30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are excellent! Even my non spinach eaters liked these. Thanks for a great recipe! Editing to add: I have successfully made and frozen these for OAMC. I assemble up to step 8. I then place on a baking sheet and place in freezer until firm. Then transfer to a freezer bag and seal. To cook them, I thaw in the fridge overnight and then top with remaining cheese and bake as directed.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JillAZ March 12, 2008

Excellent - I have made a simlar potato without the spinach. This was a really nice change. I omitted the milk and used fresh spinach - very nice

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovenest February 06, 2004

Geema, these are wonderful. I fixed them last weekend while having a guest and served them with Filet Mignon in Merlot Sauce and a salad. Fantastic, we'll have them again and again. For years my husband would not hear of me fixing spinach, but once he tasted the "real" thing, versus school cateria stuff, he loves it. Thanks for an excellent recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tampacountess January 21, 2004

Absolutely wonderful! The texture and flavor of these potatoes was fabulous. I used Yukon Gold potatoes which are a bit moister than regular baking potatoes, and therefore omitted the milk while mashing. I also used fresh spinach that first steamed until wilted. I halved the recipe for just my hubby and I, but now wish that I would have doubled it and frozen the rest. These are so good. We love spinach and eat it often, but I never thought about adding it to twice baked potatoes. Good one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. January 16, 2004

Just awesome!! I had bought 3 really large baking potatoes and then followed the recipe. All the flavors were terrific. I baked the potatoes in the morning and did the filling when I got home from work. I will definately make more next time to freeze and the suggestion to use broccoli too is a great idea to try in the future. Great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 January 15, 2004

Okay... so, these are basically the best things ever. Just simply that- the best things ever. In any genre of "things." I only got to make 1 and one half batches of these before running out of potatoes, but you better belive that from now on my freezer will never be without these. They are perfect freezer food, and not too very unhealthy (Spinach cancels our unhealthiness of butter/sour cream, right????). I just cook them, frozen, straight from the freezer at 350F for perhaps 35 or 40 minutes and they are perfect. I love these, my boyfriend loves these, they are soooooo easy and fabulous. The first time I made these I was very concerned about the gooey, watery consistancy of the mashed potatoes before you add the spinach and cheese, however, once you add those two it becomes a much more familiar mashed potato consistancy. I've even considered making these with MORE spinach, but have not yet. I need to get more potatoes! MMMMM!!! Geema...I am not joking, I love you for posting this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie October 24, 2003

WOW! Dimitri (the kid who won't eat 'green'), gobbled up TWO potatoes. These were rich and cheesy and simply divine. Next time, I'm going to take Theresa's suggestion and make them with broccoli.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens October 05, 2003

Geema, these potatoes are SOooo delicious. We turly enjoyed them, what a good way to get people to eat there spianch. Will be making them for dinner guest soon. Thank you for another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz March 23, 2003

I had about 6 ounces of frozen Spinach and was looking for a way to use it, and came across this recipe. Except for using 3 potatoes,the recipe was made as written. Now I don't like spinach,but when it's mixed in with something as good as these potatoes I could eat it with no complaints. :)
Thank you for posting a very good recipe, and " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � December 07, 2012

Easy and delicious. I plan to make this again and will try freezing some for future use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos May 15, 2011
Spinach Twice Baked Potatoes