10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't rate this fairly as I had to change too much. I used Honey Mustard which is delicious, white rice flour instead of bread crumbs to be gluten and yeast free, but that does not work well, extra garlic salt, reduced fat mozzarella instead of the other cheeses called for which also did not work but it was what I had on hand, I used all the fresh herbs mentioned except basil and used lovely red tomatoes though they were not cherry type. For our diet this just doesn't work. Made for Please Review My Recipe: from 14 August 2011 ~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 03, 2011

What a great topping for a salad. I loved it. I used Jalapeno Havarti dipped in Honey Mustard dressing and buttered Panko crumbs. I also added some dried parsley to the crumbs. This is very special. I did use more than three pieces for my salad though. ;) Honoured to make this as a "Thank You" for voting for Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia in the 2010 Kraft Hockeyville Competition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 April 23, 2010

I love this salad! The toasted cheese was such a nice, tasty treat! Thanks, diner! Made for PRMR tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night November 14, 2009

delicious salad, I used my own Italian dressing for this, thanks diner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 17, 2009

What a delicious way to dress up a salad! The toasted cheese is just wonderful, but addicting! I made as directed except I didn't have the fresh herbs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 14, 2009

Really good, but really rich. I halved the recipe for the two of us and think I would have been fine with just two pieces of the cheese and maybe have cut them in smaller pieces. We grilled the cheese and loved that toasty flavor. Thanks for sharing this decadent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 31, 2014

Very gourmet tasting without much work - I need to add fresh herbs to salad more often! This would be good with mozzarella too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen January 27, 2013

Yummy! This salad is every bit as delicious as depicted in Diana #2's lovely photo. I used Newman's Own Italian Dressing (our favorite), and I opted for dried basil for the herb choice. But the wonderful toasted cheese "croutons" were the highlight. Apparently I didn't watch the cheese bits close enough while they were toasting in the oven, because they began to melt just enough to be a little flattened (which is why I didn't want to post any photos). But even in their mis-shapened state, the toasted cheese bits were quite a nice addition to this salad. Thank you for posting your recipe, diner524. Made for the 2012 Adopt-A-Tag event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal January 10, 2012

What a fun way to have a salad!!! I used italian dressing, and just topped our regular salad. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 December 06, 2011

This goes into my favorites! I made as directed and used regular tomatoes diced up in the salad. I quartered the recipe and ate it all. Thanks for a great little treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 12, 2011
Spring Greens With Toasted Cheese