Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Split Pea 'n Ham Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Split Pea 'n Ham Soup

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2011

      As described, the soup was quite bland. I added: cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes, garlic, rosemary, and sage. Much better! I made it on the stove and it was ready after about 1 hour of simmering.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      Hubby and I had a beautiful spiral ham on the bone,so we didnt use hamhocks,didnt have marjoram so we had to skip it this time,we doubled this recipe using half water and half chicken stock brought it all up to a boil on stovetop and then turned it down to a low simmer for 4 hours exactly,we also added a good tablespoon of minced garlic at the begining of simmering,this is one of those recipes where simplicity is purely the best!! This pea soup came out SPECTACULAR!! Hubby,my visiting Mom and I had it for supper last night and for lunch today,We all enjoyed it tremendously,this was quite easy to prepare,the flavor & thickness was pure perfection and simply delicious!!! Super YUMMYYYYY pea soup!!!! Thanks for posting it!!! Debbie :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      This is my husband's favorite version of Split Pea we have ever found. He prefers it to his mother's even! My kids say, "Mmmmm" with each bite. We love the thickness of it. Typically we use the yellow split peas in our home. Turns out delicious every time. THANKS for a great recipe we return to often following the holidays to use up our leftover ham bone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      I loved this soup. It was full of flavor and will definately be my split pea soup recipe. The only thing I changed was the cooking method. Instead of a crop pot, I cooked it in a pot, first bringing everything to a full boil then I reduced the temperature to med-low, covered, and let simmer for just a little over two hours. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      My husband grew up on this recipe and now we both love it! I use cubed ham as well instead of the hock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Wonderful! Cubed a chunk of ham (about 2 cups) instead of using a hock, and subbed oregano for marjoram. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Really excellent! I added a vegetable bouillon cube to the liquid for a bit more flavor. Freezes well, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This was a lovely soup. I was not able to cook in a crock pot, so I simmered away on the stove. Consequently, I had to turn off the soup when the split peas became soft, remove the ham hocks to another pan, add some chicken stock & water, and simmer those until they started to fall off the bone. Then I added it all back to the soup. Still, it tasted wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I really enjoyed this soup. Put it in the crock before attending a football game and came home to a heavenly aroma and soup awesome soup! Only difference is that my ham hock was a lot more than 1.5 lbs, so mine is pretty "hammy". Which is certainly ok with my family. Sooo easy to make. It's already in my keeper file. Thanks Hazeleyes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Very good--reminds me of the split pea soup we used to eat back home. I love being able to make it in the crockpot. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      Thankyou Pixie! This was so easy & wonderful! I used the left over ham bone from Christmas to make this. Put the crockpot on low before going to work & came home to a yummy hot dinner. I did skip the salt because we found was pretty salty already so it turned out perfectly for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      5 thumbs up! The only difference was that I made this in the pressure cooker and "blind timed" 15 mins after the hat stood up! and it turned out so very awesome ! Just two shots of tobasco for flavour is perfect! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      Excellent and easy! Followed recipe exactly and easily got 6 two cup servings. DD enjoyed it as did I... tho I added a little Tabasco chipotle sauce for a bit of a zing. (Taste buds are dying off in my old age, don't you know! *lol*) Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      I don't know how something so basic can taste so wonderfully, but it does. And sooo easy. I added a couple of bay leaves but otherwise made it just as written. Terrific, Hazeleyes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      so easy and delicious!!!!! my family loved it.thank you.also if you double recipe dont forget to double water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      Very good, very simple. Followed recipe but used low sodium chicken stock and skipped the salt. Mine was ready in 4 hrs on high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      Really good soup, just the right thickness. I did this stove top and used some ham slices I had instead of the ham hocks. Worked perfectly, thanks Hazeleyes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      This was wonderful! I used the stove top to cook the soup and simmered it for about two hours. I used chicken broth in place of the water so I omitted the salt. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      This is dfinitely a favorite of mine, although I'm a bit biased seeing as I'm the blue-eyed daughter of Hazeleyes (who submitted this recipe)!! I enjoyed it all growing up. It's great on a cold winter night, and even better the next day!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Split Pea 'n Ham Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (399 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.2
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    22%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 653.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.7 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 31.4 g
    125%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 28.9 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes