Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach & Sausage Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach & Sausage Stuffed Pasta Shells

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2001

      This was a great recipe. I made a healthier version using 50 % less fat sausage and low fat cheeses. Next time I will make this with ground turkey sausage, to cut the fat even more. Very tasty and filling. Made the whole recipe and froze half of it for a no prep second meal. For 2 people it was 4 meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2001

      I thought this was a decent recipe. I would use more spices to liven things up a bit and I omitted the cheddar cheese from the mix. It seemed a bit too velveta-ish with all those cheeses mixed together. I substituted some freshly grated Romano instead and the taste was great. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      AMAZING! Cooked italian sausage and frozen spinach leaves for this. Use food processor to minced sausage, spinach, onion, and garlic. Mixed with cheese in a bowl and then spooned into pasta shells. It was delicious and will go in my meal rotation. Love the ricotta cheese! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      I have been making this for years. Not with so many eggs though, only mozzerella and parmsean cheese. My husband, daughter, and father love these. I have to make some without spinach for my mom. I actually like them better that way too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      This was a really good recipe, and I will most likely make it again. I used cottage cheese, and I halved the recipe. The proportions worked out just right. Next time I will make the sauce a little more zesty. Although I had a good brand, it needed some kick, but that isn't the recipe's fault.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      I thought this was a great start to the recipe, but that it needed some spices added to it. We added some garlic and onion and omitted the cheddar cheese and used only mozzarella. We also used fresh spinach instead of frozen. The meal turned out great! My 6 year old nephew even ate it which is about the highest compliment one can receive--especially when it has a vegetable in it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      LOOOOOVED this! I made ahead and froze all shells in one container. When we wanted to eat them, we took out how many we wanted and baked covered for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. Then followed the directions of 30 minutes uncovered. Also, we put a little cheese on top for the last 5 minutes (I know, not very healthy) and it was great! Thanks for the great recipe, it will be used again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      I have made this twice, both times I made with fresh spinach, all mozzarella & only 2 eggs with great results. The addition of 2 cloves of garlic and a chopped onion to the cooked sausage really added some nice flavor to the dish. I reserved 1/2 c. of the cheese for the topping & probably used a lot more sauce than called for.
      Two really great shortcuts I used was to combine all filling ingredients in the food processor for quicker prep & using a small cookie dough scoop sped up the filling process. It took much longer the first time when I piped it in each shell from a large pastry bag.
      This makes A LOT. I had a 13x9 pan; 8x8 pan & a 9 inch pie pan of shells! They freeze well! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      I have made this recipe twice with great results; one with sausage and one vegetarian...The recipe will probably make more than the average family will eat in one meal...that being said...make sure to get a large Ziploc bag to freeze the left over filled shells..they freeze well and the taste was not affected when I made them again 3 weeks later..I did tweek it a bit using only mozzarella cheese instead of the combination of mozzarella and cheddar cheese. I increased the cooking time to 45 minutes.. The vegetarian version used 2 -10 ounce packages of frozen spinach with great results...a good spaghetti sauce complements the shells...I have not used fresh spinach..but I can only imagine it would taste better as frozen spinach can get a bit stringy sometimes...Thank you for the recipe.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Excellent recipe. My kids loved this and didn't even know they were eating spinach. I did need to add additional seasoning (garlic salt and italian seasoning). I also substituted a mix of Italian Cheeses for the Cheddar cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      This is pretty phenomenal also when you skip the cheddar, double the mozzarella and use alfredo sauce in place of the spaghetti sauce. It's well worth a try! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Absolutely scrumptious! I made these for a ladies aid luncheon and they went really quickly! The few that I had left over, I brought home and my children gobbled up! Will make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Made this as part ten different side dishes for thanksgiving. Had to bake it a little bit longer cause my oven is funky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Very Good! I added some seasonings to the sausage mixture - for a half batch I put in about 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic, a little dried minced onion, about 1/4 cup sauteed chopped onion, a shake of garlic salt, a few shakes ground black pepper, and a shake of garlic and herb seasoing (my husband likes things REALLY flavorful). I also added a little extra mozzarella on top for the last 8 minutes or so of baking. He LOVED it! He said it's one of my best yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Super Super Super!!!! These were fantastic! These are the changes I made: cut down to 2 eggs only, only mixed in about 1 cup of cheddar and 1 1/2 cups mozzarella with spinach/sausage, seasoned the mixture with salt, pepper, and garlic powder, then sprinkled with rest of mozzarella. Since they are only 2 of us, I froze the leftovers for another meal. Will make these again. Might even add a 2nd package of spinach to the mixture because we like it so much. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Perfect balance between the meat, cheese and spinach. I added a few cloves of minced garlic to the sausage. These do freeze individually well, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Absolutely fabulous! Monday night is Italian night and this is definitely one for rotation! Nice for company, a potluck or meal delivery. It's just perfect all the way around. Thanks for posting, Laura. It's a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      This is close to a recipe I fell in love with that I had found in a magazine recipe contest. That recipe included one large white onion, fried in the pan when you cook the sausage. It was also cream cheese instead of ricotta, and it was AMAZING! I froze half of the filling mixture by itself, and then thawed and cooked more shells. Also, you can bake the shells covered with foil and then add grated cheese and uncover for the last 10-15 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      This was great! I added a few of the tweaks from the reviews, like using Sweet Italian leaving the cheddar out, adding, parmesan chees, different spices and an extra jar of sauce!!! The flavors were yummy! One thing did was heat the stuffed shells a little longer than 30mins(about 45 mins)...just didn't seem like enough time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      What an incredible recipe! I used Pepperjack cheese instead of the cheddar which gave it a little extra flavor. Also added some garlic powder and Italian seasoning to the cheese mixture. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach & Sausage Stuffed Pasta Shells

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.5
     
    Calories from Fat 282
    62%
    Total Fat 31.4 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 16.2 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 184.3 mg
    61%
    Sodium 564.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 32.1 g
    64%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pasta shells

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites