Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Feta Orzo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Feta Orzo

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2003

      my kids just wolfed this down! we used fresh spinach and my kids begged me to add some mushrooms and garlic, the combo was just wonderful and although we had this as a side dish we all agreed we could easily make a meal out of it. i did double the recipe for the 6 of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      This was delicious. I love anything with feta!!! I used fresh spinach because that is what I had and I probably should have used more, I always underestimate how much it shrinks. I also did not have any green onions so I very thinly sliced a small yellow onion I had on hand and sauteed until golden brown. I'm excited to try it as written but it was still delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      This was SO good! The combo of spinach, feta and dill, mixed with the orzo made a nice, refreshing taste to this side dish. I substituted a bunch of fresh, farmer's market spinach for the frozen called for and I added a healthy pinch of salt to the water while cooking the orzo, otherwise did the recipe as written. This satisfied the pasta/spinach and feta lovers in my family. Thanks Geema!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      I added a star from my last review. I made this again using 1/2 the spinach and more onion. It was really delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Loved this new way to serve orzo! Made the recipe just as is except with fresh spinach. The flavors are wonderful and the dill was a very nice complement when served along with baked salmon. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      This is a good recipe, but the flavor finished too quickly. I wanted to add a little something to bring up the flavor a notch and to add a bit more depth to the flavor. After fiddling with several add-ins, I settled on diced sun-dried tomatoes that were softened in olive oil, and then added a splash of basil oil to finish and sprinkled with chiffanade basil ribbons. There is just something about pasta and spinach that screams for sun dried tomatoes and fresh basil., and this just hits the spot. You won't be dissappointed, I promise. Was asked to by a caterer for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Loved this! Added minced garlic and used dried dill. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Yum! Easy great side dish or quick vegetarian meal :) Added a lot more feta because I love it (like jrusk). My box of frozen spinach was larger (I think 10oz?), so I used the whole thing. Added canned tomatoes with chilies (as suggested by another), added some squash that I needed to cook (diced), roasted some pine nuts and threw those in there too... DELICIOUS! I'll have to try adding mushrooms since I love those too! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Delicous, and Easy... Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Very yummy! We ate it as a vegetarian main dish for four. I increased the feta to about 1/3 cup but otherwise made no changes. I had never tried orzo before, and I'm glad this was the first recipe I chose for it! I think that next time, I'll add some mushrooms and perhaps zucchini. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Mmmmmmmmm . . . yummy! The only thing I changed was to add more feta cheese. Otherwise made exactly as you wrote it. Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      beautiful side dish! this becomes the star of the meal! i followed the recipe exactly, except for doubling the feta and dill! i think next time, i'll try adding toasted, slivered almonds! this is a true keeper!! thanks so much! this is going into my regular rotation!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      This was so good, but I made a few changes. I doubled the recipe and I sauted some brocolli and mushrooms with the onion and spinach. I made this to go with the Lebanese Excite Me Tonight Chicken (Excite Me Tonight! Chicken!) and added the leftover marinade to the veggies while they were cooking. Soooo good!! Finally, I stirred in some shaved parm along with the feta. Yum! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      This was awesome! The only thing I did differently was add a lot more feta because I love it! Thanks for sharing Geema;)UPDATE: See Geema...I can't stop making this. Just wanted to say I added one can rotel tomatoes with chilies and it made the flavors pop even more. WOW!!! I didn't think it could get better;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      I liked this as a vegetarian side dish. We teamed this up with a Tomato Basil Strata and it came out very good. I think next time I will add roasted red pepper to this dish for flavor and color. Maybe some garlic next time too... but that one is a maybe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Loved it! I used fresh baby spinach and doubled the feta. Red onion and tri-color orzo made it extra colorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      This is yummy! I used fresh spinach and dry dill. A little too much onion for our tastes, maybe I should have chopped it smaller? I added grape tomatoes. Nice tasty and easy salad. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      I had never cooked orzo before and this turned out really well. I substituted dried dill for fresh and added two garlic cloves and half a small can of mushrooms. And I steamed about half a bag of fresh spinach instead of using frozen spinach. This all worked out well. I'm giving this recipe four stars, however, because I did end up needing to add more than just a dash of salt. I also added a little margarine to try to fill out the flavors a bit. But overall this was a great-tasting, light side dish that I will make again and continue to experiment with. Even my husband who's afraid of spinach ate every bite without complaint!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      Geema, we loved your orzo. I added some garlic and nutmeg to the onion and spinach mixture and omitted the fresh dill as I didn't have any on hand. The orzo was so delicious, my family devoured it. I'm sure it'll taste even better with the fresh dill. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Feta Orzo

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.3
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    21%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 9.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 158.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites