Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Spinach Delight ( Lana's Spinach Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Delight ( Lana's Spinach Salad)

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2008

      Made for Sunday lunch yesterday, I also used fresh sprouts and only one can of water chestnuts. I actually bought mandarin segments to add and at the last minute decided not to, a wise decision because the salad dressing is unusual and very rich, it really does make the salad. I actually had DS put the salad and dressing together as I finished off other things, as per your note, we kept the dressing separate, and the guests commented that the dressing would go beautifully with meats, etc as well, they thought it was more of a smooth chutney than a dressing! Thank you for an unusual and well-received salad that I'll definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      awesome, thanks for a great salad! i made mine with silverbeet which doesnt seem to wilt as quickly, also used sliced celery instead of water chestnuts, and crunchy fried cheese. also added some sunflower seeds. it tasted so green and yummy! you just have to have dark green salad sometimes eh. the tomato in the dressing makes it really substantial, and i think the salad would complement asian dishes really well too. i added a tsp of mustard powder to the dressing which grounded the flavours nicely. thanks again - definitely making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      Tasty salad, even though bean sprouts and water chestnuts are not favorites of mine; but I wanted to try it as listed. The dressing is very tasty- a little bit sweet and sour. My new revelation- replace bacon with smoked sundried tomatoes! Similar flavor, less fat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      Gotta admit, I was skeptical about the ketchup but it was fabulous! Added cremini mushrooms and Swiss cheese and it was so good I had it for my main course. Thanks! A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Yummmmmmy. I made this salad for our supper last night and we enjoyed it very much. Our spinach in the garden is ready and I'm always on the lookout for a new salad. This is it.....we loved the added crunch from the water chestnuts and the dressing was wonderful. I did use some of the bacon fat for the vegetable oil otherwise followed the recipe. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Wonderful salad! This one's going into my cookbook...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Great salad! We loved the dressing. So quick and easy to put together. Will serve this to guest. Thanks for posting this lovely salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I LOVED the idea of the water chestnuts! My hubby hates mushrooms and this sounded like a good alternative. I actually used a slightly different variation of the dressing that was sweetened rice wine vinegar, coarse mustard and hot sauce. Sweet and tangy all the same though. What put it over the top was that I marinated the water chestnuts in the dressing for a couple hours before serving time and they really absorbed the flavor. Everyone commented on how good they were and the crunch can't be beat. My hubby and boss were fighting over the last morsels on the tray. If boys eat veggies I know it is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Yep! It's a good one. Sometimes can add mandaring oranges, and/or raisins too. I left the salt out of the dressing, and used Splenda instead of sugar, and still great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      Yummy! Thanks, That Girl. Even without the sprouts its a great salad. Very easy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      My sister is the one who submitted this salad "that girl" I love it and it's always a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      Okay, so I concur with everyone else! This is great! I already make a bottled dressing almost the same as the one in this recipe, so it was really easy to put together. I also had frozen crumbled bacon. I made a smaller serving w/one egg and reduced amts of everything. I used fresh sprouts and bamboo shoots (had 1/2 can.) If I had left out the sprouts and shoots, my 7 yo would have gobbled it up. He picked out and ate the spinach, eggs and bacon. He eats fresh spinach w/ranch dressing. I only topped the individual bowls of salad, not the main bowl, with dressing. A nice change from regular salad (even using the same dressing!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      I love this salad! I could eat this every night...YUM! Even my hubby (who doesn't like spinach) ate a big bowl of it. We will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      This dressing is amazing! The best tasting spinach salad I've had. I took some liberties with the salad ingredients-left out the canned things and added some other fresh veggies instead. I doubt I'll eat fresh spinach without this dressing ever again-it's delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      So good, I got addicted. I love the dressing and I think next time I'll add a few more veggies! Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      This salad was a unique and tasty. It was too sweet though. When I make it again I will cut down on the sugar and ketchup. I would also opt for the one can of water chesnuts that I read in a review. Real bacon bits (not the artificial ones) can be added to ease on prep time. My husband says this salad is now his preferred method to eat spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      We loved the flavor and crunch of this salad. We used fresh spinach from our garden. Very easy to make too. The dressing makes this salad special, and it goes very well with the bean sprouts and spinach. A very nice change from the regular everyday tossed salad! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      This was great and a wonderful change from the normal, ho hum summer salad. I didn't have any bean sprouts or water chestnuts, so I used fresh sliced mushrooms instead. I think this is the kind of salad where the veggies don't really matter (besides the spinach), but it's the dressing that really makes it. I crumbled fresh crisp bacon and sliced hard boiled eggs, tossed everything together and had a fantastic salad with our grilled chicken breast and leftover fried potatoes. I halved the dressing recipe and followed it to a T. It had a bit of a strong ketchup taste, so a bit more vinegar fixed that. The dressing was fabulous and I will definitely make this again! This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      I wasn't sure of this recipe but had to use some spinach and the reviews made me try the recipe. OMG!!! This salad is WONDERFUL!! My friend (who isn't a salad person) loved it and wanted the recipe. I made 1/2 of the recipe and it worked just fine for four people. If you are making the whole recipe, it would be a main dish for four. Thanks for this recipe and the reviews that made me try it- I took a risk and it paid off!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      Mmm mmm MMM!! This was absolutely fabulous. We had it as the main dish with orange slices on the side. I wasn't sure how the ingredients would combine, but I trusted the reviews and boy, was everybody right! I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Delight ( Lana's Spinach Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 475.8
     
    Calories from Fat 310
    65%
    Total Fat 34.4 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 100.2 mg
    33%
    Sodium 866.3 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 21.9 g
    87%
    Protein 9.9 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites