9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good,i did add more garlic and used Mexican style tinned tomatoes and added 2 finely chopped serano chillis.I also sprinkled a little cayenne pepper over the top as a garnish prior to putting in the oven.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norahs Girl September 07, 2001

My family really liked this recipe. For adults, a can of rotel tomatoes might spice it up a bit, if you like spicy foods. We will definitely make this one again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ed1 January 21, 2002

This was sooo good. I added alittle extra cheese, garlic powder, and fresh ground pepper to the topping. Also I cooked it in the microwave uncovered. I had some of the meat mixture left over and plan to make open faced burritos with cheese and salsa.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robinjoy February 21, 2002

We like spicey, so I used Rotel canned tomatoes. There was no juice in the mixture, so added 1 smallest can tomato sauce and 1 more TAB chili powder. It was very tasty, but topping didn't firm up. It didn't brown and was mushy. What did I do wrong?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nopolo April 26, 2011

The recipe didn't turn out good for me.I just used the topping on top of my chili,so maybe that made a difference.It seemed to need a thicked and more firm texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kansbaker January 17, 2007

We really enjoyed this pie. Really simple to make and mighty tasty. I made the chili the day before using more hamburger meat and beans and adding a small can of tomato paste and a small can of tomato sauce along with the rest of the ingredients this recipe called for. Then the next day using the lefted over chili and adding corn and the topping for the pie. Turned out GREAT! I made My Cream Potatoes and Secret Garlic French Bread My Way to have with this recipe. Wonderful dinner on a cold snowy evening. Thanks for the recipe! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. January 11, 2007

I agree with the others, this was very good! It was easy to prepare, and we enjoyed it very much. Thanks for posting your recipe, we will enjoy it again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V.A. June 29, 2006

This was good. I prefer a sweeter corn bread topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starsugarb October 27, 2003

Great! I used 1 lb ground beef and substituted black beans for kidney beans. Very good and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tadish August 28, 2002
Spoon Bread Chili Pie