15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If you like green food, this is for you! I made this together with my two youngest Dornettes last night, and in spite of their "but it's green!" comment, supper was a success! I used a huge bunch of fresh spinach and chiffonaded it with my mezzaluna before cooking it in the butter. I added just a dash of Hungarian paprika. We had these with tri-color fusilli and a tall glass of chocolate milk to wash it down. Comfort food all the way! Thanks Jude!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj November 05, 2003

This is wonderful. I was looking for a recipe to use both leftover pasta and spinach for a simple lunch, but didn't want a heavy alfredo. This was light and mild, but good. For the onion-lovers, I sauteed onions to add. I also threw in a few sundried tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise November 26, 2011

This recipe was good, I didn't have any nutmeg, so I instead I used garlic, pepper, basil and a little sugar. The original sauce was a bit bland, however lacking the nutmeg it was most likely the problem. It was very easy and quick and the other half really liked it, will definitely make again, next time I will try it as written. Thanks for a quick weeknight meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just J April 28, 2010

Easy, tasty and easy to adjust to own preferences! Added garlic, red bell pepper and some sausage and subbed the ricotta for cottage cheese and creme fraiche (some other reviewer wrote that too, great idea!) and the frozen spinach for fresh. Great fast meal and healthy kidspleaser :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamaDlicious February 03, 2010

Recipe was good and different from the rest. A little rich and a tad bland for me but I know others will love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camaro Chic November 01, 2009

My daughter has a reflux issue, so traditional spaghetti sauce doesn't work for her. This was so yummy, my 5 year old twins asked for seconds! I added sauteed onion, mushrooms and garlic. I also subbed fat free half and half for the milk and skipped the nutmeg. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristoljones October 20, 2009

I wanted a spinach pasta sauce to go with a feta-and-spinach stuffed chicken breast. I made this as directed, but with the extra feta (about 1/2 cup) instead of ricotta. It was wonderful, the nutmeg is the perfect accent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ORTNmom September 22, 2009

This was great fun to try out! I used fresh spinach, olive oil spray & lots of minced garlic! I used the cottage cheese/sour cream substitute from another genius reviewer (I never have ricotta on hand!). I don't think the milk is necessary if using cottage cheese since my sauce was a bit runny. I didn't use any nutmeg & served it over julienned zucchini instead of pasta. Thank you for sharing; was a great experience!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS January 14, 2009

I was looking for a non-tomato recipe to use up some ricotta, and this was great! I only used maybe 1 Tablespoon of oil and I added in some sun-dried tomatoes and a few red pepper flakes. I only used maybe 6 ounces of pasta and the 2 of us ate the whole thing. Quick, easy and delicious. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl January 11, 2009

I tasted this as I went along, and added quite a few cloves of garlic, half-and-half, and about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I liked it a lot! It's great to have some alternatives to acidic tomato pasta, and this was great and made for good leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manicottifish January 30, 2008
Spinach Sauce for Pasta