Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spontaneous Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spontaneous Couscous

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      Easy and yummy! 1 serving recipes are perfect for me, since not everyone at home is as adventurous in trying out different kinds of food. I used only 1/2 cup of onions since 1 cup seemed a tad much for 1 person! I also substituted Tabasco with a green chili sauce that I had, and added 1/4 tsp of salt. This dish will be a regular with me from now on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Very easy and healthy to make. I doubled the recipe and it's just the right amount for 2 servings as a main dish. I think I overdid the Tabasco ;) - make sure to add some to taste, as the cayenne already gives it a kick. I also added salt and pepper, and was able to use a whole can of corn since I doubled the recipe. I will be making this again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      When you want quick and easy, turn to couscous .... and versatile too! and healthy! Lovely recipe, thanks for sharing, made for I Recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      Like all couscous recipes easy peasy and liked the vegies that were added, the only change I would make is in step 3 to take it off the heat and let the couscous absorb the heat and I think you would get a better result. Thank you Moody, made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      I doubled, used one can corn, 1/2 can diced tomatoes, Tony Chachere's More Spice for heat, and the wrong kind of couscous that you have to cook longer. It ended up tasty but kind of mushy. Probably should have cooked the couscous and then added the corn and tomatoes at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      We really liked this! The Tabasco and Cayenne were a very nice surprise as it left just a little kick in our mouths after the first bite. It was not overpowering at all! <br/>I used a cup of Couscous and one and a half cups of water. I was looking for a more starchy side dish, so I used a cup of Couscous and one and a half cups of water. I also put a little salt in the water while cooking the couscous and then again when I added the vegetables. <br/>This was a very pretty dish, an easy dish and very yummy!!<br/>Thank you for sharing it with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      This was a really nice, light, healthy side dish to our chicken tonight.I doubled the recipe and added a diced zucchini, a little salt, and used cilantro instead of parsley. Nice and fresh tasting. I'll be making this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      This recipe was very good however it made alot more than we expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I added diced peppers and used chicken bullion in place of plain water. A sprinkle of white pepper and it was good to go! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      Holy cow, this is awesome!! I didn't have onions, so I used onion powder, but it was still perfect. This is my new go to couscous recipe. I have all of these ingredients on hand, and it was so quick to make. I also added some leftover soybeans to the mix. Perfect to add some extra protein. Thanks Moody for making my new favorite couscous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      The onion and tabasco sauce recommended here was too much, in my opinion, for one serving. I halved the onion and quartered the sauce and added 1/2 cup peas for more color. But aside from the kick, the flavor and textures were a bit bland. This is a good, easy base recipe, I think, but there are better things to do with couscous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This is just a perfect recipe for those days you're feeling lazy to cook....both DH n I are not big fans of couscous so I made a few alterations-I added 2 cloves of garlic,substituted parsley with fresh mint leaves and chopped up a beef frank for a non-veggie twist.I used Near East Toasted Pinenut Couscous so omitted the tabasco sauce,salt n pepper.Thnx for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I used broth rather than water and loved the dish warm and straight from the frig.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Made this recipe as part of a Kids cooking program and it worked great! lots of stuff for them to do and they ate every bit of it! I even forgot to put in tabasco or cayenne, but added a bit of salt and pepper and it worked well! Definetly needs a bit of salt if you take out the tabasco and cayenne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      It was a little heavy on the tobasco (which could entirely have been my own fault) but I just felt overall it was lacking. Could have just been me tonight, but I wasn't impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      Made this for dinner tonite to serve with my pork tenderloin...It was very tasty...and very eye appealing. thanks for a great, fast side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      I tried this for supper tonight, and it was great! Really easy to make, and vegitarian to boot! I used 1/2 cup of onions since I'm not such a big fan, and omitted the tabasco sauce (we had none), and loved how it turned out. I'll definitely be having it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      We really enjoyed this colorful side dish. We found it flavorful even though I omitted the tabasco. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      I have never tried couscous before and in this recipe it was great. DS absolutely loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      My husband loved this couscous. I used tri-color couscous, a sweet vidalia onion, cherry tomatoes, and fresh corn cut from the cob instead of the frozen. I also added a good pinch of salt and some fresh ground black pepper. It was an excellent side to Grilled Zucchini-Wrapped Shrimp (Grilled Zucchini-Wrapped Shrimp). We will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spontaneous Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (478 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 356.2
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    14%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 50.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.2 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    31%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites