Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Garlic Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Garlic Soup

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2003

      POST COMMENT: I went back and rated this anyways. It deserves to have at least five stars! I have tried the soup and thats all that matters. It warms your belly while awakening your taste buds.... it is a very hard experience to describe. So try it and see if you can explain the greatness of this soup! Not sure if it is fair for me to rate this seeing as I've had this from the GREAT MissPenny's kitchen itself, so here I am just commenting. EVEN THOUGH this deserves WAY more then five stars!!!!... I remember the first time I had this. I came home from school (then 7th grade) and MissPenny said Here! Try this! Of coure me being a 7th grader thought Ewwww Spinach! Ewwww Green Soup!!!! But MMMMMMMMM the smell just MADE me have to try it, and I have LOVED it EVER since. I miss it now :( With college and all. But there is always the hope of SPINACH GARLIC SOUP in the future :) TRY IT if nothing else...dont shy from the ingreidents or the funky green color! I took it to school for lunch and all my friends turned up their noses... UNTIL they tried it!!!!! WONDERFUL UNIQUE SOUP!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      Wonderful soup! As usual I had to modify it a bit. I substituted the flour for a potato and instead of making it in two pots, I sauteed the garlic, onion and carrot; then I added the potato and chicken stock. I then added the spinach and turned off the heat and let it sit for awhile before I gave it a go in the blender. I've already had a bowl and am ready for more! Thanks so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I enjoyed this soup. The texture and color reminded me of a broccoli soup I make. However, I really only tasted the garlic. Not that this is a negative, as I love garlic. However, I did not taste the spinach at all. Also, it almost tasted watered down, even though I used chicken broth. Next time I will try using only 3/4 cup of heavy cream and not adding the additional 1/4 cup of milk. As a garlic soup, this is a winner. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Made this for Mother's Day, and it earned many good reviews. Very easy to make, and a great way to get the greens down! I used goat milk from my own goats that has a very high butterfat content, so I just put in a cup of that rather then a mixture of cream and milk. I also reduced the butter. I did think it needed something a little more and added a few squeezes of lemon juice and a few dashes of garlic salt. Thank you very much for sharing. :^)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      First, I have to say that I followed the directions exactly. (I have a terrible habit of "tweaking" recipes.) Second, I'm not giving this a rating since everyone else who's rated it really liked it. We (4 adults) didn't care for it. We each had a small serving and the rest was thrown out. Was this soup supposed to taste slightly fishy? While I was making this, I noticed a fishy scent, and once it was served someone asked if I had used fish stock. I bought the spinach today specifically for this recipe and the spinach looked fresh. Could it have been the spinach that gave it that flavor?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2014

      This was pretty good. I think I used more spinach than it called for. I did use 1/2 c. butter since I didn't have any half-and-half (I used 1 cup evaporated milk in place of the milk and half-and-half). Only other addition was about 1/8 c. parmesan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      Comment: I had a big bag of garlic on hand so I decided to use this recipe to get rid of some of it. Well, I know the difference between a clove and a bulb of garlic...So why did I use 8 bulbs of garlic instead of 8 cloves? Even so it's edible, I wouldn't serve it to anyone else, but even with so much garlic I'm enjoying this soup. I'm laughing at myself for this error!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      Who knew you could make cooked spinach so tasty! I remember being a little hesitant the first time I tried this, what with it being green and all, but I'm so glad I did! I was actually fighting the family for leftovers the next day!! To make it healthier, I used 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter, 1 tablespoon of oil, and a cup of milk instead of the heavy cream/milk ratio, and we think it's fine like that. Thanks MissPenny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Super easy to make, and leftovers are great for lunch at work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      Thank you for this great recipe. I had a ton of spinach and was tiered of eating salad. However, I did have to make changes based on what I had in house. I used beef broth (although I was worried the soup would come out looking brown, it actually turned a very nice shade of green) and I replaced the cream and milk for 1 cup of half n half. My husband and I loved it and will be making this soup often. Thanks again.

      1 (10 ounce) bag fresh spinach, trimmed and coarsely chopped
      4 cups chicken broth
      1/2 cup shredded carrot
      1/2 cup chopped onion
      8 garlic cloves, minced
      1/3 cup butter
      1/4 cup all-purpose flour
      3/4 cup heavy cream
      1/4 cup milk
      1/2 teaspoon pepper


      Read more: http://www.food.com/recipe/spinach-garlic-soup-74365#ixzz1uYgL4Nko

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

    • on November 17, 2011

      Super good!!!! Made it for dinner last night on a chilly Indiana evening and everybody gobbled it up! Will be making this frequently around here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      I liked this recipe so much, I searched for 30 mins on this site. I'd made it before but gave my printed copy to my father and hadn't bookmarked it. Anyway, now I'm off to make another batch! Oh and I add Kraft's Shredded Parmesan, Romano and Asiago cheese blend on top at the end and its lovely. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      Lovely soup. I took the advice of several posters and tweaked the soup as they recommended, plus improvising myself as follows: I reduced the amount of garlic to a little over half that listed; sautéed the onion, garlic and spinach in butter in one pot instead of using two; I omitted the carrot bc I did not have any on hand; I used one large cooked potato in place of the flour; I used vegetable stock instead of chicken and used a full cup of heavy cream instead of adding the milk. I'm glad I reduced the garlic b/c I think it would have overwhelmingly dominated the soup if I had not. The soup is a brighter green than I expected and, although delicious tasting, would look more appetizing with some chopped red peppers or grated carrots added as garnish. Wonderful to eat with warm crusty bread. Thank you so much, Miss Penny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      5 years ago I'd had a soup on a cruise ship that was out of this world. I do believe this was it!! I just love this! I also had cut down on the butter and just added 1 cup of fat free 1/2 & 1/2. Very rich, very creamy, very delicious!! Mmmm...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Made this earlier today for St. Patti's Day! Great soup... amazing really how so simply turned out to be so flavorful! Even hubby like it and I have a hard time getting him to eat veggies. I cut back butter to 2 tablespoons, reversed the cream to 1/4 cup and milk to 3/4, and topped with fresh topped italian parsley and fresh shaved parmesan. For the festivities we also had a green salad, lemon-green tea, and a green cake. Makes life fun! The soup is truly delicious...will make again and again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      We were very skeptical of this soup, but it was DELICIOUS!! I added some parmesan cheese on top for extra flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I love this soup! I doubled the recipe and simmered some mushrooms in with the spinach/carrot mixture. I will be making this often. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Very nice, adjusted by only adding 3 cups of broth and 5 cloves of garlic (very small children eating it). I added some shrimp to the soup just before serving as suggested by another reviewer. The children liked it and I also thought it tasted good, but didn't think it was amazing though. Nice flavour but maybe not so spectacular because i didn't add all the garlic?? Thanks for recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Exceptional soup! My grandchildren loved it. What a great way to get the dreaded vegetables like spinach into their diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Garlic Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 408.8
     
    Calories from Fat 308
    75%
    Total Fat 34.2 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 20.8 g
    104%
    Cholesterol 103.9 mg
    34%
    Sodium 980.7 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes