37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This dish saved me this Easter. I had to bring side dishes, but they ALL had to be made in advance! This worked out great. It's so hard to find a veggie side dish that can be prepared in advance, and still taste great, and no seem overcooked when re-heated. Good measurements on the salt. 1 TBSP seems like alot, but with the amount of spinach in the full recipe, it definitely needs all of it!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues April 20, 2004

I'm so happy I found this recipe! It's perfect for this Somersizer, as long as I leave out the flour. This freezes wonderfully, so I always have a portion waiting for me to take to the office for lunch.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj August 24, 2003

I cut the recipe in half, as I only needed 4 servings. It was wonderful! Easy to prepare, and good flavor. Definitely will be making this again, but think I will make a few subs to try to cut the fat a bit.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 August 20, 2003

This was a good (and really rich) side dish. I don't think the recipe includes quite enough salt to really bring the flavors to life, so I will probably add more next time I make it. I added a few minced cloves of garlic along with the onion and that definitely added to the dish's flavor.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgangeline November 26, 2010

Easy preparation and delicious! This was my teenager's favorite part of the meal. Spinach? My kids? lol I made the whole recipe because I knew it wouldn't go to waste. I love spinach. Like Mirj, I omitted the flour, but next time I will try it with the flour to see the difference. I love that this calls for 5 pkgs of spinach. One little ol' package goes so fast. We're having leftover's this morning with an asparagus-tomato fritatta. Mmm.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP October 06, 2003

I prepared this as written but found that for all that work it lacked depth. It was too oniony, I would cut the onion by half. Also it needed a little more flavor, despite all the cheese and cream. Perhaps some garlic?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy December 20, 2009

*****Incredibly Fantastic***** I needed a special recipe for this past Christmas dinner, for my spinach-loving vegetarian daughter. Something to be the "star" of the meal instead of the turkey. After reading various spinach recipe and reviews...I chose this. It was a HUGE hit, and everyone wanted the recipe. A star was born * I made this recipe again for Valentine's Day when my son and his new bride (also vegetarians) came to visit. Once again.... awesome*. Again the recipe was passed on. I follow the recipe exactly and will most definately make it again~ Purrfect

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~wildcat~ March 13, 2009

Great recipe. So easy to throw together and I love that it can be made ahead and refrigerated until ready to bake. I served it with a rib roast and twice baked potatoes for Christmas for a very elegant meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn December 26, 2008

This is one of my favorite Barefoot Contessa recipes. Thanks for posting it! I just made this for Thanksgiving for the second time, and everyone loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KissKiss November 30, 2008

Recipezaar, you did it again. What a wonderful dish! The only thing I added was sliced garlic, about 2 cloves, which I sauteed with the onion. Thanks, this was just the recipe I was looking for and will make it over and over again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagogal October 12, 2008
Spinach Gratin