165 Reviews

This got rave reviews at my dinner party this weekend. Everyone loved it. I changed nothing - but I did make the dressing a day early and let it sit overnight to allow the flavors to mesh. Wonderful salad - I'm already being requested to make it again.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
basia1 October 22, 2002

This recipe is GREAT. Not only was it the simplest strawberry spinach salad I've made but also the best. I did use Splenda instead of sugar and honey roasted sliced almonds (found in the fruit and vegetable section of the grocers)so this salad took about 5 minutes to make.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janis Eschbach March 18, 2003

Love this salad! I have always been used to the spinach and raspberry combination, which is also delicious. I made this for a special dinner for my husband and his friends at a Ducks Unlimited dinner and he said they all raved over it! Thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy W88 February 23, 2003

WOW Charlotte, this salad was a hit with my family and I'm already planning on when to make it for company. The only changes I made was to substitute sliced almonds for the pecans, because of our preference, and for the dressing, I used about half of the oil that you listed. This was SO delicious, I never thought a combo of spinach and strawberries with a raspberry vinaigrette dressing would work, but it DOES! Thanks so much for this recipe, I can't wait to share it with others!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude May 06, 2003

This recipe is an instant hit...I found a recipe to make my own raspberry vinegar as I could not purchase it locally. Well worth the effort.Very easy to make!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubnkris June 16, 2003

I loved this recipe. I didn't have all the ingredients and substituted some but if it was that good with subs I'm sure it was excellent as written. I used balsamic vinegar added 4 fresh raspberries, 1 teaspoon of yellow mustard, two packs of truvia and a little honey then emulsified with a hand blender. I also added toasted almond slivers since I didn't have any pecans. It was great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kadenj August 31, 2010

Excellent salad and would be perfect for those hot days. I must admit I used a bottled raspberry vinegarette dressing cause I was pressed for time and we dont like poppy seeds. I used baby spinach. Love the hint of the egg slicer for the strawberries. Thanks for posting

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine June 04, 2003

Winner Winner!! We LOVED this salad. I had to make it 2 days in a row we loved it so much! The only changes I made were suggestions from other reviewers. I used 1/2 bag spinach, and 1/2 bag of mixed greens (spring mix). I added a whole container of feta cheese, and lastly, I bought raspberry vinegarite salad dressing instead of making my own. My husband turned his nose up as he saw the bottle, thinking he is not going to like it.. WRONG!!! He loved it, as did I. The Raspberry Vinagirette dressing ties all the ingredients together.. I think some crumble bacon added would be be good too!! Anyway, thank you for posting. We loved it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wife2uRick April 14, 2010

YumYumYum! Made a few substitutions (stuck in 32" of snow, ugh): Craisins for the strawberries, red wine vinegar for the raspberry RWV, and canola oil for the vegetable oil. I did add feta cheese and the combination of flavors and textures was amazing! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anovamom February 09, 2010

I made this with toasted walnuts as I didn't have pecans. I took it to a dinner party and everyone loooved it! BTW - had to sub red wine vinegar for the rasp. red wine vinegar and the dressing was great this way too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 September 30, 2009
Spinach Strawberry Salad