Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Pear Salad from Restaurateur, Tom Douglas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Pear Salad from Restaurateur, Tom Douglas

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2010

      Loved it! My husband doesn't usually like Spinach salad, but he had two servings of this one. I actually omitted the bacon and added a few cubes of cambozola cheese. It was a nice addition with the pear. The dressing is to die for and I will be using it for other salads more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      WOW!! When I saw Geema's review of this salad I HAD to try it and we were not dissappointed. WE LOVED IT!!! I did use bacon and I think it's a must for an added dimension. I couldn't come up with slab bacon so I bought the thickest cut I could find. We're thinkin' this salad is getting served the next time we host our gourmet dinner club. Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      Wonderful salad! I think the seasoned nuts make it outstanding, although I used pecans. I'm sure it's wonderful as is, but for my own reference, I made these substitutions: apples, not pears. Regular yellow mustard, no rosemary on the nuts, no frisee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      I only put 3 TEAspoons of mustard in the dressing and it was enough. Instead of the spinach I use kale finely chopped and couscous. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      Super yummy! Used pecans instead of cashews and they were delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      I made this salad to go with our Christmas dinner and it was excellent, everyone loved it! We will be making this one again for sure!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      SIMPLY AMAZING! I found the cashews cooked quite quickly as well, only in for about 5 minutes. I also thought it was a little too heavy in dressing, so may cut back on it a bit next time. Except those minor details, the flavours were incredible - went over as one of the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      Brought to a dinner party, and everyone loved it - the bowl was scraped clean! My first batch of cashews burned quickly in the oven. Second try just left them in for 5 min at 350, which was just right. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      Delicious. I'm not a huge curry fan but I loved the combination of flavors. The whole family loved it. I added grilled chicken and homemade French bread to make it a complete meal. We love entree salads. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      An amazing salad! I've already made it 4 times in short period of time. Our family loves it. The combination of flavors is wonderful. The dressing would work well with other salads too. Only change I made was to use British "rashers" in place of thick bacon. This truly is, one of if not, the best salad I've ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Wow!! My family raved over this great salad!! I had to substitute a few ingredients due to the lack of availability. I used cider vinegar instead of white wine and regular mustard instead of dijon, and increased the amount of honey. It was a great salad and everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe! It will be made often!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      You just have to try this recipe. It is Delicious! DH said it is the best, best, best salad he has ever eaten. The curried cashews are great by themselves but are great on the salad too. Do try this GREAT recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Loved this! I cut the dijon down to 2 tablespoons (personal preference), and used rice wine vinegar instead of white wine vinegar, but otherwise made as directed. I'll make the salad again for sure, and probably the curried nuts will be made on their own many times as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

    • on March 10, 2008

      This salad was absolutely amazing. The mixture of all the flavors was soooo tantalizing and could possibly be the best salad i've had! THANK YOU for posting! You have to try this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I don't know where I found the recipe I use for this salad. Mine is the exact same except for the amounts of lettuce and fruit. This is delicious!! I took this to a friend's home for dinner and put the dressing, nuts and bacon in separate containers to mix just prior to serving. I sub apple cider vinegar, since that's usually on hand. I have substituted horseradish mustard for the Dijon with good effect as well. Think I might try adding some julienned Swiss cheese and chicken for a complete meal. This is yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      I've made a number of spinach salads with pears/apples. This one has an interesting smokey, mustardy, spicy taste. But to me the bacon plus the cashews and rather heavy dressing make it a bit heavy for my taste. I prefer one with pomegranate, pear, and honey/basil/balsamic/evoo dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      I made this for a dinner party and it was an absolute WINNER!! A great combination of flavors- easy to make- you could make dressing and cashews way in advance! Wonderful blend of flavors with the bacon, the curried cashews, the Honey Vinaigrette and the PEARS!! Beautiful salad!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      The combination of flavors in this salad is incredilble! We love the curried cashews, they don't last long at my house though! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      A friend found this here, and served it to us. Now we can't be without the curried cashews. We adjust the salad a little according to season, but always the cashews. Thanks so much for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Pear Salad from Restaurateur, Tom Douglas

    Serving Size: 1 (467 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 672.4
     
    Calories from Fat 434
    64%
    Total Fat 48.3 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 30.7 mg
    10%
    Sodium 758.1 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.9 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 35.2 g
    140%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes