9 Reviews

This is a wonderful, filling casserole Chia! I just started a low carb diet, and am serching for new ways to cook vegetables. This one sure fit the bill! I only strayed from the recipe by omitting the bread crumbs and adding more cheese. I thought this would make a nice side dish, but it's so hearty and filling I ate this as a main dish! Thanks for posting this!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper March 20, 2003

I also really enjoyed the recipe. I did use fresh spinach which I added before I added the cheese (and cooked the spinach down a bit) and substitued crushed red pepper for the nutmeg to give it a bit of a kick. It was really easy to prepare and all of us, including our 1 year old loved it. We will definately make it again!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke March 10, 2003

chia, this is so very tasty! The instructions weren't as clear as they could be, in my opinion, but I got through it! : ) Here are my suggestions to make it more clear: Step #3. in a large mixing bowl, combine spinach, artichokes, and cheeses (except parmesan). Step #4. in skillet heat butter, onion, garlic, saute, add mushrooms, cook till soft, remove from heat and add to spinach mixture; mix well. (That would mean the current steps 4, 5, & 6 would then be steps 5, 6, & 7. It's not a labor-intensive recipe. I bought presliced shrooms, a can of quartered artichokes, thawed my spinach in the refrigerator a day in advance (with a paper towel under the boxes). This gets 5 huge stars from both my husband and me. : )

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP March 08, 2003

This is definitely a hearty meal all by itself. The only thing I omitted was the bread crumbs and added a little extra parmesan cheese on top and it was heavenly. A great recipe for all you carb counters out there! Thanks Chia.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs in Toyland April 22, 2003

Very good casserole with mild flavor and texture. Cut in squares to serve.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meanerney December 26, 2003

I made the version from the Emeril website, which calls for 2, not 1, 14-oz. cans of artichoke hearts, and 2 tsp., not 2 cloves, of minced garlic. The recipe was great, and was gone in a flash when I put it out at our party. Great dairy vegetarian side or main dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamC December 28, 2010

I really liked this. I used one tblsp olive oil and left out the butter. I also used egg beaters instead of real eggs and skipped the breadcrumbs. This is really delicious!! Thanks for posting a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaterBug! :) December 16, 2008

Very good. I ended up with slightly different proportions; more spinach and mushrooms, less cheese (I left out the monterey jack and used fat-free ricotta, and used four whole eggs and two egg whites). A good, healthy, mild vegetarian dish that went well with a hearty chowder. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts October 31, 2007

A delicious crustless quiche. I used Cremini (brown) mushrooms as I find they are heartier in flavour than the white. We enjoyed it very much. Thank you for posting Chia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Do-e January 28, 2005
spinach mushroom & artichoke casserole