27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a really easy dish to prepare and I especially liked the light taste of the spinach. I used frozen spinach though instead of fresh, since that's what I had on hand. I microwaved if for half the time required, then stirred it and squeezed out the excess water. The mushrooms were left out because those weren't on hand either. But other than that there were no other changes made in the ingredients. 25 minutes to bake the chicken was not quite enough, as the inside was still pink, so I baked it an additional 25 minutes. This left the chicken a little dry, so I think maybe 35-40 minutes total would have been enough. It was still a tasty & filling dish though. I served it with a green salad and corn-on-the cob.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulette January 09, 2003

I loved this recipe! It is a great way to spice up plain chicken. Next time I will add a little parmesan cheese to the filing. Like other reviewers, the dish took 35 minutes to cook at 350 - not 25 as stated in the recipe. The biggest chicken breast actually took about 40 minutes to fully cook through. Eating the leftovers tonight! Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MWarren October 19, 2007

This was a very delicious and easy meal to prepare. I laid out all of the ingredients and had it the oven in less than 10 minutes. My husband was very delighted that I've found a new way to prepare chicken, his favorite dish. We also had a fresh salad and acorn squash. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marysmules October 27, 2003

I really liked this recipe and will definitely try it again. I%u2019m lazy and don%u2019t usually like to spend too much time with food prep, but it was worth it. If you don%u2019t think you can make it, just try it. 5 stars despite the following changes that I made: I used a 10oz frozen pack of spinach and didn%u2019t pay close attention to the proportions of the spices but that didn%u2019t seem to be an issue. I increased the amount of garlic, because I appreciate the garlic taste. It was not overpowering at all. I added some lemon zest and juice from half a lemon. I used a pan to pound the chicken and that was fine. Instead of using parmesan cheese for the crust, I put some slices of Monterey jack on top of the spinach and that really pulled it together but didn%u2019t necessarily add flavor- mainly texture. Since I didn%u2019t have butter, I used smart balance and that worked out just fine. It took me much longer than 12 minutes of preptime. I put the oven on 350 for 30 minutes and they were perfectly cooked. Perfect food for a dinner party!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XPICTHNA February 08, 2013

I just had this tonight, I made it just as the recipe said. It was easy to make and the taste was very good. It took 35 minutes til 165* internal temp, the time will differ from how thick the meat is, not a big deal. My wife said it was a keeper and I can make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill#2395 March 24, 2011

Pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trinityla March 05, 2011

Absolutely delicious - my whole family loved it! I will make this again and again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShelliCanCook April 01, 2010

I really liked this a lot. I used frozen spinach because that was all I had and also didn't have any mushrooms (though I'm sure they would have made this even better!). I butterflied my chicken breasts horizontally instead of pounding them out because it was quicker (and I don't have a mallet). These turned out very moist and juicy. I'm sure I'll make these again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo September 04, 2009

Fabulous! I made it exactly as directed and everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
No Destination June 09, 2009

i used this recipe and substituted brocolli for the spinach... it was very good, but could have used cheese... i will try it again with the cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WidgetSS23 November 08, 2008
Spinach Stuffed Chicken