Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach/Romaine Salad With Poppy Seed Dressing & Mandarin Or Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach/Romaine Salad With Poppy Seed Dressing & Mandarin Or

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2011

      Absolutely delicious salad dressing!!! Certainly warrants more than 5 stars. Used it tossed with baby spinach, arranged mandarine sections on top and scattered some sunflower seeds. Yummy, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      just made the dressing to put on a similar salad but with teryaki chicken. sooo yummy! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      We adored this salad...there was not a speck left after dinner, even though there was another salad that was only half eaten. I made this on the spur of the moment and did not have any apples in the house so I added some dried cherries to the orange segments, and substituted roasted walnuts for the pine nuts (there again, none in the larder). The dressing is wonderful, and I am thinking that it might also be good on a cold grain salad with oranges and dried fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I used this dressing and it was great! I used the spring mix from my garden along with apples, craisins, and the mandarin oranges. The orange juice really makes this dressing great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I made this for a dinner party and received rave reviews - it was gobbled up. I add 1/4 cup water to the dressing the mellow the OJ a bit. The dressing is amazing and even my kids like it. They are a hard sell...usually it's only Ranch that they will eat. We've been eating the dressing on several different types of salads! It's great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      Uncle Bill! This was fantastic! Took this to a dinner and got RAVE reviews! I followed the dressing recipe to a "T" and ended up with too much of it (which is a great thing...next time I'm making more salad!) I used a can of mandarin oranges that were in pear juice which I drained, a 10oz bag of Dole hearts of romaine (already washed and shredded) and a half of a similar sized bag of triple washed baby spinach (my bowl wasn't quite big enough!) The toasted pine nuts were a tasty addition and were easy to prepare -I preheated my oven to 375 and simply put the pine nuts on a cookie sheet and popped them in for about 7 mins watching closely to make sure they didn't burn (they aren't cheap!) I mixed the greens and added the apples on top about two hours before the meal (I dampened a paper towel and simply laid it on top of the bowl) Just before serving I added the nuts, the dressing, mixed a bit and finally the oranges. Beautiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      Uncle Bill, this was AMAZING, I really didn't expect it to be as good as it was. I also subbed roasted walnuts for the pine nuts though. It actually looks as beautiful as it tastes. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. ;) I also love the suggestions for variations on this, thanks everyone for the ideas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      Perfect blend of flavors; lovely presentation; and lots of compliments from guests (NO left-overs! A guest ate the last for dessert. LOL) Another winner, Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      This was good. I little too sweet for my taste, but my gf loved it! Thank you for a good recipe. Happy cooking! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      Uncle Bill, this is such a wonderful salad! I left out the pine nuts, and subbed toasted walnuts that I had in my freezer, but otherwise used all the other ingredients and made as stated. I can honestly say that this is one of the most delicious salads I have made, and will be making it often at my house... DELICIOUS!!!! Thanks Uncle Bill for posting another wonderful recipe!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      WOW! I have made this salad twice with a few variations and everyone has loved it! The first time I used only spinach and added fresh bean sprouts and some crumbled blue cheese. The second time I used mixed baby greens. Both times I subbed toasted almonds for the pine nuts. I also added some lemon juice to the dressing to give a little more "zip"It was absolutely delicious both ways. There was such a nice blend of tangy and sweet flavours, and a contrast of textures. It looked really beautiful too! This recipe is so versatile, I know I'll be making versions of it a lot! Thank you, Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      I had to try this after I saw Elly's review. A huge hit with my friends, I had to make several copies. Thanks, Uncle Bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      A wonderful salad, loved the tart apples - a nice contrast with the sweet dressing. I substituted toasted slivered almonds for the pine nuts. Delicious !! A nice presentation idea; I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach/Romaine Salad With Poppy Seed Dressing & Mandarin Or

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 341.5
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    52%
    Total Fat 19.9 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 184.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 30.9 g
    123%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites