13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely delicious salad dressing!!! Certainly warrants more than 5 stars. Used it tossed with baby spinach, arranged mandarine sections on top and scattered some sunflower seeds. Yummy, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue's Kitchen May 30, 2011

just made the dressing to put on a similar salad but with teryaki chicken. sooo yummy! thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetta_mel May 13, 2010

We adored this salad...there was not a speck left after dinner, even though there was another salad that was only half eaten. I made this on the spur of the moment and did not have any apples in the house so I added some dried cherries to the orange segments, and substituted roasted walnuts for the pine nuts (there again, none in the larder). The dressing is wonderful, and I am thinking that it might also be good on a cold grain salad with oranges and dried fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo April 26, 2010

I used this dressing and it was great! I used the spring mix from my garden along with apples, craisins, and the mandarin oranges. The orange juice really makes this dressing great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef likestocook June 24, 2009

I made this for a dinner party and received rave reviews - it was gobbled up. I add 1/4 cup water to the dressing the mellow the OJ a bit. The dressing is amazing and even my kids like it. They are a hard sell...usually it's only Ranch that they will eat. We've been eating the dressing on several different types of salads! It's great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SunshineNut April 19, 2009

Uncle Bill! This was fantastic! Took this to a dinner and got RAVE reviews! I followed the dressing recipe to a "T" and ended up with too much of it (which is a great thing...next time I'm making more salad!) I used a can of mandarin oranges that were in pear juice which I drained, a 10oz bag of Dole hearts of romaine (already washed and shredded) and a half of a similar sized bag of triple washed baby spinach (my bowl wasn't quite big enough!) The toasted pine nuts were a tasty addition and were easy to prepare -I preheated my oven to 375 and simply put the pine nuts on a cookie sheet and popped them in for about 7 mins watching closely to make sure they didn't burn (they aren't cheap!) I mixed the greens and added the apples on top about two hours before the meal (I dampened a paper towel and simply laid it on top of the bowl) Just before serving I added the nuts, the dressing, mixed a bit and finally the oranges. Beautiful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleAnne1 February 12, 2007

Uncle Bill, this was AMAZING, I really didn't expect it to be as good as it was. I also subbed roasted walnuts for the pine nuts though. It actually looks as beautiful as it tastes. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. ;) I also love the suggestions for variations on this, thanks everyone for the ideas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M August 21, 2005

Perfect blend of flavors; lovely presentation; and lots of compliments from guests (NO left-overs! A guest ate the last for dessert. LOL) Another winner, Bill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks June 17, 2005

This was good. I little too sweet for my taste, but my gf loved it! Thank you for a good recipe. Happy cooking! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDarlingNikki April 16, 2005

Uncle Bill, this is such a wonderful salad! I left out the pine nuts, and subbed toasted walnuts that I had in my freezer, but otherwise used all the other ingredients and made as stated. I can honestly say that this is one of the most delicious salads I have made, and will be making it often at my house... DELICIOUS!!!! Thanks Uncle Bill for posting another wonderful recipe!...Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz April 08, 2005
Spinach/Romaine Salad With Poppy Seed Dressing & Mandarin Or