8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good and very simple to prepare. Everyone enjoyed it but I will use a stronger flavored cheese next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimbauer1 June 07, 2009

This was so easy to prepare and really quite good. I normally don't like portabellos but DH brought home a huge box from Costco so I turned to Zaar and found this recipe. I always keep frozen spinach on hand as well as assorted cheeses so I gave the recipe a try. Guess what, I now like portobello mushrooms. The ingredients worked so well together! I will definitely make this again! Thanks for converting me, Kevin. C C

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cucina Casalingo August 13, 2008

Made this when we had an out of town guest, and everyone loved it. Followed as written except used a mozzarella/provolone mix. Simple to make and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gadgetgirl Sara December 06, 2006

This is an easy, creative recipe using those earthy, Portobello mushrooms. The spinach and cheese filling was good. Nice texture and very pleasing eye appeal. Thank you for sharing your recipe. Definately a recipe that could be used many different ways.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie May 15, 2006

UPDATED: Can make stuffing in advance and freeze using a vacuum sealer. Made these again for Thanksgiving dinner, but I froze the stuffing in the mushrooms. They froze well, but the mushrooms do not defrost well. They shrunk half the size in thickness, will freeze again, but will use fresh mushrooms the day of. Still a very good recipe for an appetizer or side dish. Very good recipe! DH & I scarfed up 4 of them. Only change I made was to use Asiago instead of Parmesan cheese in the stuffing mix and sprinkled parmesan over the top prior to baking. Also, was making them along with "Oven-Fried Garlic Chicken (#83561)" and baked them for 30 minutes @ 350 degrees. These were so good and looked very impressive that I may make them again for my holiday appetizer meal for DH's family. Thanks Kevin for a simply wonderful side dish! BTW, posted a pic, hope you don't mind.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippie1 November 26, 2004

These were excellent. I made them exactly to recipe and the only problem I had was ending up with what I thought was way too much stuffing for 6 medium mushrooms. I used it all, but would like it even better if the stuffing was less thick. I guess it may be that what you call medium I may call large. In any case, when I make this again I'll use the same size mushrooms and either half the filling or double the mushrooms. The flavor was wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina April 11, 2004

Made this for company last night. It is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as is except used an Italian blend of shredded cheese and used just a tad more. Looks great and really impressed my guests~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PAT COWDEN December 24, 2003

I started out thinking I would try this recipe, but I tweaked here and there and ended up with something quite different. I had two mushrooms which I destemmed and scraped with a spoon, leaving just a rim of the gills around the edge. I trimmed the stem of the woody bits and chopped it up with some garlic, which I then sauteed briefly in rosemary olive oil with S&P and a bayleaf. This mixture also got some dried oregano and fresh parsley. I added this to the egg, cheese, and spinach mixture primarily because I was using unflavored panko rather than seasoned breadcrumbs. Although I had just the two mushrooms, I used half a package of spinach and both eggs. I added extra parm on top and broiled briefly after the 20 minutes cooking time. By the time it was all cooked up, it made a kind of little quiche in the mushroom cap. I "carved" the mushrooms in almost 1/2" slices and fanned them out over some roasted garlic smashed potatoes. It was very pretty and completely delicious; thank you for the inspiration.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Travis December 03, 2003
Spinach Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms.