16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good, I served it with ravioli that had a pesto and ricotta filling, and I used canned tomato's, and extra garlic, it smelt wonderful and lasted about 5 minutes.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget April 01, 2002

Thanks for sharing this one Jan, it's a keeper!! I forgot to buy the chilies!!, so I added a couple of spoonfuls of homeade hot salsa to the tomatoes, it worked!! Instead of serving over pasta, I added 1 whole chicken breast, boneless, skinless, cut in strips as suggested. Turned out great!! Very tastey and good and thick, served it with sourdough bread. A nummmy supper!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf March 27, 2002

Had this in "my cookbook" for some time....finally made it. Great alternative to heavy sauces. Really good over fresh linguini.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef blade March 01, 2003

Delicious, simple and healthy,not a thing to change.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie January 11, 2003

It's a keeper. My toddler decided she liked it even though I included the chilli. I used whatever dried herbs I could find as I was completely out of basil, and I used lots more greens as I had lots of Asian spinach/kang kong at hand. It fed 2 and a half people and there is plenty left over for lunch for tomorrow, but that's probably because of all the greens I used and I tend to err on the generous side. Worth keeping in the cookbook.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat December 22, 2002

This was lovely, Jan! The only thing I changed in this recipe was to used garlic powder, and dried basil since that's what I had on hand. I used 2 medium chilies and split them along the middle. My sister and I shared this over 4 oz pasta got a fantastic dinner. Thanks for this easy, wholesome and healthy recipe... it's a definite keeper!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu September 20, 2002

Very good fix for a Pasta & Olive craving. I loved it. I served it over baked spaghetti squash and subbed the spinach for arugula (it's what I had on hand). Wonderfully rich flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 November 07, 2007

Very nice, but not superlative, so only 4 stars. Make sure that you adapt the number of chillies to their strength (which can vary wildly). Also, the basil will taste better if you add it at the last moment and not cook it with the rest of the herbs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Is This Really Necessary April 13, 2003

Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bunny Slippers April 11, 2010

Me and the hubby loved this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billybolo November 07, 2009
Spinach, Olive and Chilli Tomato Sauce for Pasta