Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Pinwheel Appetizers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Pinwheel Appetizers

    Average Rating:

    98 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 98

    Sort by:

    • on December 20, 2003

      I made some alterations to these pinwheels (due to ingredients on hand), and hadn't planned on rating them...but, my guests loved them. I couldn't deny Keen5 the credit after all of the great reviews that I received when serving these appetizers. I didn't have frozen spinach, but had fresh baby spinach leaves. Rather than chop and mix the fresh spinach into the cream cheese mixture, I made my modification as follows: spread cream cheese mixture on flour tortillas; layer baby spinach leaves; layer a slice of shaved smoked turkey; rollup tightly; slice; eat! These were soooo good. They were the first appetizer tray to be emptied.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Let me start off by saying, I was torn between giving 3 and 4 stars - the reason I gave 3 instead of 4: while these were OKAY, they weren't awesome. I LOVE spinach. And ranch. And bacon. So I had high expectations. But the true deciding factor was when I asked what my 16 y/o sister what she thought, and she said "They're okay, but I like.." and preceded to list 5 other recipes she liked better.

      I made these exactly as stated except I ended up using 2 oz more spinach than is called for because I saw no reason to throw it away and had no other use for it, but my local supermarket had packages 1oz larger a piece (?). Anyway, the filling was easy to spread, and for anyone who has ever made pinwheels, here is the important part, easy to keep in place while rolling. I had no problem with the filling being too runny, but then again I put the thawed spinach in a towel and squeezed until no more liquid would escape! There is no reason to use toothpicks to hold them together, if refrigerated in saran wrap as instructed, they hold together well. So while the flavor isn't amazing, it's not bad, and as I stated, fairly easy to put together. I might make these again, but the recipe won't be put into my favorite's file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      Nice recipe. Skipped the bacon and added chopped water chestnuts.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      I've made these for 15 years, but NOT this version. This one is over the top with mayo and cream cheese - you DON'T need that much for these to still taste great! And you save A LOT on FAT! All the ingredients are the same except change the amounts for the following ingredients: 1 tablespoon mayonnaise, 1/2 of an 8 ounce package of cream cheese, 6 green onions, and 10 large (10 inch) flour tortillas. Spread the mixture thin on the tortilla, remember you will be rolling them, thus there will be plenty of flavor. These are always a hit, even with folks who think they don't like spinach. Make sure to make them the night before and chill in the fridge to make cutting them easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      I'm not sure what happened for me. I used cream cheese and left out the mayo and used about 1/3 the amount of sour cream called for. I added no other wet ingredients and I pressed as much moisture as I could out of the spinach through a fine strainer, but the result was still pretty soggy and unappealing. It was not a hit at my DH's work, which is what we made them for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I made these for my baby shower last year and everybody absoulutly loved these and had to give the recipe out to a few people i think they were a little soggy from frezzing them and think leaving them overnight would be to long also because the tortilla will go mushy. I used real bacon & had to use ranch dressing because we do not sell ranch dip mix in australia but a good recipe again! TY keen5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      I can't believe I haven't rated these yummy things yet! I've been making them for at least 3 years for our annual business open house and it is the one thing that the staff always requests I make again!! My "tweaks" are to reduce the ranch dip to 1/2 envelope and to substitute 1/2 lb of cooked, crumbled bacon in place of the bacon bits. I also use flavored wraps (sun dried tomato being my fave). I have experimented with variations. . . my favorite variation substitutes chopped roasted red peppers for the bacon and adds a thinly shaved ham layer. Both are yummy but the bacon one is the best, IMHO. Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      Searched Recipezaar for appetizers for my weekend get together and these pinwheels were great. I used cheese tortillas as well as spinach tortillas. To some I added grated cheese to others I added paper thin smoked turkey slices.(use your favorite brand) This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      WONDERFUL! I haven't tried it yet on tortillas, but as a sandwich spread as is. Next will try it with the addition of thin sliced meat in the saidwich. This is a wonderful way to get kids to eat spinach - worked on my Grandson. Keen5, thank you, thank you, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      AMAZING!!! I have never eaten so much Spinach. lol This was goooood, no one could even wait for me to put them in the fridge to cool. These were eaten as soon as I made them. I did not add sour cream but I did add 1 can of spinach (drained) and also added LOTS of fresh uncooked spinach. DH wanted this as a wrap instead of cut up into pinwheels. I'm making this for his lunch tomorrow with slices of ham. Thank you very much for the post, simple and delicious! Next time I will add avocado. Mmmmmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      They make a nice presentation. If I made these again I'd use fresh spinach, fresh bacon crumbles, and drop the mayo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Pretty good. Thought the ranch overpowered everything else, and didn't really like the hardness of the bacon bits. Had a lot leftover at a family function and the other pinwheels were gone. Not a huge favorite. Also, mine came out really small. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      These were a hit! I too felt the ranch was a bit over powering and will use only half the packet next time. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. Glad I made it and will definitely make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Nice recipe and I received alot of compliments!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      These did not turn out well for me. I think the mayo and the sour cream made it a little too wet and the flavor was a little overwhelming. I made it for a party and only cut 2 rolls up. No one really liked it. Next time I would make it without the sour cream and mayo and use a little milk to thin out the cream cheese. I think that would make it better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      These were absolutely delicious !!! I will certainly make these again... everybody loved them. For me half the recipe was enough. To halve I used 1 TBSP of Ranch Salad dressing(I did not have Ranch dip mix), and half a pack of spinach. And I used real bacon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2003

      A big hit at the brunch!! Everyone wanted the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2014

      I made these for my daughter's graduation party and they were a huge hit! I even got asked for the recipe. I did make a few changes though. My daughter is a vegetarian so I omitted the bacon bits and I had accidently opened a can of chopped black olives so I added that into so they would not go to waste. I will make these again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      These were AWESOME!!! I made them last night for the first time for a party tonight. My brother and his friend stopped by and they wanted to sample one, and they wouldn't stop eating them!! This coming from 2 non-spinach eaters. This was a very easy recipe, I followed the recipe exactly except for 2 things. I used 6 green onions (instead of 4) & 1/2 a jar of Kroger brand bacon bits (instead of the whole jar). Thank you very much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      Loved these. It's hard to find take along apps for our church fellowships nights that don't require heating and are savory. These are perfect as they can be prepped ahead. Very yummy. I recommend using lavash bread instead of the tortillas as there is less waste and the roll and hold together better. I filled 5 lavash bread with the filling and got about 8 pinwheels out of each roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Pinwheel Appetizers

    Serving Size: 1 (1730 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 479.0
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    51%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 53.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 942.8 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ranch dip mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes