Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Squares

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2010

      Very much enjoyed. As suggested by other posters, I added some salt and pepper. I too was a bit confused whether to use b-powder or soda. in the end using the baking powder made the most logical sense. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      I thought this was pretty bland, also kind of eggy tasting. I think maybe some swiss cheese would have been good to throw in there. Not sure, but this was missing something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      Nothing special. Kind of flavorless. I read the reviews and saw that other people also had this issue so I added some salt, pepper, garlic powder, and italian seasonings but clearly I didn't add enough. I used baking powder. I would not make again. Sorry..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      I used fresh spinach from the garden, Pepper Jack cheese, baking powder not soda, and Salsa over the top when served added to the flavor. I like the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Quite tasty and a unique way to serve spinach. The squares reminded me kind of a yorkeshire pudding with spinach in it. I would have been happier if it had raised higher, it was a bit on the heavy side but did taste good. I used baking powder, you might want to fix the recipe ingredients list. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      A yummy side dish! I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder, and used 1 c. panko instead of flour and baking powder (not clear if it's supposed to be powder or soda).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This really does deserve 4 1/2 stars. I made it in two 8" round pans, baking for 25 minutes and cut it immediately. The reason for only four starts is that it bland. A little parsley and garlic powder would probably go a long way in this recipe. Thank you for posting, Joy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      I absolutely love this. It is so easy to throw together and the leftovers reheat really well. I have made it twice this week using lots of fresh spinach, lowfat cheese, ground flaxseed, whole wheat flour and egg whites but it still came out delicious! I love recipes like this because it tastes like you're eating something bad for you but with a few changes its actually a great way to add some vegetables to our diet. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      This is delicious. I used a little more than 8 oz of shredded cheese and omitted the butter. I baked in an 8x11 pan and it turned out fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      This is awesome!!! I made it with fresh spinach that I blanched first, (drained & lightly chopped) and I also used the baking powder. Would the baking soda be better? I don't know which is the better for this recipe. My hubby (the man who does not eat veggies) went back for seconds! Leftovers disappeared the next day! AWESOME! Served the leftovers with salsa dribbled over the top - yummy! Recipe should note to add some salt & pepper to taste. And you can definitely use less butter in the pan for cooking purposes :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      This recipe performed big time! That said, next time I make it (and there WILL BE a next time), I will use half the cheese and shred it, and use about half the butter. Oy, it's like butter and eggs with a little spinach thrown in. Who wouldn't love that? ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      My kids ate this spinach in massive quantities. They loved it! My husband even liked it! I prefer the taste of fresh spinach, so I used it. I just used a paper towel a couple of times to absorb extra moisture. Tasted even better as leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      This is one of my most requested recipes! Just a side note...I add a cup of Salsa when I want to add a little zing. Actually, everyone seems to prefer them with the Salsa. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Another great recipe that my granddaughter loves! I made this for a family dinner and it was very well recieved. I used the baking powder as others suggested. I do think it need a little more salt and pepper, even red pepper flakes. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

    • on April 29, 2008

      My son calls it the green stuff but he loves it. We are going to be making this a lot. Gonna add some bacon or ham next time. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      All I can say is "my kid actually ate a vegetable!!" Both she and I loved this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      Did anyone notice the ingredient list calls for baking soda but the directions refer to baking powder? I wonder what difference anyone has noted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      I've make this recipe for years - everyone loves it. The only difference is I use a teaspoon of baking powder instead of soda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      This is an excellent recipe. I have made it both with the spinich and with chopped broccoli. I did substitute cheddar cheese as suggested for the broccoli and it was just as good. Even people who aren't crazy about spinich, really like this dish. This is a nice side dish to serve for any occasion. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.2
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    58%
    Total Fat 24.1 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 154.7 mg
    51%
    Sodium 586.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 18.4 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes