16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What an interesting recipe! Made this last night and it was so easy to put together. Tasted wonderful...I will make this often!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper February 15, 2002

If you like spinach you will love this!!Super easy and fairly inexpensive to make!!I bet Olive Oil would like to make this one for Popeye!!I used canned spinach and it was delicious!!!Thanks for sharing!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crawfish pie May 02, 2002

I had some pork chops that I wanted to cook and I thought this would go well with it. I had never made a bread in my crockpot before. This was really good. It had a nice flavor. The kids ate the plain loaf of bread we had, but oh well, more for my hubby and I! I will keep this recipe and try it with baked chicken next time! Thank you for sharing!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cocoa February 22, 2002

What an easy way to make a veggi type side dish. Tasted wonderful, looked terrific and everyone loved it. Did it again Dorothy.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo June 06, 2002

This is absolutly delicious

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Morris April 12, 2002

This is a wonderful recipe, extremely flexible. Thank you Derf! I've been baking a number of the spoon bread recipes that use Jiffy Conn bread mix and I've made them now with a lot of variations...here's what I've learned about how incredibly flexible this is. I thought my notes might help someone if you're looking for a recipe and you think you don't have everything on hand. Casserole size, heat temp and method are all flexible: One, I did not do this in the crock pot...you can do this same recipe in the oven, about 30-45 minutes at 350. You can vary the oven temp if you're baking something else. I was in a hurry and did this spinach recipe in a 13 x 9 in 20 minutes, convection oven at 375. I even bumped it up the last 8 minutes to 425 becaue of my hurry, it turned out perfectly. Other times, I used a 9 x 9 and baked it longer and it turns out elegantly high. Even in the 13 x 9 it was almost 2" high. Obviously, if you can do this in a crockpot, you could also make this in a slow oven of about 275 if you wanted to time the outcome differently. If you don't have cottage cheese, use sour cream as in other spoon bread recipes. I had about 1/4 cup cottage cheese and did the rest in reduced fat sour cream. I never use real sour crean and can't taste the difference...Breakstone's Reduced Fat Sour Cream is incredible, no fillers....and I'm picky. I used 1/2 cup melted butter. I've never tried it with more, as I LOVE butter, but find this already to be plenty rich with 1/2 cup, so why make it more expensive and more caloric. Plus, some people like to actually put butter on the finished item at the table, so you can consider that, too. It's very yummy that way. I didn't have green onions, so I used about 1/4 finely chopped onions. I'd made spoon bread before with 2 eggs and 3 eggs, everything else staying the same, so I used 3 in this recipe and it was fine. I'm sure you could use 2 also. Actually, I used egg beaters to equal 3 eggs and other times I used real eggs, I cannot tell the difference in the final product. Most of the recipes call for some amount of creamed corn...15 oz or 8 oz per box of cornbead mix. Most also call for the same sized can of corn kernals (in addition to the creamed corn). I've never added that. But I have used both 15 oz and 8 oz cans of creamed corn per 8 1/2 oz mix, your outcome will be just slightly sweeter with the 15 oz can, otherwise I can't tell the difference. In this spinach recipe you're basically substituting the spinach and peppers in this recipe for the creamed corn and corn in the others, so this spinach recipe is not as sweet as written. I actually added an 8 oz can of creamed corn to the recipe, though and left out the red peppers. I didn't use seasoning salt. It doesn't really need any add'l salt in my mind. I do always add a dash of cayenne if I'm doing savory cooking, though. Chili Casserole Variation: Once I filled the 9 x 9 pan (a 3" deep) with leftover chili...about 2 cups worth, but it doesn't matter. I let that start warming up in the oven while I put this batter together...then I spooned the batter on top of the chili. The batter sunk right down through the chili and left a bit of chili floating on top...the baked result was very beautiful and delicious. I actually had more spoonbread to chili, so next time I might up it to 3 cups of chili if I have it. I added about 1 1/2 tsp onion powder to the spoon bread batter on that variation. Cheese Option: Lots of times I put some shredded cheese on the top. I did that with this spinach version and it was great, I used white cheddar. Once I tried putting it IN the spoon bread and I thought it was going to be SO good...and guess what, we couldn't even tell the difference. It wasn't sharp cheese, so maybe that would be worth a try. So far, I like it better on top where you can taste it...we thought it was kind of a waste of cheese IN the spoonbread...but give it a try and see what you think. Well, just thought I'd tell you about all the experimenting, because this is a very flexible and beautiful side dish. It's comfort food at it's best. By the way, the other spoon bread recipe that I've mostly used for all the variations I noted above is here on the Zaar: Corn Spoon Bread by Rosie, #130122 As written, her recipe calls for 8 oz of creamed corn, 8 of corn. Her pan size is 11 x 7...I haven't done that size yet, but as you can see, I'm sure it would be SUPER! My next try: mushrooms with spinach

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moramor January 29, 2008

I had major doubts that a bread could come out of a slow cooker. But it works! It really does! I put a clean tea towel over the slow cooker (under the lid) to keep moisture from settling on the bread. My slow cooker is a 5-1/2 quart oval. I cooked it on high for two hours.

I also used the Jiffy Copycat as a previous reviewer did (minus the vegetable oil and egg). The only modification I would make is that you need no more than a half cup of butter or oil. Next time I think I'll change of the seasonings and try a spanikopita spoon bread.

I served this with a roast chicken. I will use this recipe over and over since it was so simple to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PhoodPhight September 24, 2011

i was short on time so i did what another reviewer noted and put this in a 9X13 pan and stuck it in the oven. my whole family loved it - even my 10 yo foster son who said he "did not eat spinach"! thanks, Derf, for such a yummy and versatile recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eunjung March 02, 2011

fantastic and sooooo easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phyllis ullo October 19, 2003

I made this using Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat for the jiffy mix. I only had one egg left but it was enough to bind the mixture. Out of habit I added some garlic. When I make this again I'll add some parmesan or feta cheese, they go well with spinach. The nice thing about this recipe is that it tastes better the next day!Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka March 09, 2011
Spinach Spoon Bread - Crock Pot