13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Idea is great, just modified it dramatically due to what was in my fridge. I mixed the fresh spinach with shredded mozarella and cottage cheese, added musterd and a tiny spoon of mayonaise, than spread it on my (dark) bread and put some slices of pastrami on top. Grilled and it tasted delicious!! thank for a great idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamaDlicious February 17, 2010

Decent sandwich, a step up from grilled cheese, to be sure. Being a vegetarian, I made it without the bacon, and I'm betting that ingredient makes it a whole lot better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS November 24, 2009

We loved this sandwich!! My DH said "this is a keeper" dubbed it the "spinach Reuben" and devoured every bite! Made it just as written but with MSF vegetarian bacon. We're already looking forward to the next time! Yummm!!! Thank you maddy331 for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B June 22, 2009

I used to make this & am so glad to find it again. Although I never used bacon, I will next time. It's absolutely delicious even without it and I'm sure that would just send it over the top! Another nice touch is adding some sauteed mushrooms with the spinach/cheese mixture. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LitaLou May 04, 2009

Yum! My son and I both (surprisingly) loved this! He came in the house, saying that something smelled really good, and the compliments kept coming. I used what I had on hand: grated gouda (instead of swiss), and whole wheat bread. I added a clove of crushed garlic, and I grilled it on my George Foreman. I mixed everything together, and spread it on the bread. My son, who's a bacon lover, looked at the recipe to verify its addition, and said was really great. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belinda in Austin, TX March 06, 2009

This was delicious! It's getting 4 stars because the ingredient list wasn't very clear, and I can't imagine how this would serve only 2 people! I used reduced fat mozzarella cheese, fat free mayo (1 tbsp + 1 1/2 tsp for one person), spicy brown mustard, turkey bacon & a whole wheat tortilla instead of bread. I didn't use that much parmesan; the mozzarella was enough cheese for me! I cooked it like a quesadilla, folded over in a skillet-and added minced onion, garlic powder & oregano. I am a spice fiend! This was a lovely lunch & really did taste like spinach dip. I love the dip from Costco, but it is SO high in fat, so this was great to find. Thank u for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS January 17, 2008

Absolutly outstanding sammich! It was much much tastier than I thought it would be, and I knew it would be good! I didn't add the bacon, and as delicious as I'm sure it is, I'm glad I didn't add it because this sandwich tastes really rich and really delicious without it. I added minced garlic in the cheese mixture, and used mozzarella & light mayo. It kind of tastes like a cheesy spinich dip. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Japanese Delight April 19, 2007

We really REALLY enjoyed these sandwiches! I made them today for lunch using a hearty honey, oat and barley bread. Yumm! I used Dijon mustard as that was all I had and so only used 1 TBS of it since it is rather strong. Also I used mayonnaise to butter the bread before grilling rather than butter. Thanks for a delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr February 09, 2007

Absolutely incredible! I made these last night for dinner. Didn't change a thing. Served it with chips and pickles as suggested. They were so good! My fiance is still talking about it! Oops! I forgot the stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toddy Turtle October 28, 2006
Spinach & Cheese Grilled Sandwich