165 Reviews

Have made this with Musclan lettuce, spinach. I have candied the pecans. I always add Feta cheese crumbles. I have also substituted craisins when the strawberries are not at their best. It is also good with sliced fresh pears and a balsmic vinegar dressing. I admit to never making my own but always purchase a good raspberry vinegrette and it is always a huge hit. I always add the vinegrette at the very last minute and it does save on the salad dressing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kstor1 September 08, 2009

My boss makes this salad and had given me this recipe but I misplaced it before I could try it. When I came across this I decided to try it, made it tonight and it was fantastic! For the salad I mixed romaine lettuce with baby spinach leaves and since I don't like pecans I added sliced almonds. I couldn't find raspberry vinegar so I used red wine vinegar, omitted the poppy seeds and used an emulsion blender. It was fantastic. I'm taking leftovers to work with grilled chicken for lunch tomorrow. I can't wait!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Criolla April 21, 2009

So so good...I had put it together few months ago and have not stopped making it regularly. But for the first time, I ended up using Raspberry Vinegar...since I never used to have it before...and boy...what a difference! I still don't have dry mustard...so I use regular mustard and yummmm... This salad is always requested at all family gatherings now...no matter what the menu :) Thank you so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vadapao September 28, 2008

This was very good, the dressing ets 5 stars (I did get to use my own raspberry inegar that I canned in the summer). I did change a few things though. I added feta cheese and a bunch of green onions. And the dressing I used canola oil instead (better fats). The dressing is wonderful, and the salad is great. You could make the dressing all by itself for other salads too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cynthia912 February 29, 2008

the salad and the dressing were wonderful! Thanks. During the winter when strawberries aren't in season, I used pomegranate seeds instead of strawberries.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sue ishi February 16, 2007

I have this exact same recipe...it's one of my favorites! This salad is also great with mandarin oranges in addition to the strawberries or alone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Fancy* August 17, 2003

I have wanted to try this recipe for awhile. I'm glad i finally did. this is an excellent salad, that my husband and i really loved. will definitely make this again. this time i will try it with frozen strawberries that i have in the freezer. thanks Charlotte J for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melsmom August 15, 2003

I hate to be the party pooper here, but I didn't absolutely love this the way many of you did. I thought the dressing was much too sweet and sugary. It is unique though, and certainly a conversation piece.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SolightlyUK July 29, 2003

I rarely give five stars, but this is worth it. Used balsamic instead, reduced sugar to a tbs of Equal, and threw in toasted slivered almonds because pecans are not my favorite nut. Fantasticalness!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren June 29, 2003
Spinach Strawberry Salad