ginger, bean paste, chile paste, etc. when I cook Chinese, but this has none of those ingredients. You will be tempted to dress it up, but don't! Just cook it as is and you will be surprised how good this is. Be warned, though -- this does not taste like your usual Chinese food in your town. It is a unique dish in and of itself. Oh, and you may want to cut back on the pepper unless you really love a peppery sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      Having lived in Springfield, Missouri for 7 years, and moving back to California, I can't tell you how very happy I am to have found your recipe! We ate this every week at the many restaurants that serve this wonderful dish. I have never found any other restaurant that makes this, much to my dismay. Thanks to you, I have made it twice from my California kitchen and leaving guests raving!
      This is about as close as you can get to the real Springfield Cashew Chicken. THANK YOU Dienia B!!

      I like a tish of heat so added a bit of red pepper flake which really brought up the flavors in this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Have not yet tried the recipe but will very soon. Have been yearning for this recipe for 13 years!!!! Lived in Springfield & this is the BEST Cashew Chicken & is only made this way there. Have ordered in CA several different times & have always been disappointed. I could taste the oyster sauce, so I think you've hit it!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      I grew in and around Springfield and after moving away could not, for the longest time, figure out why I couldn't find this Cashew Chicken anywhere. This recipe is close to what my mom developed but there are differences. 1. Cut the cornstarch in half. 2. Increase oyster sauce to 3 Tablespoons 3. Add one minced clove garlic 4. pepper to your taste, instead of the teaspoon pepper 5. no sugar But hey anything close to Springfiled Cashew Chicken is good with me! Also, suggest serving with a side of Crab Rangoon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      My DH and I both LOVED this recipe! I was really skeptical when I first saw this, but it turned out SO GOOD! My DH said, and I quote, "You can't get better Cashew Chicken at any Chinese restaurant!" The only change I made was to cut the pepper down to 1/2 tsp. in the sauce and doubled the green onion used for garnish. I will definitely be making this again! Thank you Dienia B.!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      I am from Springfield, Mo and now live in Ohio. I have not tried this particular recipe but Springfield style cashew chicken is one of the things I miss the most.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      sorry, my family did not like this recipe...the picture looks really good though! maybe I did something wrong... the aroma and the sauce thickness was a turn off along with the crunchy chicken...I just can't put my finger on it......

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      My husband grew up eating this chicken whenever his family would visit his grandparents in Missouri. We don't really go anymore, so we thought we would try this recipe. I thought it was good and my husband thought it was pretty close, but not quite "it." The chicken pieces are awesome, no matter how they're served. It takes some time, but it's simple to do. The sauce came together easily. It was too peppery and we will try cutting that in half next time. The sauce had a good texture but was significantly darker than what you get in the restaurants. My cans of broth were 2 ounces shy of 2 cups, so instead of wasting another can of broth, I made up those 2 ounces with water, and it still had plenty of flavor. To sum up, this is close enough if you're having a craving and can't get the real thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I grew up in Springfield and am so excited about this recipe. Nice way to get a taste of home. It is going to be a family favorite for years to come.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      i love the crunch of the chicken

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      We liked it but was not quite a love it for us. I don't believe it was the receipe more our personal taste. Enjoyed trying this. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      i was very unsure about this at first. i thought the chicken coating would be too thick and the sauce just tasted like broth. well, for some reason when you add them together it changes all the flavors and they come out tasting wonderful. the only difference i did was sub honey for sugar and it tasted just fine. thanks D!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      Having eaten cashew chicken from Leongs (the originator) of the recipe in Springfield I have been trying to du-plicate the recipe for years. Yours is dead on. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      Thank goodness someone added a good Springfield, MIssouri cashew chicken recipe! This is the only way to eat cashew chicken in my opinion. THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      Very tasty, very quick and easy to make - and just fabulous for those of us who aren't into hot and spicy chicken dishes! I served this with mama's kitchen's Green Rice Green Rice. I used both the cashews and the green onions for garnish and wouldn't change a thing. I'll be making this again. Thanks dienia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2014

      I've never been to Missouri I live in Ohio, this recipe is so like Wor Wu Gai which seems also to be regional. My DH who hates Chinese food is playing poker tonight so I decided to make your recipe. I didn't have the nuts or green onions (darn cause I love them). Made everything according to your recipe except for those ingredients. I've been looking all over the net for the gravy that's on egg fu yung and wor su gai. This is it!! Thank you Your'e recipe is an absolute winner. Used your batter for the chicken, sauce the whole recipe. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      I worked at St. John's Hospital in Springfield. On cashew chicken day there would be line out of the cafeteria. The sauce was dark and salty. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      I accidently mixed all the ingredients for batter together, so I had to add about 1 cup of club soda to get it smooth. I also added 1 Tbs Dry Sherry as well. Did everything else per instructions. You have to bring the sauce to a boil to get the right consistancy. Was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      Having grown up near Springfield MO, I love Springfield Cashew Chicken! I've never been able to find it any place else but in MO. My husband suggested that I try to find a recipe on line and boy, am I glad I did. Your recipe is right on! Thanks for the "home away from home" recipe! My family loved it and finally... they now know what I've been talking about for all those years! (Unless you are a huge fan of pepper, I would definitely leave the pepper out and let each individual season according to their taste...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2004

      Great Flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Springfield Cashew Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 504.3
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    43%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 1497.1 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 16.8 g
    33%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boneless skinless chicken

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites