Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Split Pea Soup & Ham Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Split Pea Soup & Ham

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2004

      Made this soup last night for dinner using a lb. or so of leftover ham from Christmas. It was very good. I cut back on the amount of liquid and didn't process the soup with a blender because I like a thick soup. Will cut back on the onions next time. The crushed red pepper (just a little!) gives it a little zip that I like. DH and I eat simple soup and bread suppers a lot in the winter and this one hit the spot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      The only change to this recipe was I added chopped leeks, mainly because they were there and I had to use them up. My husband said it was the best pea soup he ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      this is my first time making split pea soup and I thought it came out great! Even my 4yr old seemed to like it! The only change I made was I did not add the milk & I did not puree.. I also put red pepper in sparingly because of the kids. I used leftover spiral ham from Christmas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I used a ham bone and leftover chopped ham meat. I also added a couple of potatoes. I used the milk and other ingredients the recipe called for. This is the first time making split pea soup and really found this to be an easy recipe that produced an absolutely flavorful soup which I will definitely make again. Excellent recipe and instructions. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Wonderful version of a old favorite...thanks for the idea of ham steak. I did include diced celery and carrots with the onions (just cleaning out the fridge) and it was lovely. Delicious and easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      LOVED THIS SOUP!! OMG!!! Previously, I only bought cans of split pea soup. I wanted to get away from the canned, congealed stuff and thought I would try this. I added some finely chopped celery to this to use it up (about a 1/4 cup), very little red pepper flakes (I don't like things too hot) and no hot sauce. Also, when I looked in the pantry, I only had three cans of chicken broth, so I used a vegetable bouillon cube and 2 1/2 cups of water to make up the 8 cups. I didn't decrease the broth, because I like it to be soup and figured it would thicken by the next day (if it got that far, which it didn't). I used evaporated milk and only 1/3 cup since I liked the color of it before the milk went in. I gave it the whole hour and it was definitely done. I did take several cups and puree it with the hand held blender, then add it back into the rest of the soup. That made it look just like the canned stuff, but the flavor was out of this world! I literally ate it for breakfast and gave some to a elderly neighbor who did the same thing. Very good recipe, very flexible, great taste and simple to make in the morning while getting the kids ready for school. Who could ask for anything more? Dinner done by 9:10 am!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      I used to make SPlit peas all the time. I am the only one that eats it here so I don't make it anymore. You can add curry to the mix for extra kick and I like a few potatoes as well. Also for you vegetarians, use some soy based bacon bits. They will soften and taste just like ham without the meat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

      This recipe is great! I made a few simple modifications though...I added more bay leaves and after cooking for 40 minutes, I tasted it and the peas were already fairly tender, but there was way more liquid than what the peas could absorb. I added another pound of split peas and continued cooking for another forty minutes. It ended up that the first batch of peas made a base and the second added some texture. After it sat in the fridge over night, it thickened up a lot, but I like it thick so I didn't use the milk. The best split pea soup I think I ever had!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      This is the best soup yet! I threw my other split pea recipe's away. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      top smart nice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      Really good! Didn't use potato masher or blender, just left as is at the end, and it was perfect. Added diced carrots and chunks of potato, as well as a touch of cajun spice, turned out beautifully. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      Really great recipe. Added some carrots and a dash of balsamic vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      My first attempt at pea soup and it was fabulous!! So simple and so very tasty too!! I blended it all without thinking and then missed the ham chunks, so I think I will just blend a portion of it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      So great! So easy! Sometimes simpler is better. The chicken stock gives a great flavor boost without a ton of other ingredients. I added two medium carrots, finely chopped carrots which I sauteed with the onion in the first cooking step. I liked the flavor that the crushed red pepper and hot sauce added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

    • on February 12, 2010

      I loved it! I let it cook about 30min longer to get a thicker consistency without needing to puree it. I didn't add the milk since I thought it didn't need it. It was great, especially the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This was delish, TIsh;)! I did decrease the onions per the reviews. I decreased the liquid to 6 cups but then added another cup. I did not add any milk. I like a thicker consistency. The only bad thing is that I wish I had doubled the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Thanks Tish, for publishing this recipe. I made the soup for dinner last night; accompanied only by a nice French Bread loaf. Terrific. I doubled the ingredient amounts so we would have leftovers. I'm glad I did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Easy and tasty. Thanks for sharing. I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      I made this this evening and had the majority of my family raving, with the exception of the 2 year old. lol Even the boy, who seems to think that he's allergic to vegetables, LOVED it! My thanks, as well, for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Split Pea Soup & Ham

    Serving Size: 1 (752 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 568.8
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    15%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 1543.8 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 30.3 g
    121%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 40.7 g
    81%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes