Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Enchiladas - Low-Fat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Enchiladas - Low-Fat

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2011

      very good. next time i'm doubling the beans (spinach was just a little too overwhelming), but, it is definitely a keeper. thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Great! Only change I made was to use fresh baby spinach rather than frozen, and regular tomato sauce rather than reduced sodium. Very yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I love this - you have to be careful to make enough tomato sauce to cover the dish but it turns out splendidly and even my anti-veggie male family members love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      this recipe was surprisingly pretty good. i did add a pound of x-lean ground beef with a 6 oz. package of mushrooms and a 16 oz. pack of spinach. insteda of making the sauce i used a large can of roarita enchilada sauce and then just layered the tortillas instead of rolling them. i always try to find the easiest way to make my meals. :) also i used reg extra sharp cheddar. i feel that with it being so good for you the whole fat cheese doesnt hurt too much. also, you can taste the spinach but it wasnt too over powering for us. thank you, we will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      This recipe looked soooooo good! I was dying to try it and cooked it exactly as written. However neither DH or I cared for it at all. We threw away a ton of leftovers. I'm sorry! There was wayyyyy too much spinach. I would cut it in half at least, next time and instead of 1 can beans, I'd add 2. We used pinto and really liked that part. There also wasn't enough sauce, and I used a 10oz can. It came out kind of dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      Wonderful! I used my own enchilada sauce, zucchini for the mushrooms & fresh spinach. So easy & healthy; thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      We really enjoyed these on a cold, snowy winter night when both husband and I are just beating a cold...great spice to really warm you up...had to play with the portions a bit...used one package of spinach, then tons more onion (I think almost a cup) added red pepper (about a cup as well) and did a bean mix of mashed pintos and whole black beans...liberally added chipotle chili, cumin and hot sauce and used a spicy tomato sauce as well rolled into multi-grain tortillas...it was HOT - HOT - HOT and super yummy, filling & satisfying with lots of leftovers that taste just as great reheated...just what we needed!!! I think we are both better now...Thanks Toni :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      This is a great start to a wonderful recipe! It tastes delicious and decadent but is really good for you. I tend to like my food spicy and with a lot of flavor. For this reason, if I make this again, I will add lots more flavor. Definantly more spice (even though when making it 3t of chili powder seemed like it would do the trick)will be added next time and I might even like to add some garlic or other flavor. Try this, it's really good.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      Yowza!!! These are amazing! I thought we'd have left overs, but nope, we at them all in one sitting! I only had one pack of spinach, so I sauteed a zuchinni with the mushrooms and onion etc. I also added two cloves of garlic. I highly recommend softening the tortillas by microwaving them before you dip them. That way they won't break.... I also added a bit of onion and garlic powder to the tomato sauce. Otherwise, PERFECT! A great vegetarian dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      These are great, it worked out so well, had all the ingredients right in the pantry, and loved the fact that this was a good "vegetarian" change, that was healthy. Recipe was easy to follow, and followed it exactly, except; I just added 1/4 cup of the "sauce" in with the spinach, mushroom, and onion mixture. Rolled all this up in the tortilla, put in dish, and ladled rest of sauce on top, and finally jalapeno jack cheese. Yummy! Thanks so much, Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      Can't believe this is low-fat!! This was a great cold rainy night meal!! Used fresh spinach and low-fat mozzarella cheese. I ran out of tomato sauce, so used medium salsa instead. Also added some black olives. This was easy, delicious and tasty (it had a nice little kick with the hot pepper sauce and the red pepper flakes)! Thanks Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      My version was less low fat than intended as I had full fat chedder to hand and felt the need to butter the baking dish (I did manage to resist the temptation to add oil when frying the filling ingredients though). The filling was wonderful, although I had to make a few changes due to DH's sensitive tastebuds and what I had to hand (I reduced the amount of chili powder and subbed the hot pepper sauce with minced chippotle chillies in adobo sauce). I noted Kumquat the Cat's friend's comments and didn't dry the spinach; I also added a bit of bean water when I noticed the filling sticking to my (non stick pan). I'd not tried dipping tortillas in sauce before; although I managed to get sauce everywhere while doing it (if something can be spilt or splodged, I'll do it), it made such a difference to the finished dish that I'll continue with this method in future. Scrumptious recipe Toni.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      Great Mexican dish - low fat and healthy. The filling (I used black beans) on its own I thought would make a really delicious side dish. I did have a few fixable glitches with this recipe, though. Add water when cooking spinach and beans, as they started to stick to my pan (or perhaps use a non-stick skillet). (I squeezed my spinach dry after thawing.) Also, next time I would add more tomato sauce as I thought it was a bit dry. Otherwise, very tasty! I omitted the mushrooms because I don't like them and used half non-fat cheddar and half regular monterey jack and added extra hot sauce when serving. Mmmm! Thanks Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Enchiladas - Low-Fat

    Serving Size: 1 (437 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.0
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    12%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 5.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 397.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.6 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 18.8 g
    75%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 26.1 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites