Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach With Pine Nuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach With Pine Nuts

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2013

      A nice twist on plain spinach. I used less salt and toasted the pine nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      Delicious!! I added quite a bit more garlic and added a pad of butter also. Loved the pine nuts and red pepper flakes. Made for Zaar's Newest Star Tag Game 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      Wonderful preparation for spinach! Loved all that garlic and for me the best part was the kick from the red pepper flakes. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      Made this for Let's PARTY 2011 tag game...delicious. I followed the instructions (except cut the salt way back) and served this with Wasabi Grilled Tuna#9773 and Asian Pasta Salad#137204.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Fabulous way to enjoy my favourite leafy green. The pine nuts and garlic gave it great flavour, I didn't even bother with the red pepper flakes. I think you have to be a little cautious with the salt, I know I didn't use the full 1/2 tsp (probably a 1/4 tsp) and it ended up being just right - that's personal preference though. I used the spinach in a simple rice tortilla wrap with hummus, very tasty. Thanks Breezermom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Loved it. Increased the garlic and spinach. Perfect instructions and taste. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Unfortunately, this didn't work out for us. The 1/2 t salt ended up being much too much after the spinach wilted down. And the water was never absorbed. I would make again with 1/8 t salt and no water. Thank you for a good starting place Breezermom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Delicious, i also left out the red pepper flakes but otherwise made as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      A great tasting, super quick to fix side dish. I skipped the pepper flakes because I paired it with a spicy chicken dish. What a lovely and easy way to get those leafy greens into your diet. Mine was ready in 5 mins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Spinach is one of my favourite veggies and pine nuts are such a treat. I halved the recipe and only used 1 teaspoon of olive oil. Personally, I think I would skip the hot pepper flakes next time because they were a little bit too hot for me. Loved it! I served this with Mustard Garlic Pork Tenderloin and mashed potatoes. Made for Everyday'a a Holiday. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      I used frozen spinach, only used one and a half cloves of garlic, instead of red pepper flakes I used a squeeze of fresh lemon (as my family isn't a fan of spicy foods at all) and at the end of cooking I stirred through some shredded parmesan. It was absolutely delicious!! Both my 5 and 6 year wanted second servings plus more!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      I used malabar spinach and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      This was good. I used frozen chopped spinach and, of course, it was not the same as fresh, etc. However, I still liked it. Great side dish without a side of guilt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      all my favorite ingredients this couldn't possible be anything else but wonderful, I added in some Parmesan cheese at the end of cooking, and used chicken broth in place of the water, also I increased the olive oil, thanks for sharing breezer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      The red pepper flakes! The pine nuts! The garlic--plenty of garlic! Yes! This all combines to turn good old spinach into a real flavor treat. Great side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      If you love spinach, you'll love this recipe! And from reading the earlier reviews, it sounds as if this recipe has also converted some non-greens-eaters to greens! In making this, I omitted the red pepper flakes and added some cumin in its place - personal taste preferences which include zero tolerance of anything hot and spicy. But I otherwise made this exactly to the recipe and wouldn't want to change or add anything; and because it's just SO easy to make and SO quick to make, I'll certainly be making it again. The amount of garlic was just right for us, and I loved the inclusion of the pine nuts. Thank you for sharing this recipe; made for Everyday is a Holiday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Loved this! I had some leftover bagged spinach from another recipe and some pine nuts wasting away. This was very good. The red pepper flakes was a great addition! Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      We LOVED this!!!!! Hubby said, "Now THAT'S the way to make spinach!!!" The garlic and red pepper flakes gives it a nice punch that really compliments the spinach. Great recipe, Breezermom!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Loved it. As stated in earlier reviews, I will no longer pass up greens at the store. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      This was just wonderful!! I LOVED it. I bet if you cooked your front lawn like this, IT would even taste good! This was totally new to me. I think I am now feeling brave enough to try "greens"! It is going to difficut for me to pass up the spinach at the store now. Or to try it in other recipes. Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful, delicious recipe. This is going in my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach With Pine Nuts

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.0
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    76%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 717.3 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites