Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach-Garlic-Edamame Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach-Garlic-Edamame Hummus

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2009

      I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. I made this last year for a party and it was a big hit. Last night I had a craving for it and whipped up a batch. I used half the amount of oil and made up the difference with the liquid from the chick peas. I also added a tablespoon of lemon juice. I had roasted some garlic earlier and used that instead of raw garlic. It was so good, I had trouble stopping myself from eating it all right then. I ended up having a good sized dollop of it on top of some brown rice for supper. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Yum! I liked this alot. I will try to freeze in muffin tins for lunches and see how it works. Great Recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      so....I wanted to make something different tonight....and knew I had a bag of edamame in the freezer, so searched recipes for it....I used the IDEA from this recipe....what I came up with was a bit different...and soooo good. first, I boiled the edamame, then put it in my food processor with a can of drained spinach and 3 cloves of garlic, added EVOO, a splash of lemon juice, a pinch of salt, and some green chile hot sauce I had in the spice rack....it was sooo good!! I spreaded that mixture on mine and hubby's plates....then topped it with some tuna mixed with fire roasted tomatoes, chopped celery, and a BIT of miracle whip.....WOW was it GOOOOOOD!!!! maybe I'll write it out seperately on this site!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      This was delicious and super easy to make! I added an avocado to it and it gave it a great creamier taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      I subbbed the tahini for some peanut butter and sesame oil. This was pretty good, I've never had hummus before so I can't compare it to anything, but I think it'd be great on a veggie sandwich or falafel. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      I made this for the first time last night to take to a party. My hubby and I loved it, the party goers loved it--even the hosts' three-year old loved it! I don't think we'll be buying any more hummus from the store. I made it as written, but thawed the spinach first in the microwave before I added it to the food processor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Beautiful color, wonderful flavor and so easy to make. The only changes I made were to reduce the amount of red pepper flakes (about 1 tsp, I think) and I added the juice of 1 lemon. I won't do that again, as there was a touch of bitterness to the aftertaste, taken away with a sprinkle of nutmeg, but still... Excellent recipe. I will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Awesome! I'm a big fan of hummus, and made this for our pre-Thanksgiving dinner with friends (in order to test it out for Thanksgiving dinner later in the week!) It was a huge hit! I used all 6 cloves of garlic (albeit they weren't huge cloves), a 15 oz can of garbanzos, 1 tsp red pepper flakes (made it nice and warm, but not HOT), only 1 tsp of kosher salt, and I didn't measure the olive oil, but simply poured while the food processor was running until I had a nice smooshy texture. Delicious, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      I've tried 3 or 4 homemade hummus recipes in the past and was never really satisfied. This recipe hit the spot though. YUM. I used 4 cloves of garlic, a 16oz can of garbanzo beans (it's what was in the pantry), and 1/4 cup of EVOO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      I only used 1/2 of the hot pepper; but all of the garlic! This made great sandwiches with cucumbers and carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Mmmmmmm, yummy!! I reduced the tahini to about 1/3 cup and left the olive oil out completely. Also used a lot less red pepper~~though my hubby will spice it up on his! Just used the garbanzo liquid to get it smooth. Also used 5 cloves of roasted garlic and added lemon juice (probably 1/4 cup) and a bit of cumin. Delish! I think it will get tastier as it sits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This recipe was very easy to follow and quick to make. I made it for a food day/competition at work. Needless to say I won and had many people compliment my dip. Some even said it was the best hummus they have tasted. I did add some fresh lemon juice but other than that stuck to the recipe as written. I also would like to mention I served it with locally grown and produced blue tortilla chips. Delicious!! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      I was very excited about this recipe and made it for the Superbowl weekend. I thought what a perfect combination; garlic, spinach. and edamame. This was good, not very good, and not great. I am a huge edamame fan and the spinach and the garbanzo beans over powered the flavor of the edamame. I don't know why they were in there except for color. I also added the juice of 1 lemon to try to freshen up the taste. If you are an edamame fan, there are better recipes out there for edamame hummus. If you are just looking for a way to eat your spinach, this is a good way to do it. Outside of that, I appreciate the recipe, but I would not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

    • on September 11, 2006

      I was sceptical thinking few people would be very receptive to a green hummus. !BOY! was I wrong it was one of the most flavorful hummus we ever sampled. I work in a in the health food industry and this is a real winner. Thanks for the creativity that you showed with this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      Ummmmmmmm. I brought this for lunch today with pita and veggies. This dish might be the world's most perfect food, if you're a fan of hummus. The creaminess of the edamame and tahini, the slight courseness of the garbanzo beans and the fresh veggie essence combined with the slight bite of of the red pepper flakes just make me happy. I made this with dried (cooked)garbanzos, and substiuted some of the cooking liquid for some of the olive oil to conserve fat and calories as suggested in other reviews. If you're a pepper wuss like me, just use a couple of small shakes from the red pepper flake bottle. I wouldn't suggest omiting it entirely, as they really add a sense of balance to the dish. Now where's my lunch bag....?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      Whipped up a batch of this to go with our dinner tonight and it's so good!! I used 4 LARGE garlic cloves since I figured the flavor would be stronger in a few hours at dinner time. I think the red pepper flakes (I used the full amount) is a nice spicy touch and love it. This is a great way to make hummus. Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      I thought this was going to be good. I was wrong. It was great! Heh, I will use less garlic next time though :] I left out all the salt, and used about 2.5 teaspoons of red pepper flakes; I might use a little more than that next time. Whoa, now that I think back, I also left out olive oil and water.... UPDATE: Ok, I've made it a couple of times since I originally reviewed it. (Even though my first review was like, yesterday.) I personally like it best smashing it with a potato masher thing and a spoon and then mixing it together. Also, I really do not reccomend adding water, unless you don't like spicy/garlic-y food. Oh, and I use 5 cloves of garlic, and I'd probably reccomend someone who doesn't feel strongly about garlic to use 3 or 4 cloves. Thanks for this great, healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Yum! I made a substitute of cannellini beans for the garbanzos, as I just can't seem to like the taste of garbanzos. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly...lots of garlic, and all. I served this up with some toasted and seasoned wedges of whole wheat flour tortillas and loved it. I will be snacking on this for quick lunches during the week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach-Garlic-Edamame Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 641.2
     
    Calories from Fat 389
    60%
    Total Fat 43.2 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1968.4 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 13.1 g
    52%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes