Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Spoon Bread - Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Spoon Bread - Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2002

      What an interesting recipe! Made this last night and it was so easy to put together. Tasted wonderful...I will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      If you like spinach you will love this!!Super easy and fairly inexpensive to make!!I bet Olive Oil would like to make this one for Popeye!!I used canned spinach and it was delicious!!!Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2002

      I had some pork chops that I wanted to cook and I thought this would go well with it. I had never made a bread in my crockpot before. This was really good. It had a nice flavor. The kids ate the plain loaf of bread we had, but oh well, more for my hubby and I! I will keep this recipe and try it with baked chicken next time! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2002

      What an easy way to make a veggi type side dish. Tasted wonderful, looked terrific and everyone loved it. Did it again Dorothy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2002

      This is absolutly delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe, extremely flexible. Thank you Derf! I've been baking a number of the spoon bread recipes that use Jiffy Conn bread mix and I've made them now with a lot of variations...here's what I've learned about how incredibly flexible this is. I thought my notes might help someone if you're looking for a recipe and you think you don't have everything on hand. Casserole size, heat temp and method are all flexible: One, I did not do this in the crock pot...you can do this same recipe in the oven, about 30-45 minutes at 350. You can vary the oven temp if you're baking something else. I was in a hurry and did this spinach recipe in a 13 x 9 in 20 minutes, convection oven at 375. I even bumped it up the last 8 minutes to 425 becaue of my hurry, it turned out perfectly. Other times, I used a 9 x 9 and baked it longer and it turns out elegantly high. Even in the 13 x 9 it was almost 2" high. Obviously, if you can do this in a crockpot, you could also make this in a slow oven of about 275 if you wanted to time the outcome differently. If you don't have cottage cheese, use sour cream as in other spoon bread recipes. I had about 1/4 cup cottage cheese and did the rest in reduced fat sour cream. I never use real sour crean and can't taste the difference...Breakstone's Reduced Fat Sour Cream is incredible, no fillers....and I'm picky. I used 1/2 cup melted butter. I've never tried it with more, as I LOVE butter, but find this already to be plenty rich with 1/2 cup, so why make it more expensive and more caloric. Plus, some people like to actually put butter on the finished item at the table, so you can consider that, too. It's very yummy that way. I didn't have green onions, so I used about 1/4 finely chopped onions. I'd made spoon bread before with 2 eggs and 3 eggs, everything else staying the same, so I used 3 in this recipe and it was fine. I'm sure you could use 2 also. Actually, I used egg beaters to equal 3 eggs and other times I used real eggs, I cannot tell the difference in the final product. Most of the recipes call for some amount of creamed corn...15 oz or 8 oz per box of cornbead mix. Most also call for the same sized can of corn kernals (in addition to the creamed corn). I've never added that. But I have used both 15 oz and 8 oz cans of creamed corn per 8 1/2 oz mix, your outcome will be just slightly sweeter with the 15 oz can, otherwise I can't tell the difference. In this spinach recipe you're basically substituting the spinach and peppers in this recipe for the creamed corn and corn in the others, so this spinach recipe is not as sweet as written. I actually added an 8 oz can of creamed corn to the recipe, though and left out the red peppers. I didn't use seasoning salt. It doesn't really need any add'l salt in my mind. I do always add a dash of cayenne if I'm doing savory cooking, though. Chili Casserole Variation: Once I filled the 9 x 9 pan (a 3" deep) with leftover chili...about 2 cups worth, but it doesn't matter. I let that start warming up in the oven while I put this batter together...then I spooned the batter on top of the chili. The batter sunk right down through the chili and left a bit of chili floating on top...the baked result was very beautiful and delicious. I actually had more spoonbread to chili, so next time I might up it to 3 cups of chili if I have it. I added about 1 1/2 tsp onion powder to the spoon bread batter on that variation. Cheese Option: Lots of times I put some shredded cheese on the top. I did that with this spinach version and it was great, I used white cheddar. Once I tried putting it IN the spoon bread and I thought it was going to be SO good...and guess what, we couldn't even tell the difference. It wasn't sharp cheese, so maybe that would be worth a try. So far, I like it better on top where you can taste it...we thought it was kind of a waste of cheese IN the spoonbread...but give it a try and see what you think. Well, just thought I'd tell you about all the experimenting, because this is a very flexible and beautiful side dish. It's comfort food at it's best. By the way, the other spoon bread recipe that I've mostly used for all the variations I noted above is here on the Zaar: Corn Spoon Bread by Rosie, #130122 As written, her recipe calls for 8 oz of creamed corn, 8 of corn. Her pan size is 11 x 7...I haven't done that size yet, but as you can see, I'm sure it would be SUPER! My next try: mushrooms with spinach

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      I had major doubts that a bread could come out of a slow cooker. But it works! It really does! I put a clean tea towel over the slow cooker (under the lid) to keep moisture from settling on the bread. My slow cooker is a 5-1/2 quart oval. I cooked it on high for two hours.

      I also used the Jiffy Copycat as a previous reviewer did (minus the vegetable oil and egg). The only modification I would make is that you need no more than a half cup of butter or oil. Next time I think I'll change of the seasonings and try a spanikopita spoon bread.

      I served this with a roast chicken. I will use this recipe over and over since it was so simple to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      i was short on time so i did what another reviewer noted and put this in a 9X13 pan and stuck it in the oven. my whole family loved it - even my 10 yo foster son who said he "did not eat spinach"! thanks, Derf, for such a yummy and versatile recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2003

      fantastic and sooooo easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      I made this using Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix Copycat for the jiffy mix. I only had one egg left but it was enough to bind the mixture. Out of habit I added some garlic. When I make this again I'll add some parmesan or feta cheese, they go well with spinach. The nice thing about this recipe is that it tastes better the next day!Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I cooked this in the crock pot for a little longer than it required and WOW was this great! So creamy and rich. I love the flavor and texture of this dish. Its almost like a stuffing, but so moist! I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      It was simple and delicious! I took Moramor's suggestion and cooked it in the oven at 375. It was creamy and wonderful and even better the second day. I'm so glad I followed my intuition and separated the batter into dishes. It really helped us find the "stop!" point and not consume the whole thing for one meal...and we could have! I served it with baked fish. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      Mmmm, tasty, tasty, tasty!! I did not have red bell peppers, so I grated a carrot on a box grater and it worked perfectly! I'll have to double the recipe next time! Thank you Derf for a well rounded meatless dinner. UPDATE: I've made this again, this time substituting a small jar of diced pimentos. Tasty wonderfulness! (and no fuss!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Okay, this was really, really, really ridiculously good!! I've never made spoon bread before and you can bet your bottom dollar I'll be making this one again! So yummy....I could make a meal out of it. I didn't have a red bell pepper and couldn't find a 5 1/2 oz. box of cornbread mix. I used an 8 1/2 oz. box of yellow muffin mix (just the store brand) and used only 1 egg and omitted the seasoning salt for personal preferences. I also used only 1/2 cup butter. It turned out perfectly and was so good...thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      This was excellent.I only had a small amount of red pepper so i used mostly yellow. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      I cooked this in the crockpot on high for exactly two hours. It is excellent! It has such a fresh flavor with the green onions and red bell pepper. The spoonbread has a nice, crusty edge and is so moist and fluffy on the inside. What an easy recipe! I love spinach and will be making this again. Thanks so much, Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Spoon Bread - Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 263.3
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    60%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 128.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 420.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites