Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Salad With Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Salad With Poppy Seed Dressing

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2013

      Great salad with bacon, mushrooms and swiss cheese. Husband approved big time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      I have been looking for this recipe everywhere!! My Aunt makes it for all of the family dinners and it is our favorite. I haven't been able to find my recipe for the vinaigrette though. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This was a little sweet for us, even though I cut the ingredients down to 1/2 cup oil, 1/3 sugar and 1/4 vinegar. Thanks for the recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      I made only the dressing, using only 1/2 c olive oil and 1/3 c sugar. I also used 1 1/2 t. dry mustard and 2 T. poppy seed. I enjoyed the dressing very much. I look forward to trying the salad on a day that I can afford the calories. I bet it is devine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      Dh commented that I can make this salad "any day or *every* day" if I want . . . he liked it that much! Made it for a special dinner party and the guests (old and young) loved it too. The key is that all the flavors are so distinct and yet meld perfectly. Left out the red onion. Made the dressing in the morning and threw the rest together just prior to dinner. We have since made it again and added cooked chicken breast to it as a one-bowl salad meal. Note - I do only use 1/3 of the dressing ingredients to make a batch of the dressing and find that it covers an entire salad sufficiently for our tastes (ie approx. 1/2 c. oil, 1/4 c. vinnegar, etc.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      This salad and dressing did have a wonderful taste. The dressing is very good and does improve the longer in the fridge. I followed the recipe in terms of ingredients exactly this time, though next time I will significantly reduce the amount of cheese. Though we love cheese, 1 lb. of cheese for this amount of spinach is just overwhelming. I would recommend buying 2 6-8 oz packages and then seeing if just one package will do. That's what I will reduce it to next time. It still provides a TON of cheese, but 1 lb. is a bit overwhelming. But this time, per guest request, I did not toss the dressing with the salad. I put in in a pourer and allowed guests to add what dressing they would like to their own bowls of salad. This seemed to work out well--that way you don't get too much dressing on the salad, making it soggy. Guests can toss their own salad with the amount of dressing they choose. We will definitely make this great salad again, with the revision of less cheese. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      We loved it. It actually "sold" some family members on spinach itself just because of the dressing :) The recipe does make a lot of dressing which I reused days later and it tasted significantly better after sitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      This is a great salad - but of course the dressing is what makes the salad special. I LOVED the poppyseed dressing, and the only thing I added was some fresh cracked pepper to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      MAKE THIS! I PROMISE YOU WILL LIKE IT! I made this to bring to a get together with friends. Our friends went back for seconds (pretty good for a SALAD!). Great easy salad to make! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      Hi, I tasted a salad like this a few years back and have searched for the recipe. I am fairly sure this is it and am so excited. Thank you so much for posting!! Love, Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Salad With Poppy Seed Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 817.6
     
    Calories from Fat 677
    82%
    Total Fat 75.2 g
    115%
    Saturated Fat 18.9 g
    94%
    Cholesterol 64.6 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1033.2 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 14.2 g
    56%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites