10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved how the Parmesan shined in this tasty pie. I made using fresh spinach that I wilted in a pan and then squeezed dry, also used fresh grated Parmesan. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl March 17, 2013

DH loved this! It was so simple to make. I loved that it was low fat and healthy. I thought it had too much spinach taste, but that was the reason why DH loved it. I will be making this recipe again and add some mushrooms and cut the spinach in half (sorry hubby). Thanks for posting this recipe I know I'll have lots of fun making different variations of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 06, 2011

Hi, I make this all the time now. I use low fat cottage cheese with chives and add baby bella mushrooms everytime. Sometimes add some black beans too, or flax seed for fiber. May try a few sun dried tomatoes soon. I use a teaspoon of minced garlic and I leave out the salt because the cheeses and garlic are sufficient. It is very easy, fast and healthy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimcooking March 08, 2009

I loved this and could have eaten the entire pie myself. We'll be having this often when I want to get our greens in but feel like having something rich and sinful-tasting. I also used a lot of the recommended seasonings. Excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea February 22, 2008

I really wanted to like this because it's such a healthy recipe, but there just wasn't enough substance in it, for me, to disguise the texture of the frozen spinach. I would suggest that those of us who aren't big spinach fans try to eat the spinach in another recipe. I may try this again, but add some more flavors and texture to it. Since I don't like spinach so much, I don't feel it's fair for me to use a star rating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emily hauer June 02, 2007

Fantastic! I used 2 packages of spinach, because I love it. I also added 1/2 of an onion and omitted the onion powder. I love onions and did not want to waste the 1/2 I had. Also topped the pie with 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese and sprinkled with more parmesan. Very flavorful and filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ May 16, 2007

This had a very nice flavor. I used a slightly rounded 1/4 teaspoon each of onion and garlic powder, which was just about right for us. Didn't measure the salt or pepper. Only problem was that it came out rather flat. I definitely would try it in a smaller pie pan next time, but also think I might try beating the egg whites stiff and folding them in to add some volume. Will definitely try again, because it tasted good. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BumblingB's May 24, 2006

I made this for my husband who is a big spinach fan and we LOVED it! Wonderful consistency and really fresh tasting, and also surprisingly filling. I made it just as directed, only adding a small handful of grated cheddar on top. I'll definitely be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marquess April 06, 2006

Wow! This is delicious! It tasted like it was just stuffed with rich cheese. I will certainly be making this over and over and over again. Thanks ever so much for sharing this gem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Lee March 26, 2006

This was a great recipe! I really enjoyed it. I also enjoyed the fact that it is so easy to make. I doubled the recipe, used low-fat cottage cheese, and 3 whole eggs instead of 6 egg whites. I baked it in a 9"x13" dish for the 45 minutes, and it was perfect. I'll be making this very often. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie January 17, 2006
Spinach Pie