Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Dip Pinwheels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Dip Pinwheels

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2007

      Made this for a wedding of 120; next time I will leave out the water chestnuts as they made holes in the tortillas when rolling. Excellent taste and it is important to use the various colors in the tortillas to make an impact on your table. Also, cut them into 4" rolls and cut them in half on the diagonal. You can stand them up on the flat end and they look marvelous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      These are delicious, but quite messy to cut. If not for that, they would easily get five stars here. Made for our family Christmas party using spinach tortillas which paired perfectly with the dip. I'll make them again & experiment with how much to spread on each and if there's an easier way to cut them. Yummy though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Makes a great tasty snack!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      A good idea for spinach dip if you have a bit more time to make the rolls and want to cut up. I used spinach tortillas and also whole wheat lavash bread. I liked the sturdiness of the lavash bread, so it rolled up and refreigerated more nicely. The rectangle shape also makes cutting easier. The spinach tortillas were kind of soft, so didn't refrigerate into a nice circle (one side flat) and kind of soggy overall with the spinach dip. Both worked well, so it's a matter of preference if you like softer/soggier rolls or sturdier rolls. I had some trouble rolling it tightly with the tortialls, but not with the lavash bread. I also found it hard to find the right amount of filling to put inside - that is another preference if you like more spinach dip or more bread as you eat it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Great idea instead of the bread bowl. Instead of the water chestnuts, I add 8 oz imitation crab, finely chopped.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      These were a big hit at the potluck I brought them to. I substituted 1.5 cups of nonfat plain yogurt and .5 cups light mayo for the regular sour cream and mayo. (I was thinking of the recipe on the back of the Knorr package, which called for only 8oz sour cream as many other have also mentioned.) I minced a clove of garlic into the dip, and I also subbed chives for the green onions. I saw another recipe for a very similar spinach dip (without the pinwheel idea) that called for Knorr Leek recipe mix instead of the Vegetable, and I wanted to try that, but I looked in two local grocery stores and could only get the vegetable. I found some of the veggie dip flavor a bit overpowering, so I think I might prefer the Leek if I can ever find it. I'll also add the suggestion that if you can find rectangular lavash flatbreads, they are a better shape for rolling since you don't have to trim off the ends. I used a variety of wraps and flatbreads (rather than acutal tortillas) and they were all yummy! Thanks for a wonderful party recipe idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      This was a nice alternative to the standard way of serving spinach dip. I especially liked the inclusion of green onions to the mix. Thanks for posting, Charmie777!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      A hit for Thanksgiving. Interesting comment from my adult son - he felt he liked these roll ups because they did not have cream cheese in the filling. The younger kids were eating these right along with the adults - so it is a crowd pleaser. A sincere thank-you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      These are very good. A bit messy, but worth it. Easy to make also. Thanks, Charmie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      Made these for a church tea party. They were very easy to make and well recieved by the guests. I have also made them at home and added black olives and spouts and we ate them between softball games. The girls liked this for a change of pace. I chop the water chestnuts extra fine and had no trouble with tearing the tortilla. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      This is a great recipe. I make almost the same except add 1 grated carrot, some grated colby-jack cheese & horseradish to taste (just for a little bite)! For those who find this messy, wrap the rolls tightly in waxed paper or foil, chill overnight or at least a few hours. Cut with an electric knife! Breezes right through with even pieces! Thanks Charmie777, Nina

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      These were very good, but they were a bit soggy. I will make them again but maybe try with a flat bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      I made these for a wedding reception and I was making so many I decided to make them the day before and cut them the next morning! How lucky! They cut easily when very cold. As the additional trays were waiting to be cut, I stored them in the freezer to keep them from coming to room temperature. I froze the left overs and thawed them a couple of days later and they were still great. I like the recipe but I may try wraps instead of tortillas and I want to add artichokes. I used the whole back of 10oz frozen spinach instead of the box frozen spinach and it worked fine. Thanks for sharing this. I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      This was a very easy appetizer! We brought these to a picnic and they were gone in no time. The roll-ups were a lot easier to bring than the traditional bread bowl. We used both the spinach and sun-dried tomato flavored tortilla shells, and left out the water chestnuts. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      I highly recommend this recipe for an easy and very delicious appetizer. We are used to seeing and enjoying spinach dip and spinach in loaves on the home party circuit, and this was an excellent twist to an old favourite. I used low fat mayo and sour cream to cut calories and this did not compromise the taste or texture. I did find the water chestnuts a little too crunchy compared to the soft texture of the torillas, I will probably omit them in the future, but many would appreciate the opposing textures. To save time due to an extensive holiday appetizer menu, I mixed up all the filling ingredients the night before rolling the pinwheels. This is a great year-round recipe and I will be making them again soon for an upcoming spring wind-up. Thank you for posting Charmie777 !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      This was the first time making spinach dip...this recipe was very easy to follow...unfortunately, I never got to make the pinwheels, as my family starting dipping the minute it was done...it was delicious...will try for pinwheels the next time...Forgot to add the stars on my review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      What a great idea. We had just bought a tub of spinach dip for this week end (our local market sells it for less than what we can make it for some times). Since we are having a get together we tried it ourselves first. Both my DH and I loved it so we will be making plenty for the party. I usually do a crab, cream cheese one but this is so easy and cheap. Not to mention great tasting. Thank you so much. What a great idea!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      These got gobbled up quickly! Very tasty, next time I may cut back on the sour cream only slightly as some of mine were sloppy as I was cutting them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      I just love this recipe! Thank you for a new twist on an already fantastic dip!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      Great alternative to the usual spinach dip without the bread! I also used only 8oz. sour cream like the original recipe calls for. I made this for a graduation party we went to and everyone loved it! I was confused by the "120 inches flour tortillas" that the recipe stated, but a pack of taco size tortilla is what is needed. I also omitted the water chestnuts since alot of people don't care for these. I will definetely make these again and I wonder what other dips I've made in the past will convert to pinwheels like these?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Dip Pinwheels

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 421.1
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    43%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 26.0 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1113.5 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes