136 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good soup! I made this when my in-laws visited (6 adults) and they all enjoyed the soup! A few things to note for people concerned about the thickness of the soup. After the peas are soft enough to your liking, turn off crock pot, leave open about 15-20mins. Soup will thicken upon standing. If you keep cooking the coup after the peas are soft the soup will darken. There are a few comments about the soup being dark, this is because it was over cooked. Only changes I made was using an extra carrot and stalk of celery. Next time I will use a couple more carrots per personal taste (we love carrots in our soup!). Thank you for a great recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenisinchina December 30, 2011

Terrific soup. Just terrific. I didn't have any ham in the freezer, but did put a nice big pork shoulder bone in the pot so got some great flavor from that. I like nice thick pea soup so I only used a quart of water, and I cooked it on high until the peas disintegrated. Absolute perfection. I'm looking forward to taking it for lunches this week. Thanks a mil.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. June 05, 2010

Followed this exactly, and let me tell you, what a soup! This was terrific, and you have the reviews to prove it too! I also used left-over spiral ham ~ with large ham bone. I almost didn't even need anything else but the bone, ham, and peas. This is a real gem, and you should try it! Made for Diabetic Healthy Month! 2012

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm January 03, 2012

LOVE this recipe! Seriously some of the best pea soup I've ever had! When I make it I halve the salt (1 tb is too much) and I use a ham hock instead of the diced ham. When the soup is ready I just pull the hock out and add shred some of the meat off of it to add back to the soup. One thing to note is the soup does come out quite thick. I'm planning to add extra stock the next time I make it... we shall see how it turns out! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nashira January 03, 2010

I've made this many times. I usually make if after buying a spiral cut ham and serving that for dinner. The left over ham on the bone I boil off and use with this soup. I actually sometimes get more than 2 cups of ham in the soup and it's even better :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JacksonRoykirk May 03, 2009

Incredible taste!!! As we have no crock pot, it was really easy to make it in Redmond multi cooker, the time of cooking was about 2 hours!!! We all loved the soup, thanks for one more nice recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nitochka F. January 01, 2015

Thank you for this wonderful simple recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela0322 October 26, 2014

This was absolutely wonderful and so easy! I used chicken broth, a smoked ham shank and diced ham, halved the salt and added a little thyme. After 8 hours I removed the shank, trimmed and added to the soup. I did chop the celery and carrots in my food processor, just a personal preference for a creamy soup. The consistency was perfect, just thick enough. <br/>No more soaking the beans overnight, simmering for 2 hours, adding the next ingredient etc...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bwigstrom February 05, 2014

This is super good. I have attempted to make split pea soup several times and they just never come out right, until now. I would have to say this is the best split pea soup I have ever had. I used left over spiral sliced had and through in the bone too. I used broth, which I am sure makes much better flavor than just water. I also cooked it on high for 6 hours.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZJAY February 19, 2013

A wonderful soup..My whole family loves it..and it's easy peasy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TiVoAteMyBaby January 05, 2013
Split Pea Soup (Crock Pot) - Dairy Free