23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe. I make almost the same except add 1 grated carrot, some grated colby-jack cheese & horseradish to taste (just for a little bite)! For those who find this messy, wrap the rolls tightly in waxed paper or foil, chill overnight or at least a few hours. Cut with an electric knife! Breezes right through with even pieces! Thanks Charmie777, Nina

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nina22541 March 20, 2014

These were very good, but they were a bit soggy. I will make them again but maybe try with a flat bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. September 27, 2012

I made these for a wedding reception and I was making so many I decided to make them the day before and cut them the next morning! How lucky! They cut easily when very cold. As the additional trays were waiting to be cut, I stored them in the freezer to keep them from coming to room temperature. I froze the left overs and thawed them a couple of days later and they were still great. I like the recipe but I may try wraps instead of tortillas and I want to add artichokes. I used the whole back of 10oz frozen spinach instead of the box frozen spinach and it worked fine. Thanks for sharing this. I will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vestspeechteacher December 14, 2010

This was a very easy appetizer! We brought these to a picnic and they were gone in no time. The roll-ups were a lot easier to bring than the traditional bread bowl. We used both the spinach and sun-dried tomato flavored tortilla shells, and left out the water chestnuts. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeckaBoo June 03, 2007

I highly recommend this recipe for an easy and very delicious appetizer. We are used to seeing and enjoying spinach dip and spinach in loaves on the home party circuit, and this was an excellent twist to an old favourite. I used low fat mayo and sour cream to cut calories and this did not compromise the taste or texture. I did find the water chestnuts a little too crunchy compared to the soft texture of the torillas, I will probably omit them in the future, but many would appreciate the opposing textures. To save time due to an extensive holiday appetizer menu, I mixed up all the filling ingredients the night before rolling the pinwheels. This is a great year-round recipe and I will be making them again soon for an upcoming spring wind-up. Thank you for posting Charmie777 !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dee March 26, 2007

This was the first time making spinach dip...this recipe was very easy to follow...unfortunately, I never got to make the pinwheels, as my family starting dipping the minute it was done...it was delicious...will try for pinwheels the next time...Forgot to add the stars on my review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP March 01, 2007

What a great idea. We had just bought a tub of spinach dip for this week end (our local market sells it for less than what we can make it for some times). Since we are having a get together we tried it ourselves first. Both my DH and I loved it so we will be making plenty for the party. I usually do a crab, cream cheese one but this is so easy and cheap. Not to mention great tasting. Thank you so much. What a great idea!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jo.woodbeck December 29, 2006

These got gobbled up quickly! Very tasty, next time I may cut back on the sour cream only slightly as some of mine were sloppy as I was cutting them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules127 December 18, 2006

I just love this recipe! Thank you for a new twist on an already fantastic dip!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltedcountry July 02, 2006

Great alternative to the usual spinach dip without the bread! I also used only 8oz. sour cream like the original recipe calls for. I made this for a graduation party we went to and everyone loved it! I was confused by the "120 inches flour tortillas" that the recipe stated, but a pack of taco size tortilla is what is needed. I also omitted the water chestnuts since alot of people don't care for these. I will definetely make these again and I wonder what other dips I've made in the past will convert to pinwheels like these?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda D June 03, 2006
Spinach Dip Pinwheels