Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Stuffed Shells With a Mushroom Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Stuffed Shells With a Mushroom Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2011

      This was delicious! The sauce was fabulous and really made the dish special. I followed the recipe as directed, but used some of the red wine I was going to serve for dinner in the sauce in place of the white.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      I made this for dinner last weekend and served with garlic bread and it was DIVINE! I made a few changes based on diet restrictions/ingredients on hand as follows: Used veggie broth vs. wine, used portabello mushrooms vs. shitake (I still soaked them in hot water to extract the yummy mushroom flavour though), left the egg out. Also I microwaved some butternut squash, carrots, celery, as well as roasted a red pepper over the stovetop (thank you Gas Stove!), and pureed these into the canned tomatoes before adding to the pan to cook as a sauce. I also added abt 2-4 tblspoons of tomato paste to heighten the tomato flavour. I must say the nutmeg flavour was so AMAZING! All in all, this recipe's a keeper and is going to be served at many dinner parties in the future : ) Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I make this and it is to die for...and is most delicious. Was married to an Italian and found it to be regional with the spices. This is a spectacular recipe and a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      These shells are awesome! I could hardly believe how good they were and that I made them! These should be called Houdini Shells, because they disappeared so fast :) Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I made this exactly as posted and my family and I loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      Was going to make a a ricotta cheese cake, but everyone went on a diet. Had lots of ricotta cheese to use up. These looked yummy, and they were!! Diet ha! everyone wanted 2nds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      This is wonderful--needs to be in your 5-star group. I have saved many of your recipes. You are one great cook! Gloria

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      For me, this was one of those one-quick-scan-of-the-ingredients and I knew I had to make it, and that I’d love it. I doubled the recipe, used fresh mushrooms, so didn’t need the water, but otherwise stuck to the recipe, which I rarely do. Great blend of flavours. Absolutely delicious, and everyone loved it! I’ll be making this again, I know. Meanwhile, it’s great to know there’s more meal in the freezer for another night. Thanks Rita: a great recipe to honour the Italian part of our 2005 Zaar World Tour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      Yummy! I used another stuffing recipe( Stuffed Shells (with Spinach and Cheese) #68415 ) and used dried Porcini as opposed to shiitake, and used cannelloni (sure i have spelt that wrong :P ) instead of shells (couldnt find shells :P )and it was amazing. My husband is a very fussy eater, who is Italian and only eats good quality food. This was a two thumbs up - rare - WELL DONE! Thanks for such a tasty sauce :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2005

    • on March 22, 2005

      This recipe has a lot of good things going for it. I really like stuffed shells, but rarely make them as they are time consuming. So the contest gave me an excuse to prepare them. The filling in these is really good, but for me the basil overpowered the sauce a tad. Other than that, I thought the sauce was okay; it thickened nicely, had lots of mushroms (yum), and baked well in the pan. I only ended up with enough of the cheese & spinach filling to stuff about 2/3 of the package of shells I had, but I do tend to overfill them. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      The title of this recipe should indeed be "Watch These Disappear". However, I can live with Spinach Stuffed Shells with a Mushroom Sauce, because chef, you have artfully applied your craft in developing a recipe that would evoke highest praise from the strictest Italian Mama. You successfully blended the herbs with nutmeg to ultimately, create a delicious "gourmetasania However, one small point, chef: Your instructions (8) and (14) clearly want us to season with salt and pepper, yet, these do not appear in the list of ingredients. The critical factors in determining whether or not I will attempt a recipe is the Sodium/salt factor. I believe to not include these in your list of ingredients is not good. In this instance, however, it is also, "not a bad thing", because of the small quantities (to taste). Congratulations, chef, and thank you for sharing your talent; you obviously have a "feel" for cooking.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      This is very good-it even has enough cheese to satisfy my tastes! I used fresh shiitake mushrooms, couldn't find dried here. The sauce has a really good Italian flavor. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      This had a lovely flavour. All the ingredients went together very well and everyone really enjoyed this dish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      Yummy! Everyone loved these tasty stuffed shells. I could not find shiitake mushrooms so I subbed brown mushrooms instead, I cut the water to 1/2 cups because the mushrooms did not have to be rehydrated. I made this casserole 1 day ahead and then baked for it supper the next night. I'm sure this recipe would work well for OAMC and when I try it I will add my comments. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Stuffed Shells With a Mushroom Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (821 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1438.5
     
    Calories from Fat 511
    35%
    Total Fat 56.7 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 30.0 g
    150%
    Cholesterol 262.7 mg
    87%
    Sodium 678.0 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 155.2 g
    51%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 70.0 g
    140%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crushed tomatoes

    pecorino romano cheese

    nutmeg

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites