Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Split Seconds Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Split Seconds

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2002

      These are very delicious cookies, and they're really fast and easy to make! I like to substitute different jams once in a while too. I usually add 1/2 tsp. of salt as well. Anyone looking for a great addition to their holiday goody trays should try this easy one! Thanks for posting, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      Maybe one of the prettiest, easiest, cheapest, as made with things you just have around cookies there is. I filled half with strawberry jam and half with blueberry. I know this recipe from one of those Pillsbury Bakeoff cookie booklets from the grocery store line. A real winner. Looks ike you bought them at a fancy bakery for almost no effort. I did them on parchement and they are easier to cool, fill and cut that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      Nice recipe! I made this for gifts last Christmas, and was so pleased with them...I just searched through about 100 recipes just looking for THIS ONE!!! Strawberry, apricot, and mint jellies were my choices for color & presentation...tasty and very pretty! Thanks Karen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      I don't know what these are - cookies or tarts or whatever. They're delicious and so easy to make. Guess that's how the name came! I made two batches over 3 days - that's about 60 cookies each batch and it's all over!!! Thanks Karen! This one's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      These cookies are an old family recipe my Mom always made. The name comes from how simple & quick they are to make. She always made mountains of them for Christmas using strawberry jelly. She added a drizzle of icing (10X sugar mixed with a bit of vanilla) and then a sprinkle of chopped walnuts. With or without the extra topping and with ANY flavor of jam - these are GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Yes, these cookies are from a Pillsbury Bake-off cookbook. From the 50's. And yes, I have been baking them since then! Excellent! And easy. Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      Had these tonight. I really enjoyed them, as did the kids and my husband... and the neighbor's kid... and my husband... ;-) Very lightly textured, and not too sweet for the jam and powdered sugar. I cooked these on parchment, so all I had to do was slide them onto the table and cut with a serrated knife while they were still very warm, so I didn't have a crumbling problem. My husband has decided they taste like a sweet scone. I filled mine with strawberry jam. Very tasty! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      I love these. Great taste, easy to make. I had to make a second batch the next day for hubby to take to work! Got to love that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      My mom made these after finding the recipe in Pillsbury Family Desserts cookbook pamphlet. They are so good! She used 3 different jams - raspberry, mixed fruit, and cherry for the filling. A very nice treat for the dessert tray on Easter Sunday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      This recipe was very yummy! I used Solo cherry filling for the jelly. Next time I will make the depression almost as wide as the dough for a more filling to cookie ratio.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      I had real problems with this recipe. The texture was really coarse (even the dough tasted grainy). The logs looked really nice until I cooked them. The edges of the logs spread like there was too much butter. Maybe I over mixed it?? Should I have mixed these by hand? I know my cookie munchers (aka kids) will be pleased with these but I was hoping for something special for my Xmas cookie trays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Oh my goodness! These were absolutely wonderful. I used canned raspberry filling and it was just delicious with the buttery flavor of the cookie. After cutting diagonally into bars and sprinkling with powdered sugar, they really looked lovely. Perfect for a holiday tray, like little jewels! Also, I just used 1 stick of butter (1/2 cup) with a tbsp or so of crisco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      whoops I forgot the stars its a 5 from me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      My DH loved these, my picky DS loved these, the neighbors loved these, I loved these. We could not stop eating these simple but perfect treats. They are an instant family favorite-thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      Made these with blueberry jam. Very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      I think I just figured out where the name split seconds comes from...its the perfect moment when the cookie is hot enough to cut without breaking and the jam icool enough to not run. :-) Seriously, these are as simple as a bar cookie but far more elegant. For variety, I used almond extract instead of vanilla. Paired well with raspberry jam. And yes, jams work better than jellies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      These are from a Pillsbury Bake off in the 50's. Super easy and you always have the ingredients on hand. I made a batch yesterday and used a couple different kinds of jelly. Great for the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      These were absolutely delicious, and very easy. The recipe says to place them 4 in apart and 2 in. from edges, which is impossible on a cookie sheet. I place them 2 in. apart and they turned out great. I did bake mine about 23 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Split Seconds

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.3
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    43%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 36.1 mg
    12%
    Sodium 79.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.0 g
    48%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes