9 Reviews

Sorry to disagree with all but one reviewer here, but I must suggest that this recipe, especially the recipe's Ingredients List, is incorrect. Splenda's own recipe for meringues calls for 4 eggs, not 2, and only 1/4 t. of Cream of Tartar, not 1/2 t. It also calls for 1 t. vanilla extract, but no salt at all. The baking time and temperature are also different. I have made the recipe printed here, and agree with another reviewer that the texture is incorrect for meringue, and the nasty aftertaste comes from way too much Cream of Tartar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Old Gray Grammy December 31, 2010

I have also been going through a meringue phase, and I use my great aunt's tried and true technique...preheat oven to 350, put meringues in and then turn off oven and let sit undisturbed for 5 hours. Makes the outside of them glossy and crunchy. Also, I use 1 teaspoon of vinegar or lemonjuice instead of cream of tartar and it works very well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gitju February 19, 2010

I'd never made meringues before, but I managed to get these to come out really well! I used a bit of orange zest and orange juice (the acid of which probably helped stabilize the meringues as well, like lemon juice is often used to) to try to get an orange flavor on them (really just because there was an orange on my counter that needed eaten, LOL). The flavor wasn't too strong though it smelled terrific--mostly was a marshmallow-ish plain flavor. Ditto for when I used a small amount of cocoa powder--you'll need a significant amount of flavoring to overpower the Splenda, I think. Still, no problems with beating it up or them staying fluffy in the oven. Some of mine cracked a bit, but that's mostly an aesthetic issue and not one that concerned me. Very pleased with this recipe--it's very good for low-carbers, as it's essentially pure protein but in a dessert form!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Asystole October 27, 2009

Try eliminating the cream of tartar and adding a teaspoon of lemon juice. Linda Kay

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Linda Kay July 02, 2005

I had such high hopes for these as meringues are my current obsession. But there was not only a weird after taste but also the texture was wrong. The batter looked like regular meringues when I put them in the oven, but they did not bake up light and crisy at all. I threw them out. Sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit January 12, 2004

Tastes pretty good. Took me a couple tries to get it right. At first I wasnt sure how long to beat for it to be 'thick and glossy' so once I thought they were thick enough I tried and it spread and the cookies were flat. The 2nd time I tried it but I doubled the recipe, which doesnt work with the 350-degree, leave in the oven method. A great idea- when folding in vanilla, swirl in a couple drops of food coloring. It gives you color streaks that look really neat and kids will love them! Helped me to get my young son to try them, little kids can be wary of the new!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaseysospacey May 16, 2010

I thought these would be a great light treat...my daughter is always begging me to buy meringues at the store but they are so full of sugar. I don't like the aftertaste of the Splenda at all...I used Splenda brand sweeter, not one of the noname ones. I had the same problem as a previous review...they looked awesome when I put them in the oven, nice and high and shiny when I put them in the oven. When the timer went off they fell and were flat on the sheet. I might try these again and use an alternative flavor than vanilla....I really want them to work for my diabetic grandma. Maybe the cocoa will stabilize it a bit more and peppermint.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn July 02, 2009

A wonderful sweet treat. I followed the recipe and added the cocoa powder. This is such an easy recipe to prepare. Next time I make these wonderful treats, I am going to make peppermint. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev. E. May 04, 2008

These made a nice, light snack with tea. I used cherry extract and red food color. They did have a slight Splenda taste, and I think I will try again using less Splenda and more extract. I made them as directed, but will try the hint left by Linda. Not sure what that will do. Also looking forward to trying with cocoa. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey May 06, 2007
splendid splenda meringues