Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach 'n Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach 'n Onions

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2002

      Simple and wonderful! I added some extra lemon juice and used plain ol' regular onions. I used this recipe as a filling inside rolled-up rotis for a great, light dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      This was really nice... my family loved it (especially my mother, being a spinach fan!). I added some crushed garlic to the onions and it gave a lovely bit of extra flavour, but I'm sure it would be just as nice as is =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      loved this recipe. quick and easy and a wonderful flavor. made exactly as directed. next time i want to add garlic just cause i love garlic even though recipe does not need it. my spinach was way passed the "use by" date and the end result was still delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2014

      I used a Vidalia onion for the red onion. The caramelization from the Vidalia and the tartness from the lemon juice was an outstanding sweet and sour accent for the spinach. Thank you, Bergy, for sweet 'n savory Spinach 'n Onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      Not too bad, my wife didn't care for the lemony taste and would have preferred balsamic vinegar instead. Make sure to use fresh spinach! I tried it with week old spinach, and it was not pleasant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      This tastes great with malabar spinach

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This was good!! Nice combination of ingredients. Easy to make. I will make this again but maybe not cook it a less than I did. A definite keeper Thanks for sharing your recipe Bergy. Made for PAC Fall '08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      Made this with chicken and orzo....very tasty but not one I'll probably make again. I followed the directions to the letter and while it was good....I just didn't like the mix of the red onions with the spinach. Kind of overwhelmed it for me. I guess I just love the taste of the spinach being the most pronounced ingredient and we tasted a bit too much onion despite the fact that I didn't even use the whole onion. Maybe I'll try it again with a sweet onion instead of a red onion. Still a nice recipe nonetheless. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      Thank you for posting this recipe It was easy, fast and tasted wonderful, my husband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      This was really good tasting. I did not have lemon juice and I just used a sweet onion seeing it was the only one I had and it still tasted very good. Will make again, thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      This is truly a 5 star dish. It went perfectly with Tofurky Beer Brats. I'll be making this many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      DELICIOUS! I eat this for lunch all the time now! It's so good and good for you! I never even used to like spinach!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      This was excellent! I was at little concerned about letting the onions become dark, but it really adds flavor. I let it cook for about 4 minutes and it was still good, but it does make the spinach "cook" down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2004

      I enjoyed this as a side dish with salmon filet and buttered fresh pasta with prawns. I added a little bit of nutmeg, I just can't have spinach without nutmeg. Really yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach 'n Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.4
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    72%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 91.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes