19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

my kids just wolfed this down! we used fresh spinach and my kids begged me to add some mushrooms and garlic, the combo was just wonderful and although we had this as a side dish we all agreed we could easily make a meal out of it. i did double the recipe for the 6 of us.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia September 28, 2003

This was delicious. I love anything with feta!!! I used fresh spinach because that is what I had and I probably should have used more, I always underestimate how much it shrinks. I also did not have any green onions so I very thinly sliced a small yellow onion I had on hand and sauteed until golden brown. I'm excited to try it as written but it was still delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julia Lynn January 22, 2010

This was SO good! The combo of spinach, feta and dill, mixed with the orzo made a nice, refreshing taste to this side dish. I substituted a bunch of fresh, farmer's market spinach for the frozen called for and I added a healthy pinch of salt to the water while cooking the orzo, otherwise did the recipe as written. This satisfied the pasta/spinach and feta lovers in my family. Thanks Geema!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude September 07, 2003

I added a star from my last review. I made this again using 1/2 the spinach and more onion. It was really delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Pepper September 02, 2013

Loved this new way to serve orzo! Made the recipe just as is except with fresh spinach. The flavors are wonderful and the dill was a very nice complement when served along with baked salmon. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasGal #2 April 10, 2013

This is a good recipe, but the flavor finished too quickly. I wanted to add a little something to bring up the flavor a notch and to add a bit more depth to the flavor. After fiddling with several add-ins, I settled on diced sun-dried tomatoes that were softened in olive oil, and then added a splash of basil oil to finish and sprinkled with chiffanade basil ribbons. There is just something about pasta and spinach that screams for sun dried tomatoes and fresh basil., and this just hits the spot. You won't be dissappointed, I promise. Was asked to by a caterer for this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenMistress June 20, 2012

Loved this! Added minced garlic and used dried dill. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl January 10, 2010

Yum! Easy great side dish or quick vegetarian meal :) Added a lot more feta because I love it (like jrusk). My box of frozen spinach was larger (I think 10oz?), so I used the whole thing. Added canned tomatoes with chilies (as suggested by another), added some squash that I needed to cook (diced), roasted some pine nuts and threw those in there too... DELICIOUS! I'll have to try adding mushrooms since I love those too! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TampaChef October 13, 2009

Delicous, and Easy... Thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamie #4 September 02, 2009

Very yummy! We ate it as a vegetarian main dish for four. I increased the feta to about 1/3 cup but otherwise made no changes. I had never tried orzo before, and I'm glad this was the first recipe I chose for it! I think that next time, I'll add some mushrooms and perhaps zucchini. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DCKiki August 27, 2009
Spinach Feta Orzo