23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very much enjoyed. As suggested by other posters, I added some salt and pepper. I too was a bit confused whether to use b-powder or soda. in the end using the baking powder made the most logical sense. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama August 29, 2010

I thought this was pretty bland, also kind of eggy tasting. I think maybe some swiss cheese would have been good to throw in there. Not sure, but this was missing something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Reef February 26, 2011

Nothing special. Kind of flavorless. I read the reviews and saw that other people also had this issue so I added some salt, pepper, garlic powder, and italian seasonings but clearly I didn't add enough. I used baking powder. I would not make again. Sorry..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HocoRuco November 10, 2010

I used fresh spinach from the garden, Pepper Jack cheese, baking powder not soda, and Salsa over the top when served added to the flavor. I like the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn Lancaster June 19, 2010

Quite tasty and a unique way to serve spinach. The squares reminded me kind of a yorkeshire pudding with spinach in it. I would have been happier if it had raised higher, it was a bit on the heavy side but did taste good. I used baking powder, you might want to fix the recipe ingredients list. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf May 09, 2010

A yummy side dish! I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder, and used 1 c. panko instead of flour and baking powder (not clear if it's supposed to be powder or soda).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim C. January 31, 2010

This really does deserve 4 1/2 stars. I made it in two 8" round pans, baking for 25 minutes and cut it immediately. The reason for only four starts is that it bland. A little parsley and garlic powder would probably go a long way in this recipe. Thank you for posting, Joy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogsandwoods October 05, 2009

I absolutely love this. It is so easy to throw together and the leftovers reheat really well. I have made it twice this week using lots of fresh spinach, lowfat cheese, ground flaxseed, whole wheat flour and egg whites but it still came out delicious! I love recipes like this because it tastes like you're eating something bad for you but with a few changes its actually a great way to add some vegetables to our diet. Thanks so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoscoBaby August 23, 2009

This is delicious. I used a little more than 8 oz of shredded cheese and omitted the butter. I baked in an 8x11 pan and it turned out fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis May 19, 2009

This is awesome!!! I made it with fresh spinach that I blanched first, (drained & lightly chopped) and I also used the baking powder. Would the baking soda be better? I don't know which is the better for this recipe. My hubby (the man who does not eat veggies) went back for seconds! Leftovers disappeared the next day! AWESOME! Served the leftovers with salsa dribbled over the top - yummy! Recipe should note to add some salt & pepper to taste. And you can definitely use less butter in the pan for cooking purposes :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Ann April 29, 2009
Spinach Squares