13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good (and cheap!). I used an old tip to blend the tahini with the lemon juice first to make a cream sauce, then add the other ingredients, than the spinach. I also used homemade tahini. Love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
topazspaz April 20, 2011

I have never made hummus before. Had no idea it would be so easy. Kicked up the garlic and lemon a bit but otherwise made as directed. thanks so much for sharing. Made for ZWT6 Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Az B June 18, 2010

Delicious recipe and ever so easy to prepare! I don't ever purchase hummus in the store prepared. It is so simple to make and tastes so much better when you prepare it fresh!! I made exactly 1/2 this recipe for only the two of us, using fresh baby spinach leaves and dried parsley. I served with organic blue corn tortilla & pretzel chips. Thanks again, *Parsley*, for another delicious recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 28, 2012

I thought this was a great idea and tagged it because I love spinach and lemon together and a smart idea to hide it in some hummus. I used fresh baby leaf spinach and really think that frozen spinach is best left for cooking. Will make again. Thank you Parsley. Made for ZWT 6 for Looney Spoon Phoodies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen June 14, 2010

About the only change I made here was to use 6 rather large cloves of garlic & a bit more of the lemon juice, & ended up with a really delicious spread! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed while touring the Middle East with ZWT6]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 13, 2010

I love hummus and it was nice to have a different way of enjoying it. I think maybe I will use a little less spinach next time because I had to add a good deal of salt and extra lemon juice to life the flavour past that of just spinach. Once I did though, it was very nice. I topped mine with some chopped sun dried tomatoes and served with toasted pita bread. Made for Zee Zany Zesty Cookz for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne June 12, 2010

Great dip. I made half a batch, using the full amount of onion and a little over 4 ounces of fresh baby spinach. The mixture was extremely thick so I added four extra tablespoons of lemon juice. Served with celery and lebanese bread. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy June 11, 2010

This was really yummy:) We love hummus at my house and this was a nice twist on it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midwest Maven August 28, 2007

This was good. The mixture of tahini, lemon and garlic worked very well. I would probably prefer more onion in this though. I used pre-soaked dried chickpeas, so I had to add quite a bit of water to get this to the right consistency. This went great with my afternoon snack: carrots and hummus! Yum! Thanks Parsley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poo235 June 14, 2007

yummy yummy! I have been eating it with pretzels and carrots! My food processor had a hard time with the spinach so I just stirred it in and its still great. a good variation of traditional hummus!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 June 12, 2007
Spinach Hummus Dip