29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

SOOOO GOOD!!!!! <br/>I recommend fresh spinach. Plus, next time ill double spinach and mushrooms.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shananigin July 15, 2013

I wrapped the entire roll in applewood smoked thick cut bacon. I cooked the roll 50 minutes, removed the foil, turned the oven up to broil, and let the outer layer of bacon bake until brown. My DH loved it, my 1 1/2 year old daughter devoured it, and I savored every morsel. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MIZZMILA December 10, 2009

So moist and flavorful!!! I made this as directed but without the celery as we were out. I did find it a little difficult to roll and keep it's shape because the meat was so soft (next time I'll try using plastic wrap or parchment paper). It mattered not though, the taste is fabulous and we wouldn't change a thing. Even the drippings made a wonderful 'gravy', if you will. Thanks for sharing the recipe. ~Buddha

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu August 03, 2009

I followed the recipe exactly but did not enjoy the flavors at all. I could barely get down one small piece. I will not be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly9 June 03, 2009

We tried this over the weekend but didn't care for it. When I cooked the spinach by itself first and tried it, it was great! But after assembling the dish and cooking everything together, the flavors in the spinach and the flavors in the turkey loaf didn't work well together for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshPhile March 16, 2009

This was a very delicious dish. I made some minor changes, but nothing too substantial. For the filling, I omitted the green onion and celery. I used fresh mushrooms, three garlic cloves, and fresh spinach. For the outter layers, I didn't add the crushed garlic, just garlic powder. We also didn't add any extra salt. The outcome was great. Great on a sandwich the next day. My picky two-year-old even ate this with enthusiasm. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldbern January 09, 2009

I really liked this recipe…I am always looking for things to do with ground turkey, that won’t turn out like a hockey puck (LOL) The meat was moist, tender and flavorful. I used fresh spinach (only because I had it on hand) and instead of butter I used EVOO and Italian Bread Crumbs. The instructions are very clear and easy to follow, so the dish turned out fabulous. I also omitted the extra dash of salt, because the salt content in the other ingredients. I also love the technique here and can think of so many ways to ‘jump off’ from this recipe to make other goodies that are similar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHRISSYG December 11, 2008

DH, who is usually the picky eater, enjoyed this dish - however I wasn't impressed. The concept was wonderful, but the taste just so so. I THINK it could have been better with fresh spinach - or even like another reviewer had mentioned simply all mashed in together. Hmmm.... One thing worth trying again is the aluminum or wax paper idea - it looked absolutly beautiful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene October 05, 2008

I didn't make the "fancy" roll presentation. Just prepped the veges as described, and smooshed everything together, baking like ordinary meatloaf. Like others, halved the onion soup mix. Very tasty. Froze half the mixture to thaw and bake later - still yummy. Thx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower October 03, 2008

It was good. Hubby liked it which surprised me. I used fresh spinach so just cooked it a little longer to reduce the liquid. After reading the other reviews I only used half the package of onion mix and that seemed just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker September 25, 2008
Spinach Stuffed Turkey Roll Redone