Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Gratin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Gratin

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2004

      This dish saved me this Easter. I had to bring side dishes, but they ALL had to be made in advance! This worked out great. It's so hard to find a veggie side dish that can be prepared in advance, and still taste great, and no seem overcooked when re-heated. Good measurements on the salt. 1 TBSP seems like alot, but with the amount of spinach in the full recipe, it definitely needs all of it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      I'm so happy I found this recipe! It's perfect for this Somersizer, as long as I leave out the flour. This freezes wonderfully, so I always have a portion waiting for me to take to the office for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      I cut the recipe in half, as I only needed 4 servings. It was wonderful! Easy to prepare, and good flavor. Definitely will be making this again, but think I will make a few subs to try to cut the fat a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      This was a good (and really rich) side dish. I don't think the recipe includes quite enough salt to really bring the flavors to life, so I will probably add more next time I make it. I added a few minced cloves of garlic along with the onion and that definitely added to the dish's flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      Easy preparation and delicious! This was my teenager's favorite part of the meal. Spinach? My kids? lol I made the whole recipe because I knew it wouldn't go to waste. I love spinach. Like Mirj, I omitted the flour, but next time I will try it with the flour to see the difference. I love that this calls for 5 pkgs of spinach. One little ol' package goes so fast. We're having leftover's this morning with an asparagus-tomato fritatta. Mmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I prepared this as written but found that for all that work it lacked depth. It was too oniony, I would cut the onion by half. Also it needed a little more flavor, despite all the cheese and cream. Perhaps some garlic?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      *****Incredibly Fantastic***** I needed a special recipe for this past Christmas dinner, for my spinach-loving vegetarian daughter. Something to be the "star" of the meal instead of the turkey. After reading various spinach recipe and reviews...I chose this. It was a HUGE hit, and everyone wanted the recipe. A star was born * I made this recipe again for Valentine's Day when my son and his new bride (also vegetarians) came to visit. Once again.... awesome*. Again the recipe was passed on. I follow the recipe exactly and will most definately make it again~ Purrfect

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Great recipe. So easy to throw together and I love that it can be made ahead and refrigerated until ready to bake. I served it with a rib roast and twice baked potatoes for Christmas for a very elegant meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This is one of my favorite Barefoot Contessa recipes. Thanks for posting it! I just made this for Thanksgiving for the second time, and everyone loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      Recipezaar, you did it again. What a wonderful dish! The only thing I added was sliced garlic, about 2 cloves, which I sauteed with the onion. Thanks, this was just the recipe I was looking for and will make it over and over again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I found this recipe from The Barefoot Contessa and decided to try it for Christmas. It was so simple, and a great hit. Makes great leftovers too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      The perfect side dish for a holiday meal, as it's quick to make and can sit for hours. I added more cheese, and used cheddar instead of gruyere.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      I love spinach and this was a very easy way to get my fix! I only used 2 bags of spinach and reduced everything else accordingly and I subbed an egg bkz I was out of flour. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Oh my God! 10+ stars!! Absolutely the best spinach side dish I have ever had. Preparation is simple. The taste is as good as the spinach side dishes you would get a high-end NYC steakhouse. Do not omit and/or substitute the nutmeg as it gives this dish a wonderful personality. Thank you Gay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

    • on April 30, 2009

      A good spinach bake, certainly does make lots! I halved the recipe and still had plenty. Easy to prepare and lots of flavour. I love spinach and will happily eat this every day, although the family may feel differently! :D Thanks, Gay, lovely recipe. Made for Secret Ingredient Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This is an awesome spinach dish! The flavors are perfect and we love it so much. It's great with fresh spinach too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      The first time I made this Ina Garten recipe no one touched it except me, and I loved it. So, what I do now is make the sauce ,pour it over steamed broccoli and cauliflower, and bake til the cheese melts. Everyone loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I cut this recipe in half to try first at home before using it for a potluck. We really liked it but I wasn't crazy about the presentation. When I make it for a potluck soon, I'll do the full recipe and see if there's any difference. My baking dish was very shallow and the spinach served up somewhat gooey is the best word I can come up with. But it tasted fantastic and I was licking the bowl so presentation be damned! Great dish thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Very good. I'm giving it only four stars as mine had a slightly bitter after taste and was slightly too salty for my taste buds. Still wonderful, nonetheless. It does make a huge amount. In the future, I will make only a half recipe unless I'm taking it to a pot luck meal. I will try freezing serving size portions next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Gratin

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.5
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    62%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 55.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 841.6 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes