63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

POST COMMENT: I went back and rated this anyways. It deserves to have at least five stars! I have tried the soup and thats all that matters. It warms your belly while awakening your taste buds.... it is a very hard experience to describe. So try it and see if you can explain the greatness of this soup! Not sure if it is fair for me to rate this seeing as I've had this from the GREAT MissPenny's kitchen itself, so here I am just commenting. EVEN THOUGH this deserves WAY more then five stars!!!!... I remember the first time I had this. I came home from school (then 7th grade) and MissPenny said Here! Try this! Of coure me being a 7th grader thought Ewwww Spinach! Ewwww Green Soup!!!! But MMMMMMMMM the smell just MADE me have to try it, and I have LOVED it EVER since. I miss it now :( With college and all. But there is always the hope of SPINACH GARLIC SOUP in the future :) TRY IT if nothing else...dont shy from the ingreidents or the funky green color! I took it to school for lunch and all my friends turned up their noses... UNTIL they tried it!!!!! WONDERFUL UNIQUE SOUP!!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LinnieLeigh November 15, 2003

Wonderful soup! As usual I had to modify it a bit. I substituted the flour for a potato and instead of making it in two pots, I sauteed the garlic, onion and carrot; then I added the potato and chicken stock. I then added the spinach and turned off the heat and let it sit for awhile before I gave it a go in the blender. I've already had a bowl and am ready for more! Thanks so much for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie #3 April 27, 2010

I enjoyed this soup. The texture and color reminded me of a broccoli soup I make. However, I really only tasted the garlic. Not that this is a negative, as I love garlic. However, I did not taste the spinach at all. Also, it almost tasted watered down, even though I used chicken broth. Next time I will try using only 3/4 cup of heavy cream and not adding the additional 1/4 cup of milk. As a garlic soup, this is a winner. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leilani October 08, 2009

Made this for Mother's Day, and it earned many good reviews. Very easy to make, and a great way to get the greens down! I used goat milk from my own goats that has a very high butterfat content, so I just put in a cup of that rather then a mixture of cream and milk. I also reduced the butter. I did think it needed something a little more and added a few squeezes of lemon juice and a few dashes of garlic salt. Thank you very much for sharing. :^)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelseyKalle May 11, 2009

First, I have to say that I followed the directions exactly. (I have a terrible habit of "tweaking" recipes.) Second, I'm not giving this a rating since everyone else who's rated it really liked it. We (4 adults) didn't care for it. We each had a small serving and the rest was thrown out. Was this soup supposed to taste slightly fishy? While I was making this, I noticed a fishy scent, and once it was served someone asked if I had used fish stock. I bought the spinach today specifically for this recipe and the spinach looked fresh. Could it have been the spinach that gave it that flavor?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bernrome December 30, 2006

This was pretty good. I think I used more spinach than it called for. I did use 1/2 c. butter since I didn't have any half-and-half (I used 1 cup evaporated milk in place of the milk and half-and-half). Only other addition was about 1/8 c. parmesan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miriachi May 10, 2014

Comment: I had a big bag of garlic on hand so I decided to use this recipe to get rid of some of it. Well, I know the difference between a clove and a bulb of garlic...So why did I use 8 bulbs of garlic instead of 8 cloves? Even so it's edible, I wouldn't serve it to anyone else, but even with so much garlic I'm enjoying this soup. I'm laughing at myself for this error!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B September 16, 2013

Who knew you could make cooked spinach so tasty! I remember being a little hesitant the first time I tried this, what with it being green and all, but I'm so glad I did! I was actually fighting the family for leftovers the next day!! To make it healthier, I used 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter, 1 tablespoon of oil, and a cup of milk instead of the heavy cream/milk ratio, and we think it's fine like that. Thanks MissPenny!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook August 08, 2013

Super easy to make, and leftovers are great for lunch at work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitsunami January 02, 2013

Thank you for this great recipe. I had a ton of spinach and was tiered of eating salad. However, I did have to make changes based on what I had in house. I used beef broth (although I was worried the soup would come out looking brown, it actually turned a very nice shade of green) and I replaced the cream and milk for 1 cup of half n half. My husband and I loved it and will be making this soup often. Thanks again.

1 (10 ounce) bag fresh spinach, trimmed and coarsely chopped
4 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup shredded carrot
1/2 cup chopped onion
8 garlic cloves, minced
1/3 cup butter
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon pepper


Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/spinach-garlic-soup-74365#ixzz1uYgL4Nko

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaPearla May 11, 2012
Spinach Garlic Soup