23 Reviews

GREAT! I had a ham bone left over from Christmas in my freezer, and seeing NoraMarie's pictures of this recipe, I knew I had to make it. It is great. I omitted the 1/2 tsp. salt in the recipe, since I had tasted my ham and it was salty. DH has arthritis and has to watch sodium. I added a can of Hominy, which I absolutely love in my pea soup. What intrigued me the most was the oregano in here. What a great touch. I would have never thought of putting that in pea soup. Oh, and I left out the celery by accident. I had DH go to the store and didn't put that on the list. Still good without it. Thanks for this great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin January 17, 2010

Soooo yummy! I used the ham bone from Easter (I forgot to review since then) and did just as the recipe says. I froze most of it, since I couldn't eat it all my myself, and gave some to my parents. My mom LOVED it and I am STILL loving it, a month later. I just take it out of the freezer, let it thaw in the fridge and it is perfect with a sanwich for lunch. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimboleyanne May 04, 2010

We love Split Pea and Ham soup and this was a wonderful tasting soup indeed. Great way to use up that left over ham bone.This recipe wll be found in my favorites file. Thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 February 11, 2010

Wow, what an easy soup. A little bit time consuming, but ingredients everyone would have! I sauteed my onions and fresh garlic before I added the water and peas and I used fresh smoked bacon which I cubed insead of the ham bone/ham. This soup is SO good, perfect for a cold day. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delishdish September 30, 2009

This is by far and away the best split pea soup recipe that I have ever prepared! I increased the chicken stock to make the soup "soupier" A couple of cautions tho, watch salt from the ham you use, and I would suggest that if you use chicken stock, pick low sodium type so you can control the saltiness. I like it salty but other people you serve might not.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Max Thames April 06, 2009

Can't believe I haven't reviewed this already. Have made it three times@ This is one of the best split pea soup recipes I have ever had. Have made it both on the stove and in my crockpot with equally good results. Thanks for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaD July 21, 2006

This is the same classic recipe I have been using since 1960's when I found it in an old 19th C. New England Cookbook. I have never used oregano but I use Thyme instead. I also use a lot of black pepper and I make it thick like porridge. It is also good with smoked shoulder which is basically ham anyways. Since I use little to no fat in mine, I add some butter when I serve it. I have also made it with the Goya Ham flavored bouillon powder packets, it is very hammy tasting. I have never tried it without the ham but some folks like that too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bpd2222 September 24, 2015

Well the votes are in & the tummys are full. I've made many batches of Split Pea Soup, but this is the best recipe ever. I know I will be making this again. But after my husband has been going back throughout the night for 3rds & 4ths there won't be much for left overs. Simply Delicious . Thanks for sharing this wonderful soup, it's a keeper .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olliebears Mom January 28, 2013

Yes!! It was wonderful just as written! (It was yummy with a dollop of non-fat yogurt plopped in the middle of my bowl too!) Thanks for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making January 09, 2013

Yummy! Wanted to make a good home-made split pea soup, hambone and all.... this is where i wound up! thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes December 27, 2011
Split Pea and Ham Soup